BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 51d, 23h, 38m | CPU: 40% | MEM: 5733MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Longhorn 4008        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 3:00 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
I have got it fully working free of activation etc, and I risked the internet using IE6 (unpached) and five minuits in I got winfixer, however I came accross this system installed which detected it!!!!

Image
I have also found a possible reason why MS axed WINFS!

Image

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 3:10 am 
Reply with quote
whould you upload it?


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 3:13 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
Its already on the server, the Abyss Server 1, name Longhorn Beta Build 4008.rar

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 3:15 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I don't think there was any anti-spyware in these builds - what do you mean by a "system that detected it"? The thing in that screenshot looks like malware of some sort.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 3:22 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
It looks like an early of Windows Defender, It detected winfixer (The box in the front) a rogue anti virus/ fixes everything piece of C***, the full scan removed it anyways.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 3:41 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
It looks more like malware itself to me, but I could be wrong (you know, that malware that looks like a malware scanner). Note that the Windows logo on it is the Vista one (where the centre of it is lighter than the outside), not the XP or Longhorn one, so it doesn't really look like an early Longhorn component. That big red button also doesn't look very Microsoft-y. How did you manage to get all that malware on it?! :shock:

Isn't the box in front just a JavaScript box coming from a website that tries to persuade you to install some junk? Note that it is an Internet Explorer dialog, not a program in itself.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:02 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
Erm Ill get adaware on it, The adware is probably due to using a 2003 unpached IE6!

I know that box is adware!!!!! I was using to test something!!!!

edit: Yep I had 4 trogens, 8 browser exploits etc

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:46 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
that just looks like spyware pretending to remove spyware that just installs more.

I think that was one of the reasons they removed winfs, they wouldn't have been able to make it stable in time for release


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:05 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
___ wrote:
I think that was one of the reasons they removed winfs, they wouldn't have been able to make it stable in time for release


Yes, I installed WinFS Beta 1 on an XP virtual machine, and it had several background processes that were using very large amounts of Ram and CPU all the time, and the CPU and Ram usage figures in task manager were changing drastically all the time, which is usually a sign of extreme instability (note how all the system processes do this in the earlier Longhorn/Vista builds, but in released versions the numbers in task manager are always pretty much static).

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:36 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
10 long years, frig the scene anymore.

Kids think they have deep in sources at the age of 12, why bother caring when no one receives respect anymore, they assume bullcrap, but that's all they are.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Last edited by IsaacD on Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Alexsis wrote:
And the reason WinFS takes up alot of ram? It isn't a memory leak, it's storing every single meta tag on every single file on your HDDs.

WinFS works fine, it takes up abit of ram, but has worked fine on every build of Longhorn I have tested, even the earliest ones, you just have to know what to do.


What do you have to do? Is there a simple guide somewhere to getting WinFS working properly and using it? I'd be interested to have a proper look at it sometime.

So does it work by storing all the file data in Ram all the time, rather than having some or all of it stored only on the hard drive)? If you've got a drive packed full of stuff then it must be unusable, considering the amount of memory it's using when we've had it on a fresh LH install with just the OS files. Does Spotlight on the Mac work in a similar way or is that a much simpler thing than WinFS, as that doesn't seem to cause a performance hit at all?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:54 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
10 long years, frig the scene anymore.

Kids think they have deep in sources at the age of 12, why bother caring when no one receives respect anymore, they assume bullcrap, but that's all they are.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Last edited by IsaacD on Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
that much memory just for searching is a waste for me, as i can't even remember the last time i used search. I just keeps files in a logical arrangment


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:10 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12465

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I do the same but its rare I use search. I did use it last week to find a photo that went missing. Never did find it though...

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
it never exsisted

*picture of dog with shifty eyes here*


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:46 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
Erm that bit of spyware is pretty sofiscated it is running under the explorer.exe module :?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:48 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12465

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
ewan275 wrote:
Erm that bit of spyware is pretty sofiscated it is running under the explorer.exe module :?


Ive had a fair few pieces of spyware do that. Its annoying when you have to format the pc and start from scratch because of it.

Aaah the joys of a Ghost backup disk :)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:53 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
Unfortunatly for me Ghost refuses to install on a WINFS!!!!

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 5:07 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Andy wrote:
Ive had a fair few pieces of spyware do that. Its annoying when you have to format the pc and start from scratch because of it.


ewan275 wrote:
I risked the internet using IE6 (unpached) and five minuits in I got winfixer, however I came accross this system installed which detected it!!!!


Seriously, how do you guys manage to get so much junk on your computers?! I've never had spyware or viruses or anything (and yes, I know I don't have them, I'm not just one of these people who has them but is unaare of them). Unless you go to really dodgy websites and click yes to all the popups etc, or install suspect software usually advertised on such websites that promises to "clean" your PC, you just don't get this stuff!

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:10 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:39 pm

Posts
149
I never ever get Spyware/Viruses too... I do scan for them though. You just have to be careful on what you do on the internet. Everytime I rebuild Windows is because of some crazy test that I'm trying out.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:26 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
A evil enemy called doubleclick.net which provides the ads on a load of legit sites, just it dosent control what it pops up, and as such inevertinly distributes stuff like winfixer cool web serch etc.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:36 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12465

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
ewan275 wrote:
A evil enemy called doubleclick.net which provides the ads on a load of legit sites, just it dosent control what it pops up, and as such inevertinly distributes stuff like winfixer cool web serch etc.


Adblock for teh win :D I block all ads from even loading at all.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:49 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
10 long years, frig the scene anymore.

Kids think they have deep in sources at the age of 12, why bother caring when no one receives respect anymore, they assume bullcrap, but that's all they are.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Last edited by IsaacD on Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:17 am 
Reply with quote
looks nice...how mch time needs the setup?


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:37 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
for longhorn? isn't 4008 one of the builds that installs really quickly but then you get heaps of 'found new hardware' on the first boot?

I don't know how so people get all this spyware and stuff as well. When ever i install XP, often it doesn't have any of the updates and i never manage to get all this crap while im downloading updates/software


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS