Windows CE 5.0 Emulator

Discuss Windows Phone 7, 8, 10, Windows CE, .Net and Windows Mobile.
Post Reply
TuneableSumo876

Windows CE 5.0 Emulator

Post by TuneableSumo876 »

Hello everyone.

I just discovered this neat piece of software: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... x?id=18481 .

It is a WinCE 5.0 device emulator preinstalled with a working emulator image. I've tested it myself on Windows XP (SP3), 7 (SP1), 8.1, and 10 (November and Anniversary updates). On XP and 7, the emulator can access the internet-- but for some reason, on 8 and newer, the emulator cannot.

Anyways, hope this helps anybody that's interested in WinCE emulation.
Offtopic Comment
Any ideas on how to get the internet access working on Win8 and newer?

Microsoft Windows Fan
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 5:28 pm

Re: Windows CE 5.0 Emulator

Post by Microsoft Windows Fan »

Step 1:
-Load up the emulator (either through Device Emulator Manager or just hitting Ctrl-F5 from Visual Studio)
-Select File -> Configure
-Go to the Network tab
-Check the box that says "Enable NE2000 PCMIA network adapater and bind to:" (you can just use 'Connected network card' as it will automatically use your PC's ethernet card)
-You will get an error if you do not have Microsoft Virtual PC installed
-Click OK to close the dialog
-Select File -> Reset -> Soft (you must do this!)

Step 2:
-Open the emulator's Start Menu, select Settings
-Click on the Connections tab at the bottom
-Click on the Network Cards icon
-Change the combo box from "Work" to "The Internet"
-Click on OK (top right corner)

If still dont works, install Microsoft Virtual PC (Search internet how to install Microsoft Virtual PC on Windows 8 before installing because it cant install on Windows 8 or newer)

(Taked from https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forum ... tdeviceemu)

If it dont works, im sorry! :(

WindowsCollector2000
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 255
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 4:02 am
Location: C:\WINDOWS\System32

Re: Windows CE 5.0 Emulator

Post by WindowsCollector2000 »

You never said it didn't work with x64 systems P=
I downloaded and it said it doesn't work with 64-bit WinOSes
Image
Compatibility mode doesn't work either
i do things.
Pre-Whistler 2428 builds are underrated tbh

Microsoft Windows Fan
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 5:28 pm

Re: Windows CE 5.0 Emulator

Post by Microsoft Windows Fan »

WindowsCollector2000 wrote:You never said it didn't work with x64 systems P=
I downloaded and it said it doesn't work with 64-bit WinOSes
Image
Compatibility mode doesn't work either
I never used this emulator.There is so many emulators for Windows CE 5.0 and, i taked solution from internet.So, i dont know it works or dont works on 64-bit operating systems...

TheDosProgrammer
FTP Access
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:03 pm
Location: /home/thedosprogrammer

Re: Windows CE 5.0 Emulator

Post by TheDosProgrammer »

Emulator works perfectly in VM (I used Windows XP 32 bit in VirtualBox on 64 bit Windows 7) but it is very slow. But there is nothing interesting to see, there are only 4 apps preinstalled: Windows Explorer, Wordpad, Messenger (you have to sign in) and Internet Explorer.
Image

voxan
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: CH-VS
Contact:

Re: Windows CE 5.0 Emulator

Post by voxan »


ContemporaryAwareness
FTP Access
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 3:39 pm
Location: Second star to the right

Re: Windows CE 5.0 Emulator

Post by ContemporaryAwareness »

The reason that it doesn't work is either that you don't have SLAT on your CPU or you are running it inside a VM (Hyper-V or Virtual PC). As The CE emulator and Microsoft virtualisation try and use the same config registers, the CE emulator will report that it cannot start as the system is already emulated.

If you are on a server version of Hyper-V, enabling nested virtualisation should allow you to run it. Otherwise find a First gen i7 or newer and run it on metal.

Post Reply