BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 2d, 0h, 50m | CPU: 18% | MEM: 4691MB of 11111MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Longhorn 3xxx Login Screen on XP        Posted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 5:57 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
Last night I got bored, and decided to port the Longhorn 3706 logon screen to Windows XP. I managed to make a logon screen that is very true to the one on Longhorn, but without the clock. (unfortunately getting the clock to work requires more than just reshacking :( )

Here's a picture of Longhorn 3706 next to XP SP2 which is running my logon:
Image

Link: http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/38752086/

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 7:42 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
cool, too bad about the clock :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 6:56 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:07 pm

Posts
45

Location
England

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4051
Nice work pr0gram...

...Whos Ben? You're not called Ben are you?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:07 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12467

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Yes, he is called Ben.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:56 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
wetlegs6 wrote:
Nice work pr0gram...

...Whos Ben? You're not called Ben are you?


Yup. Well, from the screenie I'm not the "n00b" user, so I have to be Ben :P

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:16 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
___ wrote:
cool, too bad about the clock :(
Propably there is no way to have clock on logon in xp... maybe changing some files from older LH builds (3683/3706/3718)?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 8:02 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
not without some thirdparty program that has a lot of spyware/bloatware


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 8:04 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12467

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I dont see the use of the clock on the login screen. I mean how many people do you know that leave their pc on the login screen just to look at it or look at a clock? I know none.

I have 3 clocks in my room so I never need to look at the pc one. I have a watch, my alarm clock and my hi-fi.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 8:05 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
because we can, why else?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 8:06 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12467

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
True, but some features really are useless.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:20 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
FiFi wrote:
___ wrote:
cool, too bad about the clock :(
Propably there is no way to have clock on logon in xp... maybe changing some files from older LH builds (3683/3706/3718)?


I tried running the 3706 logon directly under XP, it didn't like it at all. :?

I think one thing that might complicate things is that the LH logon has bits through it which look like it supports replacing the classic logon for logging onto domains as well, which could be a bit of a problem. However, the part which processes the UIFile and the appearance doesn't seem to have changed a lot, because I only had to make a few tiny changes to get it working on XP.

...and a clock on the logon screen *is* useful :) Having a clock on screen at all times is very convenient when you don't have a clock handy

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 9:03 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm

Posts
407

Location
Essex, UK

Favourite OS
Gentoo
hmmm, i wonder if you could get it to work under 95 :P

_________________
The better candies are in the cage


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:48 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
good luck :D


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:51 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
that screen is sweetness! :wink: Im gonna try it soon!

Thanks for a quality login screen!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 4:31 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
i just installed it, works great. too bad i only have one user and never use the logon screen but i will keep it


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:28 am 
Nice job.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:32 pm 
nice like this thanx


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 5:31 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
x64 version ? :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 5:55 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
Thanks for the positive feedback guys, I appreciate it :)

Frozenport wrote:
x64 version ? :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:


Send me the XP x64 logonui.exe and I'll make one :)

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:22 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:42 pm

Posts
35

Location
Denmark
Can you do one without the "Codename: Longhorn" text?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:37 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
open the file with reshacker and change the Codename: Longhorn bit


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 6:23 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
Amplificator wrote:
Can you do one without the "Codename: Longhorn" text?


right here...
http://rapidshare.com/files/1066788/logonui.rar.html

There is a 32bit and x64 version supplied with Windows x64... Which one must be modded i don't know (how about both?)

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:49 am 
Do you know if this works with StyleXP?


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 9:05 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
nazgul909 wrote:
Do you know if this works with StyleXP?


Probably, not sure ... I think if you installed the logon screen by copying to your system32 dir and changing the registry entry, it shouldn't matter if StyleXP is running or not.

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 5:10 am 
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:32 pm

Posts
53

Location
255.255.255.0
Does this logon say stuff like "Windows is shutting down...", "Saving your settings", "Welcome", "Logging in...", "Loading your personal settings"??

If it doesn't can you make it so it does please??


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS