BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 5d, 4h, 37m | CPU: 10% | MEM: 2420MB of 5391MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: MS's new online virtual server-based Vista Ultimate        Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:39 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Wow check this out, it's so cool! :D http://www.windowsvistatestdrive.com/ You can play with a full (remote virtual server based) copy of Vista Ultimate in your web browser - it's a little bit slow, but still awesome! PS I tried to rate their PC using the Experience Index tool, but it produced an error :D

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
I wonder if it would possible to hijack the active-x control and hack ms :?

It seems that there are a couple of fun commercial games installed

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 8:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
steal its key


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:09 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I don't think they'll let you install/run anything on it... So how'd you get a keyfinder on it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:13 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
empireum wrote:
I don't think they'll let you install/run anything on it... So how'd you get a keyfinder on it?


I thought of trying to get the key as well (although it probably wouldn't activate anyway - their copy is not activated) - however, there's no internet connectivity in it and no way of getting files in otherwise, so I can't see how you'd get a keyfinder on there (and are there any keyfinders for Vista yet?). It doesn't seem very locked down though, so you might be able to run one on there if you could get one in. The Office 2007 key would also be there, although that is not a VLK so not of great use (when I opened one of the Office programs it displayed the reminded for activation)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:15 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I have already used a keyfinder on Vista, yes...
By the way, when I checked that site (it wouldn't let me in because it requires IE6 or 7, so I can't use the site), it said something about Vista Business being test driven. Did they change it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:25 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Posts
786
It takes ages to load, its still not done.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:29 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
It is definitely Ultimate edition (I checked in system properties). Maybe the "business" refers to it being a test drive intended to show the features useful to business users, rather than referring to the Business edition as such. Though the way it's written it does look like they are referring to the Business edition - strange...

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 12:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
what a cool website!
Yeah, It loads very slow ...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 12:48 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
I tried loading it... it wouldn't get past the last loading bar...

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 12:54 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12384

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Jeff wrote:
I tried loading it... it wouldn't get past the last loading bar...


Same for me too. I tried twice, same thing.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 1:04 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
It doesn't seem to be working any more for some reason - I got on it last night, but now it just stops like you say. I did wonder whether once word got out about this it would stop working, as I don't really see how they can run the number of virtual Vista machines on their virtual server that there are likely to be demand for...

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 4:25 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
empireum wrote:
I don't think they'll let you install/run anything on it... So how'd you get a keyfinder on it?


I thought of trying to get the key as well (although it probably wouldn't activate anyway - their copy is not activated) - however, there's no internet connectivity in it and no way of getting files in otherwise, so I can't see how you'd get a keyfinder on there (and are there any keyfinders for Vista yet?). It doesn't seem very locked down though, so you might be able to run one on there if you could get one in. The Office 2007 key would also be there, although that is not a VLK so not of great use (when I opened one of the Office programs it displayed the reminded for activation)

that jelly bean keyfinder had always worked on it if you ran it in xp mode, but they have released a version that doesn't need that


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:15 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I used keyfinderthing. Worked without a hitch.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 1:32 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
Well, I managed to shutdown the server a couple days ago (in an accident)... Its odd but it stayed shutdown for a while...

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 8:45 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
someone make it blue screen!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: MS's new online virtual server-based Vista Ultimate        Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:27 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:01 am

Posts
60

Location
127.0.0.1 ( Coshocton, Ohio , Really )
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
I tried to rate their PC using the Experience Index tool, but it produced an error :D


It works now, and it gets a 1.0 because of the graphics.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
Back when they offered something similar with Windows 2003, I used Remote Desktop to connect directly, and then used RDC's shared drives feature to transfer files back and forth. I'll try that here.

EDIT:
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 2:47 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
@ppc_digger
Running IE on Wine? :) That's what I did as well!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:27 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Looks like they've taken it down for some reason - I tried with both a US proxy and system locale set to US and still got that message, but I didn't get that message when I used it originally. How do you use the RDC client to connect to these things?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:35 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Looks like they've taken it down for some reason - I tried with both a US proxy and system locale set to US and still got that message, but I didn't get that message when I used it originally. How do you use the RDC client to connect to these things?

I think you need the external IP address of the system and the remote desktop needs to be enabled. Then, in theory, you just fire up your RDC client, enter IP address and login credentials and off you go... (I think this wouldn't work here since that Vista VM has no internet access, or am I missing something here? )


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:52 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
empireum wrote:
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Looks like they've taken it down for some reason - I tried with both a US proxy and system locale set to US and still got that message, but I didn't get that message when I used it originally. How do you use the RDC client to connect to these things?

I think you need the external IP address of the system and the remote desktop needs to be enabled. Then, in theory, you just fire up your RDC client, enter IP address and login credentials and off you go... (I think this wouldn't work here since that Vista VM has no internet access, or am I missing something here? )

Back with Windows 2003, the website used the Remote Desktop ActiveX control to connect to the server, so it was a simple matter of looking at the source of the page. I bet this has something to do with RDC as well, so it's just a matter of finding the right settings.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 8:42 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
It maybe based offa it but I doubt you would be able to use a simple RDC to connect.

This maybe a way MS is testing their hack protection :D

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:28 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:43 am

Posts
715

Favourite OS
SVR 2012R2/Win10
I managed to delete all the files that the local user had access to, using "del /F /S /Q *" in a command prompt.

Aside from that, I grabbed the actual activeX cab file, and it seems that this just connects into a virtual system on a server somewhere... Not RDP.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:14 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
jimmsta wrote:
Aside from that, I grabbed the actual activeX cab file, and it seems that this just connects into a virtual system on a server somewhere... Not RDP.


It says it uses the Virtual Server remote control function - do you reckon there's a way of using the Remote Control Client that comes with Virtual Server to connect to it, as there must be a way of getting files in if you use that?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS