BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 5d, 14h, 39m | CPU: 15% | MEM: 2115MB of 3635MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows Seven is slow for my computer        Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:09 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 01, 2008 6:29 pm

Posts
110
specs:

windows seven 6936 x64
q6600 @ 3ghz
gigabyte ga-ep 45 ds3l
samsung 320gb hdd
palit 4850
4gb ocz platinum 800mhz ram

i've installed the chipset drivers, the gpu drivers, and all of the updates.

here are the problems:

takes 2.5 minutes to boot up ( compared to vista's 40 seconds)
cpu idles at 60% ( compared to vista's 1%)
constantly thrashes the hdd, even when idle

any help will be much appreciated.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:40 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 15, 2008 9:47 pm

Posts
910
You should try it with MS Virtual PC :wink:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 01, 2008 6:29 pm

Posts
110
SLAYERMAGGOT wrote:
You should try it with MS Virtual PC :wink:


i have 2 hard drives, one im not using, and so i decided to try windows 7 on that hdd.


btw, i installed it on vmware and it only takes 40 sec to boot up. but i want it to be fast without vmware.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
it might be that its just beta and has trouble with your computer, do you have any other computers to try it on? (it boots in 25 seconds on a really crappy laptop :D )


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 6:39 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:20 pm

Posts
214

Location
Kent, UK

Favourite OS
Windows 7
Are you installing it onto a SATA drive, and if so are you using the official drivers, or default ones?

_________________
i7-2700K @ 4.8 GHZ, Kandalf LCS, ATI 6950, 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP, Asus ROG Maximus IV Extreme-Z, 60GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 6:50 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 20, 2008 7:18 pm

Posts
342

Location
France
zamadatix wrote:
it might be that its just beta and has trouble with your computer, do you have any other computers to try it on? (it boots in 25 seconds on a really crappy laptop :D )


True on my PC

1GB of RAM
Intel Celeron Tualatin 1,3Ghz
nVidia Geforce 2 MX200 32MB

It boot in about 25 ~ 30 seconds :D

But after it lags when I plug my Internet Key :cry:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 6:58 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
that isnt crappy compared to mine:

1.8ghz
sis graphics card that cant do aero... or much else for that matter
512mb ram with 64 reserved vram

and it still boots that fast! :D

on my desktop the first time i installed it i set up a connection and made a home network and saved then restarted, well it kept trying to connect to it as 2 separate networks at the same time causing it to switch between home and public many times a second... lets say my computer didnt like it lol.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 8:24 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:07 am

Posts
1252

Location
Los Angeles, California

Favourite OS
Windows 7 x64
I think there is some program or service that's causing a hang. Mine seem fine: Windows 7 Build 6936 x64, Intel Core 2 Duo T5270 @ 1.40GHz, 2.00 GB Memory. Although it shutdown very slowly. Try process explorer to what's using a lot of resource in your comouter.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 8:37 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Is the hdd dying?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 9:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2404
It looks like either the network, Processr.sys or an SCSI driver is broken.


Last edited by Kenneth on Sun Dec 14, 2008 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 9:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Jan 30, 2007 5:45 am

Posts
936

Location
New Zealand
It is most likley the hdd or possibly some incompatibility with your hardware. It might be ms have not managed to support sata controller properly or somthing.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:07 am

Posts
1252

Location
Los Angeles, California

Favourite OS
Windows 7 x64
By the way, does your Desktop Gadget Gallery works? Mine 6936 x64 doesn't, but I previously used build 6801 x64 which does.

"%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe" /showgadgets


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS