BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 26d, 7h, 27m | CPU: 28% | MEM: 6149MB of 11065MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Leopard OS X86        Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:02 am 
Reply with quote
I dont know if im the only person who has this on my External but has anyone manged to successfully install it onto an AMD System with out a Kernel Crash ? ive tried the TOH RC2.5 but no luck yet .. would appreciate some help


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:09 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
You should look here.

Anyway, I'm not sure if we're allowed to discuss that here since that's warez. Andy, your opinion?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:22 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Its OK to talk about as long as no download links are posted.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 2:10 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:48 am

Posts
38

Location
York, Pennsylvania
:P I've never been able to get it to work... Don't know why...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 6:34 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
When I tried OSx86 Tiger on my main PC, I got a kernel panic because the CPU doesn't support SSE2. When I built a new PC with a Core 2 Duo CPU, I got a "Still waiting for root device" error. As far as I'm concerned, OSx86 is a waste of time to get working.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:01 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Posts
128
I think that it said somewhere that you have to disable one core in order for mac to work, but Ive never tried it.

_________________
Time can never catch up with me, Zeno proved it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 1:13 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
intellivision wrote:
I think that it said somewhere that you have to disable one core in order for mac to work, but Ive never tried it.

But the Macs coming out of Apple currently have Core 2 Duo processors which is why I thought that Core 2 Duo would work.

Besides, I'm pretty sure the problem was the fact that I had my hard drive set to Cable Select when the OSx86 Wiki says that you're supposed to have it set to Primary Master. But either way I formatted the disk I had OSx86 on and find it a waste of time to re-download it.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:04 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
OP: You may want to wait until an update is released.
For now it may be wise to run Tiger.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 9:20 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
OSx86 will only run with one core enabled on some systems, others have gotten both cores working. It all depends on your hardware (and some luck it seems). Anyway, I've got OSx86 running in VMware on a real Mac just for the hell of it (worked like a charm with the SS3-capable CPU) and also recently installed it on a SSE2 notebook w/a Celeron M. It works, but a lot of things need to be fixed.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 1:19 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:32 pm

Posts
235

Location
New York

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Build 7600
Ive got tiger running on my computer with both cores. Lol it says i got a 4ghz prosseser. But i dont know what i did to do that.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 10:58 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:57 am

Posts
400
mdogg wrote:
intellivision wrote:
I think that it said somewhere that you have to disable one core in order for mac to work, but Ive never tried it.

But the Macs coming out of Apple currently have Core 2 Duo processors which is why I thought that Core 2 Duo would work.
Remember Mac mini and how you had the option of buying either the Core Solo or Core Duo versions? Yes, Core 2 Duo processors are currently made by Apple, but I believe Leopard would run on a Core Solo computer if I'm not mistakened.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 11:01 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
troyoda1990 wrote:
mdogg wrote:
intellivision wrote:
I think that it said somewhere that you have to disable one core in order for mac to work, but Ive never tried it.

But the Macs coming out of Apple currently have Core 2 Duo processors which is why I thought that Core 2 Duo would work.
Remember Mac mini and how you had the option of buying either the Core Solo or Core Duo versions? Yes, Core 2 Duo processors are currently made by Apple, but I believe Leopard would run on a Core Solo computer if I'm not mistakened.

C2Da are not made by Apple, rather used. :wink: And yes, 10.5 will work on Core Solo, but you have to disable one core on some "Hackintoshes" anyway.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:44 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
I recommend you look in to uphuck's iATKOS. His release was due earlier this month but due to recent developments he's adding EFI emulation.

It's going to be OSX86 Leopard with an unmodified kernel, all the modifications are in the bootloader and to the OS it looks like you have EFI rather than a BIOS. This means you can run an unmodified kernel and you can update the OS via regular methods rather than looking for patched updates (which as you're probably aware can get a bit messy).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
I've tryed few different releases and on some i've got problems but JaS worked fine... So what rels are you using? BTW, there is OSX86 10.5 with a fix for SSE2 processor out (orginaly Leopard (at least the x86 hack) can work only on SSE3 CPUs).


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 18, 2007 7:25 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
moonlit wrote:
I recommend you look in to uphuck's iATKOS. His release was due earlier this month but due to recent developments he's adding EFI emulation.

It's going to be OSX86 Leopard with an unmodified kernel, all the modifications are in the bootloader and to the OS it looks like you have EFI rather than a BIOS. This means you can run an unmodified kernel and you can update the OS via regular methods rather than looking for patched updates (which as you're probably aware can get a bit messy).

If all the OS is looking for is EFI, then what's stopping people from installing OSX on EFI-based PCs?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:24 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
FiFi wrote:
I've tryed few different releases and on some i've got problems but JaS worked fine... So what rels are you using? BTW, there is OSX86 10.5 with a fix for SSE2 processor out (orginaly Leopard (at least the x86 hack) can work only on SSE3 CPUs).

I've used JaS ( 10.4.7/.8 ) and XXX ( 10.4.10 ), both worked, but I'd keep the JaS releases as a backup as I get the impression these are quite stable and and rather painless to set up, newer releases tend to have quite a number of bugs.

ppc_digger wrote:
If all the OS is looking for is EFI, then what's stopping people from installing OSX on EFI-based PCs?

EFI seems to be somehow "hidden" on these boards, i.e. they support it, but there's currently no way to access it or interact with it, so you still have to boot via conventional BIOS-based methods. And then, there's the TPM chip.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 9:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:13 pm

Posts
79

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2008 R2
leopard has come along way
i mean ppl have worked out how to use a vanilla kernel now with a patch
that emulates efi
very impressive


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:56 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Dec 08, 2007 3:41 am

Posts
15

Location
Virginia, USA
I run Leopard on a Dell Precision 380 with a P4 3.8HT processor. Everything works onboard except the built-in Broadcom Gigabit. I use a PCI RTL8139 NIC and a GeForce 7300. I have 3 SATA hard drives, one as the boot volume and the other two are set up as a software RAID with Disk Utility.
My processor is not supported by the official Apple kernel, so I use the ToH patched kernel along with pc_efi. InsanelyMac is a great resource for everything Mac OS X on white hardware.
If you have any questions about Mac OS X on PCs, you can ask me, or search InsanelyMac.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 11:30 pm 
Reply with quote
I have been tryiing for about the last week to get one of the Leopard OSX86's to run. I guess I will stick with Tiger, which worked better than Vista runs for me.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 12:32 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
<offtopic>
mdogg wrote:
When I tried OSx86 Tiger on my main PC, I got a kernel panic because the CPU doesn't support SSE2. When I built a new PC with a Core 2 Duo CPU, I got a "Still waiting for root device" error. As far as I'm concerned, OSx86 is a waste of time to get working.

I don't know how many people quote themselves but I am just this time.

This was one month ago and I've changed my mind since so for anyone who's seen this topic and are thinking, "What's wrong with this guy?", you now know that I've changed my mind since then.
</offtopic>

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 12:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Jun 01, 2008 9:59 am

Posts
23
I've installed Leopard succesfully on my AMD Sempron 3100+. I used the Zephyroth 10.5.2 Install Disc, but there were problems.
When I wanted to install the System with the disc, anything seemed normal until I rebooted the computer. The System locked up in the "Choose your Keyboard layout" screen.
But I found a solution:
I installed Tiger first and then I upgraded Tiger to Leopard. So the screen wasn't shown to me anymore, and I just had a fine install.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 2:56 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
I've successfully installed Kalyway 10.5.2 on my computer with an Athlon 64 3700+ and a Radeon Xpress 200 chipset.
No version of Tiger ever worked on it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 4:39 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:15 am

Posts
121

Favourite OS
Mac OS X 10.7&Ubuntu 11.04
Well for 1 does your CPU support SS3 if not what patches are you using?

_________________
TheTutorial


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:46 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
I had the "Still waiting for root device" problem. As it turns out, OSX didn't support the IDE controller in my laptop.

Lot's of useful info here: http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:14 am 
Reply with quote
I've successfully installed kalyway 10.5.2 with vanilla kernel, this run like a charm :D,
and i wouldn't format my harddisk for this os :D

8)


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS