Mac OS X DP3

Discuss OS X and OS X Server.
Post Reply
mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Mac OS X DP3

Post by mdogg »

Alright. So I downloaded Mac OS X DP3 off the BetaArchive FTP. I was excited to get it. After downloading, I put it into PearPC. It didn't work. After a lot of fiddling I eventually remembered that PearPC doesn't run Mac OS X 10.0 and must not run DP3 either. So I attempted to burn it on my Intel iMac. I failed with it saying that the inserted disc (although brand new) didn't have enough space. I moved it to a Windows computer and burned it using Nero with no problems at all. I took the CD and put it into my iMac G3 and booted from it. The install went well until the copying files bit. It goes for a little while and then throws an error at me saying:
Mac OS X DP3 Error Message wrote:There were errors installing the software
[loading bar]
Operation not permitted
WARNING! These file names were not selected:
I presume it's supposed to have a list there but it doesn't.
Anyway, the Go Back button is the only button available to click so I click it bringing me back to the "Ready to install Mac OS X" dialog. I click Install again. This time, it shows Preparing Base System, closes it self and shuts the computer down. Turning the computer back on boots into an unfinished installation of Mac OS X DP3 (a blue screen with a cursor).

Anyway of fixing this? Otherwise I may have to use Panther again and I wanted this as a test machine since it had no sound and sound is important on a Mac.
Image

Rixel
FTP Access
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:34 am

Post by Rixel »

I could make a new iso but i can't do it right now. Probably later maybe tomorrow. The only thing i can think of is that maybe its caused by the way you burned it or the only other thing i can think of is that it really was made on a mac so burning it in a mac would have more affect.
hopefully only this ones affected if at all maybe someone else was able to do it

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

Did you image the discs with Disk Utility or something else? And if so, what?
Image

Rixel
FTP Access
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:34 am

Post by Rixel »

I used disk utility the only other thing i can think of is that when you image a cd master it creates a .cdr image which i usually rename to isos because they are easier to read

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

Thanks. I'll try that soon and give you results.

Edit: It didn't work. Is it possible that the install disks had a little more space than normal disks or is it my computer? I'm getting a Power Mac G4 this week so I'll try it on that to see what's going on.
Image

unixphreak
FTP Access
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Mac OS X DP3

Post by unixphreak »

I would recommend the G4 agp series or earlier for DP releases of mac os x

logicaL
FTP Access
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Re: Mac OS X DP3

Post by logicaL »

unixphreak wrote:I would recommend the G4 agp series or earlier for DP releases of mac os x
Well since this thread is over a year old, I bet he's probably moved on to bigger and better things

unixphreak
FTP Access
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Mac OS X DP3

Post by unixphreak »

you never know people come back to these and other forums from search engine queries and often find useful information. So I guess it is up to one opinion.

Post Reply