BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 27d, 19h, 34m | CPU: 41% | MEM: 5742MB of 10733MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows 7 build 6956 installation problem        Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:16 am 
Reply with quote
Hi guys,

when I try to install this os to real pc, I have error alert:

Quote:
Windows could not finish configuring the system. To attempt to resume configuration, restart the computer


Files are successfully copied to hard drive, this error occur after first normal installation reboot, when windows show screen "setting up services".

I try to install to 2 configurations and have this error at both. Configurations are:
1. CPU: Phenom X4 9600 BE/2Gb RAM Aeneon/Biostar T770A2 (chipset ATI 770, patched bios for fixing TLB first-line phenom problem)/Video: HIS Radeon 3870 DDR4 512Mb/HDDs: 320Gb Hitachi deskstar + 750Gb Seagate barracuda (both of SATA-type)
2. CPU: Athlon X2 4800+/2Gb RAM Aeneon/Biostar NF520A2-SE (chipset Nforce2)/Video: Sapphire Radeon 3650 DDR3 512Mb/HDDs: 320Gb Hitachi deskstar + 80Gb Seagate barracuda (both of SATA-type) + 250Gb Samsung (of IDE-type)

I also try to setup it to virtual pc (each of vmware, virtualbox and ms virtual pc) and have success each time :).

I try to found answers with google, but key phrase point me to several vietnamize and one hungarian forum. I don't know both these languages and come here to found answers or just people who have the same problem.

Where I need to digg? :oops:


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:35 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Have you tried re-burning the disk, or mounting the ISO within Windows, and installing it that way?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:46 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 13, 2008 7:20 pm

Posts
164

Location
Where The Streets Have No Name

Favourite OS
Windows 7
Yeah, try burning the disc on the lowest speed possible. If you can install it in emulators and not real hardware, it's most likely the disc.

_________________
Image
http://www.christdaily.net - Where I go everyday.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:55 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Dec 13, 2008 9:31 am

Posts
924

Favourite OS
5.50.5111/6.0.3706/6.0.4028
Riden, try to mount ISO image into Daemon tools and setup Windows 7 from virtual drive. This is a way what working for me, i'm install Windows 7 from Windows XP. Maybe it solve your problem.

_________________
:(


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 1:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Guys, thanks for replies! I will try to burn dvd with lowest possible speed. But I have one doubt here. Because when I've installed os at vmware, I try both ISO and physical drive ways and both was successfull :? .


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 4:34 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
considering it extracts file when it "copies them" and they expand wouldn't it throw an error if it was burned improperly (while copying the files)?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:22 pm 
Reply with quote
I've burned dvd at 2x speed and have the same error. Moreover, I think dvd burning is not a reason here because of 2 facts:

1. This error pops up after first normal rebooting during installation, so all files are already at hard drive and I think I can just remove dvd from dvd drive.

2. If I install os from this physical dvd disk to virtual machine I have success

I run xubuntu live cd to search something in logs, but don't found relevant info in them.

Probably, this is hardware incompatibility, I will wait for win7 beta at January. By the way, I have the same error with build 6801, but vista is running well on both configurations.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:21 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
riden wrote:
I've burned dvd at 2x speed and have the same error. Moreover, I think dvd burning is not a reason here because of 2 facts:

1. This error pops up after first normal rebooting during installation, so all files are already at hard drive and I think I can just remove dvd from dvd drive.

2. If I install os from this physical dvd disk to virtual machine I have success

I run xubuntu live cd to search something in logs, but don't found relevant info in them.

Probably, this is hardware incompatibility, I will wait for win7 beta at January. By the way, I have the same error with build 6801, but vista is running well on both configurations.


1. LEAVE IT IN THERE during the install, always it never hurts.
2. Then it's you're PC (physical).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:34 pm 
Reply with quote
DjRob, normally disk always at drive during the installation, I remove only several times for test purposes. And I have the same error in both cases: with disk and without it.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 8:57 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
considering you did it in a vm i don't think its that the drives to small... if it copies the files at all without error its not going to be the disk (and it isn't used during step 2).

do you have another computer to try this on?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 9:11 pm 
Reply with quote
I will try to install os to asus z99h laptop, but I can do this only at weekends. It doesn't have ATI/AMD equipment, so if I will have success, I will report it.

Sorry for topic 'up' if it occur :oops: . I found the reason. In all trials, except virtual computer installations, I prepare ntfs partition for os with Partition Magic software. I try to install os by selection 'unallocated space' during installation and have success :). So, you need to create partition for Windows 7 build 6956 and Windows 7 build 6801 using os installer if you have error message from first my post.


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BF10 and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS