BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 8d, 18h, 4m | CPU: 24% | MEM: 2211MB of 3581MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: ATI Radeon driver crashes on Build 6956        Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:34 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:18 pm

Posts
419
Hey guys. I have got a problem with crashes of the already installed driver (ATI Radeon HD4870) on build 6956. So, look. I didn't use any 3rd party custom ISOs, but within the VM sysprep'ed the system and then ripped it by Acronis. Then deployed the Acronis image to my real machine. During first run OOBE appears and installs drivers, but during checking graphics step everything becomes very low - because the driver (that was previously installed) crashes. After restart everything works fine, but withouth Aero. When I try to update system rating (because the system still be unrated) everything becomes very slow again and the messege that "ATI Radeon Family driver crashed and was successfully re..." appears, but everything still work very slow until the next restart. After the restart everything works fine withouth Aero again until I try to update rating and again, again etc. I also tried Windows 7 Preview Drivers released by ATI and Vista drivers, but with no success.

So, any ideas, advices? Thanks in advance.

_________________
Quod licet Jovi, non licet bovi


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:07 am

Posts
1252

Location
Los Angeles, California

Favourite OS
Windows 7 x64
First of all are you talking about a virtual machine?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: ATI Radeon driver crashes on Build 6956        Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 5:45 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Raiker wrote:
within the VM sysprep'ed the system and then ripped it by Acronis. Then deployed the Acronis image to my real machine


Basically, the ATi Driver crashes on his Real Machine when trying to run a Systems Rating check.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 5:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
it may just be your driver isnt compatible, my ati driver works fine for my desktop but the driver in my laptop with sis drivers crashes when trying doing the windows media decoding test :(.

i guess its just luck on what you install it on though.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:00 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:18 pm

Posts
419
I highly doubt the problem is in driver itself. Firstly, 6936 works fine. Then, I tried three different drivers. So I feel the problem is in a very dirty installatin. Will try the ISO later, but since it's all the same wim'ed hard drive I don't think there will be any difference.

_________________
Quod licet Jovi, non licet bovi


Last edited by Raiker on Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 8:20 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:47 pm

Posts
90
That's strange Raiker - definitely give the ISO a shot though...i've got an HD4850 and am running 6956 just fine. The system rating, everything goes perfect (this is with the included driver). Good luck!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 8:36 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:20 pm

Posts
214

Location
Kent, UK

Favourite OS
Windows 7
I suppose it is fair to say that a Beta leaked and installed in such a flaky way is bound to behave irrationally, bearing in mind that the install would have originally been configured for the VM and not your specific hardware setup

_________________
i7-2700K @ 4.8 GHZ, Kandalf LCS, ATI 6950, 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP, Asus ROG Maximus IV Extreme-Z, 60GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 9:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
But that's the idea of Sysprep and it's Hardware Generalisation feature :/

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:31 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 05, 2008 10:53 am

Posts
72

Location
Sweden

Favourite OS
Windows 8.1 and Windows 10
I have a problem, this process keeps crashing...
pretty much constantly??!!

Why, any ideas?

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
same thing on both of my computers i cant figure this one out :/


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS