BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 24d, 18h, 10m | CPU: 37% | MEM: 5747MB of 10897MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

What versions of Copland do you own?
DR0 / Build D7E1 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
DR1 / Build D11E4 5%  5%  [ 1 ]
Both 36%  36%  [ 8 ]
Other 5%  5%  [ 1 ]
None 55%  55%  [ 12 ]
Total votes : 22
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Copland Info        Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 10:23 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jul 27, 2009 2:21 pm

Posts
21

Favourite OS
SuSE Linux 7.0
Ok, since this is a beta forum, and it had an Apple section, I had to go for it...
What does everyone know about the ill-fated Copland project?
I have both DR0 and DR1, and am in the process of getting DR1 installed on a Power Macintosh 8500.
So...go nuts. Tell me what you know. :wink:

_________________
Sincerely,

Mr. Intel


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Copland Info        Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 10:31 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
932
What I can tell you is.... it doesn't work. If after days of headache you get it up and running, it crashes in seconds.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Copland Info        Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:17 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:00 pm

Posts
6

Favourite OS
Mac OS X all flavors
Have you been able to get it running?
I would be very inetrested in getting some feed-back, screenshots, etc. Does it run? Can anything be done with it?
Thanks in advance!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Copland Info        Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:35 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jul 27, 2009 2:21 pm

Posts
21

Favourite OS
SuSE Linux 7.0
I have unfortunately been unable to get it running. I keep getting this error on my debugger:

Access Fault

Kernel: Dispatcher: No kernel stacks available!


Now as far as screenshots, here's the only site I have been able to find with Copland DR1 screenshots: http://betaworld.forcedperfect.net/copland_d11e4/

But don't worry, I'm still working on getting mine to work. I'm not out of ideas yet... :wink:

Hope that helps you a little

_________________
Sincerely,

Mr. Intel


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Copland Info        Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:59 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:37 pm

Posts
75
...there isn't much of a point, I (and probably very few other people) haven't managed to get it running either stably.

(poster above - that reminds me, I wonder if the servers have OpenStep Enterprise for NT...)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Copland Info        Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 8:21 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
HubmaN wrote:
(poster above - that reminds me, I wonder if the servers have OpenStep Enterprise for NT...)

I'm pretty sure both OPENSTEP Enterprise and Apple Yellow Box for Windows (the slightly newer Apple-branded version of Enterprise that came with the Rhapsody DRs) is on there.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Copland Info        Posted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:09 pm 
Reply with quote
I have both versions, and managed to boot DR1 on a 6100.
It had a cool animation, unfortunately I had a very bad camera:
http://stuff.odin.namedfork.net/copland-boot-1.mp4

It had the theme later known as Gizmo, that could be enabled somehow.
Unlike the one that came with the Mac OS 8.2 betas (that would be released as Mac OS 8.5), this one had some animations, like flipping menu items:
http://stuff.odin.namedfork.net/gizmo-menu.mp4


Top
 PostPost subject: Re: Copland Info        Posted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 8:16 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:10 pm

Posts
26

Favourite OS
Android 4.1
Why doesn't Mac OS X have a neat animation like that? ^^


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Copland Info        Posted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 8:41 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:03 am

Posts
386

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate
Because perhaps Apple don't really want to bother with having a flashy animation for a screen you only see for a few seconds anyway..


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Copland Info        Posted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 4:31 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm

Posts
2001

Location
United States

Favourite OS
MacOS 9.2.2
Instead, Mac OS X has a transparent top bar, a reflective dock, and all this cool Expose stuff.

_________________
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Copland Info        Posted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:10 pm

Posts
26

Favourite OS
Android 4.1
You never realize how much you used expose until you switch back to Windows :wink:


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Copland Info        Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:53 am

Posts
428
SpAM_CAN wrote:
You never realize how much you used expose until you switch back to Windows :wink:


Yeah, especially if you have hot corners setup to use expose.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS