Leopard OS X86

Discuss OS X and OS X Server.
Post Reply
emmab2006

Leopard OS X86

Post by emmab2006 »

I dont know if im the only person who has this on my External but has anyone manged to successfully install it onto an AMD System with out a Kernel Crash ? ive tried the TOH RC2.5 but no luck yet .. would appreciate some help

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

You should look here.

Anyway, I'm not sure if we're allowed to discuss that here since that's warez. Andy, your opinion?

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Its OK to talk about as long as no download links are posted.

sevan
FTP Access
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:48 am
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by sevan »

I've never been able to get it to work... Don't know why...

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

When I tried OSx86 Tiger on my main PC, I got a kernel panic because the CPU doesn't support SSE2. When I built a new PC with a Core 2 Duo CPU, I got a "Still waiting for root device" error. As far as I'm concerned, OSx86 is a waste of time to get working.
Image

intellivision
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Post by intellivision »

I think that it said somewhere that you have to disable one core in order for mac to work, but Ive never tried it.
Time can never catch up with me, Zeno proved it.

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

intellivision wrote:I think that it said somewhere that you have to disable one core in order for mac to work, but Ive never tried it.
But the Macs coming out of Apple currently have Core 2 Duo processors which is why I thought that Core 2 Duo would work.

Besides, I'm pretty sure the problem was the fact that I had my hard drive set to Cable Select when the OSx86 Wiki says that you're supposed to have it set to Primary Master. But either way I formatted the disk I had OSx86 on and find it a waste of time to re-download it.
Image

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

OP: You may want to wait until an update is released.
For now it may be wise to run Tiger.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

OSx86 will only run with one core enabled on some systems, others have gotten both cores working. It all depends on your hardware (and some luck it seems). Anyway, I've got OSx86 running in VMware on a real Mac just for the hell of it (worked like a charm with the SS3-capable CPU) and also recently installed it on a SSE2 notebook w/a Celeron M. It works, but a lot of things need to be fixed.

constrictor
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: New York

Post by constrictor »

Ive got tiger running on my computer with both cores. Lol it says i got a 4ghz prosseser. But i dont know what i did to do that.
Image

ddrmaxromance
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:57 am

Post by ddrmaxromance »

mdogg wrote:
intellivision wrote:I think that it said somewhere that you have to disable one core in order for mac to work, but Ive never tried it.
But the Macs coming out of Apple currently have Core 2 Duo processors which is why I thought that Core 2 Duo would work.
Remember Mac mini and how you had the option of buying either the Core Solo or Core Duo versions? Yes, Core 2 Duo processors are currently made by Apple, but I believe Leopard would run on a Core Solo computer if I'm not mistakened.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

troyoda1990 wrote:
mdogg wrote:
intellivision wrote:I think that it said somewhere that you have to disable one core in order for mac to work, but Ive never tried it.
But the Macs coming out of Apple currently have Core 2 Duo processors which is why I thought that Core 2 Duo would work.
Remember Mac mini and how you had the option of buying either the Core Solo or Core Duo versions? Yes, Core 2 Duo processors are currently made by Apple, but I believe Leopard would run on a Core Solo computer if I'm not mistakened.
C2Da are not made by Apple, rather used. And yes, 10.5 will work on Core Solo, but you have to disable one core on some "Hackintoshes" anyway.

moonlit
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Post by moonlit »

I recommend you look in to uphuck's iATKOS. His release was due earlier this month but due to recent developments he's adding EFI emulation.

It's going to be OSX86 Leopard with an unmodified kernel, all the modifications are in the bootloader and to the OS it looks like you have EFI rather than a BIOS. This means you can run an unmodified kernel and you can update the OS via regular methods rather than looking for patched updates (which as you're probably aware can get a bit messy).

fzajac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by fzajac »

I've tryed few different releases and on some i've got problems but JaS worked fine... So what rels are you using? BTW, there is OSX86 10.5 with a fix for SSE2 processor out (orginaly Leopard (at least the x86 hack) can work only on SSE3 CPUs).

ppc_digger
Donator
Posts: 590
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am
Location: Israel

Post by ppc_digger »

moonlit wrote:I recommend you look in to uphuck's iATKOS. His release was due earlier this month but due to recent developments he's adding EFI emulation.

It's going to be OSX86 Leopard with an unmodified kernel, all the modifications are in the bootloader and to the OS it looks like you have EFI rather than a BIOS. This means you can run an unmodified kernel and you can update the OS via regular methods rather than looking for patched updates (which as you're probably aware can get a bit messy).
If all the OS is looking for is EFI, then what's stopping people from installing OSX on EFI-based PCs?

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

FiFi wrote:I've tryed few different releases and on some i've got problems but JaS worked fine... So what rels are you using? BTW, there is OSX86 10.5 with a fix for SSE2 processor out (orginaly Leopard (at least the x86 hack) can work only on SSE3 CPUs).
I've used JaS ( 10.4.7/.8 ) and XXX ( 10.4.10 ), both worked, but I'd keep the JaS releases as a backup as I get the impression these are quite stable and and rather painless to set up, newer releases tend to have quite a number of bugs.
ppc_digger wrote:If all the OS is looking for is EFI, then what's stopping people from installing OSX on EFI-based PCs?
EFI seems to be somehow "hidden" on these boards, i.e. they support it, but there's currently no way to access it or interact with it, so you still have to boot via conventional BIOS-based methods. And then, there's the TPM chip.

win2k8man
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:13 pm
Location: Australia

Post by win2k8man »

leopard has come along way
i mean ppl have worked out how to use a vanilla kernel now with a patch
that emulates efi
very impressive

evolver56k
FTP Access
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 3:41 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by evolver56k »

I run Leopard on a Dell Precision 380 with a P4 3.8HT processor. Everything works onboard except the built-in Broadcom Gigabit. I use a PCI RTL8139 NIC and a GeForce 7300. I have 3 SATA hard drives, one as the boot volume and the other two are set up as a software RAID with Disk Utility.
My processor is not supported by the official Apple kernel, so I use the ToH patched kernel along with pc_efi. InsanelyMac is a great resource for everything Mac OS X on white hardware.
If you have any questions about Mac OS X on PCs, you can ask me, or search InsanelyMac.

willowhaven

Post by willowhaven »

I have been tryiing for about the last week to get one of the Leopard OSX86's to run. I guess I will stick with Tiger, which worked better than Vista runs for me.

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

<offtopic>
mdogg wrote:When I tried OSx86 Tiger on my main PC, I got a kernel panic because the CPU doesn't support SSE2. When I built a new PC with a Core 2 Duo CPU, I got a "Still waiting for root device" error. As far as I'm concerned, OSx86 is a waste of time to get working.
I don't know how many people quote themselves but I am just this time.

This was one month ago and I've changed my mind since so for anyone who's seen this topic and are thinking, "What's wrong with this guy?", you now know that I've changed my mind since then.
</offtopic>
Image

betalarry
FTP Access
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 9:59 am

Post by betalarry »

I've installed Leopard succesfully on my AMD Sempron 3100+. I used the Zephyroth 10.5.2 Install Disc, but there were problems.
When I wanted to install the System with the disc, anything seemed normal until I rebooted the computer. The System locked up in the "Choose your Keyboard layout" screen.
But I found a solution:
I installed Tiger first and then I upgraded Tiger to Leopard. So the screen wasn't shown to me anymore, and I just had a fine install.

TheWahbinator
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Post by TheWahbinator »

I've successfully installed Kalyway 10.5.2 on my computer with an Athlon 64 3700+ and a Radeon Xpress 200 chipset.
No version of Tiger ever worked on it.

Chris1244
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:15 am
Contact:

Post by Chris1244 »

Well for 1 does your CPU support SS3 if not what patches are you using?
TheTutorial

QuiescentWonder
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2365
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Post by QuiescentWonder »

I had the "Still waiting for root device" problem. As it turns out, OSX didn't support the IDE controller in my laptop.

Lot's of useful info here: http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

DAMNiatx

Post by DAMNiatx »

I've successfully installed kalyway 10.5.2 with vanilla kernel, this run like a charm ,
and i wouldn't format my harddisk for this os


Post Reply