BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 25d, 22h, 47m | CPU: 16% | MEM: 5625MB of 10927MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Can Windows Vista Home Basic support Aero Glass?        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:22 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
From what I've heard it can't. My teacher has this version of Vista running on her laptop, yet Aero Glass works. Her display driver is Intel 4 Series.

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:34 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Vista Home Basic allows Aero, just without trasnparency.
Its not a matter of support, its just not included.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:10 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 01, 2008 4:06 pm

Posts
171

Location
Computerland

Favourite OS
Always newest but not this time
so there is no way to getting transparency on home basic ?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:36 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:32 am

Posts
86
only when a windows is maximized, u could use vista glazz to enable that.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:41 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
Let me reiterate, transparency (Aero Glass) works. However, Flip3D does not. It's Home Basic and the display card is Intel 4 Series. Why is that?

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
I never got transparency working on Home Basic. I just wiped it and put Home Premium on.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 1:37 pm 
Reply with quote
doesnt "start uxsms" work anymore? 8-)


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:17 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:32 am

Posts
86
Emir214 wrote:
Let me reiterate, transparency (Aero Glass) works. However, Flip3D does not. It's Home Basic and the display card is Intel 4 Series. Why is that?

Because Aero is disabled in Home Basic, the theme that u got is called windows standard, and not Aero, but it looks like Aero without glass, I think there's a workaround for that, but no1 has found it yet, ohh and btw all the tweaks on the internet dont work, so dont bother and try.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:34 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
saeedsaf wrote:
Emir214 wrote:
Let me reiterate, transparency (Aero Glass) works. However, Flip3D does not. It's Home Basic and the display card is Intel 4 Series. Why is that?

Because Aero is disabled in Home Basic, the theme that u got is called windows standard, and not Aero, but it looks like Aero without glass, I think there's a workaround for that, but no1 has found it yet, ohh and btw all the tweaks on the internet dont work, so dont bother and try.


The windows are transparent (Aero Glass) in my teacher's Home Basic laptop. It's not Windows Standard. I wanted to know why its possible. (I'll try to get a picture at school tomorrow.)

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Please do, be sure to include the winver...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:40 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:36 pm

Posts
82

Location
Scarborough, UK

Favourite OS
Mavericks
Transparency in Windows Home Basic is disabled. There for does not work. You need Windows Home Premium or higher for Aero Transparency.

Check here for more info http://www.microsoft.com/windows/window ... fault.aspx


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 4:00 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:05 pm

Posts
638
It's possible to enable Aero Glass on Home Basic, but you need to change some registry key.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 4:09 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:44 am

Posts
216

Location
Poland
Emir214 wrote:
Let me reiterate, transparency (Aero Glass) works. However, Flip3D does not. It's Home Basic and the display card is Intel 4 Series. Why is that?

Emir214 wrote:
the display card is Intel 4 Series

You answered yourself. How do you expect to run Aero Glass on a display card without pixel shading?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 4:24 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 01, 2008 4:06 pm

Posts
171

Location
Computerland

Favourite OS
Always newest but not this time
i think that's why it wants less system configuration from ultimate,or premium


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
You can only do with some hacking glass, BUT NEVER TRANSPARANT, it's not supported and not included.

Here:

1) Go to the registery editor (REGEDIT.EXE):
2) Navagite to: HKEY_CURRENT_USER --> Software --> Microsoft --> Windows --> DWM
3) Change the following:

Composition = 1
CompositionPolicy = 2

4) Exit Register Editor and then run Command Prompt as ADMINISTRATOR (right click --> Run as Administrator) and type:

net stop uxsms

After successfully stopped type this:

net start uxsms

Then Aero BASIC glass is enabled, but no transparancy.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 9:43 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:07 am

Posts
1252

Location
Los Angeles, California

Favourite OS
Windows 7 x64
Enable Aero Glass

Regedit:
HKCU/Software/Microsoft/Windows/DWM/

Composition = 1
CompositionPolicy = 2

Right click Command Prompt and run as admin:

net stop uxsms
net start uxsms

And of cause an image to prove it: http://farm1.static.flickr.com/137/3772 ... 3f2ce3.jpg


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 9:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Isn't it easier just to go to Personalisation > Window Colour and Appearance > Windows Vista Standard (I think that's what they call the Home Basic non-transparent Aero)? If your video card supports it then it should be there, no need to go fiddling with the registry. It's the same as what you get on the other versions of Vista if you enable Aero but then turn the transparency slider right up to completely opaque.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 10:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
He wants Aero (no transparancy is available) and he said he was sick of the basic theme.

Day2Die wrote:
Enable Aero Glass

Regedit:
HKCU/Software/Microsoft/Windows/DWM/

Composition = 1
CompositionPolicy = 2

Right click Command Prompt and run as admin:

net stop uxsms
net start uxsms

And of cause an image to prove it: http://farm1.static.flickr.com/137/3772 ... 3f2ce3.jpg


May I ask why you post the same as me 3 hours later?
And I didn't get it from that website.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:00 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
That is Aero, not transparent - "Windows Vista Basic" is the nasty non-GPU-drawn one, "Windows Vista Standard" looks the same as Aero on the other Vista editions with the transparency slider right up to the non-transparent end. The full details of this are here but the basics are that you only see "Vista Standard" as an option if you have Home Basic and an Aero-supported graphics card, which will be quite a rare situation as most decent PCs won't be running Home Basic. In the screenshot on that page the preview seems to show Vista Basic even though Vista Standard is selected, but you can see the actual windows are using Vista Standard ie non-transparent Aero.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:47 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:25 am

Posts
2688

Location
Earth.

Favourite OS
Real Life
get the M1 7 beta, and use that theme... that is prolly how you teacher got the glass...

it works in basic, and the theme is signed by microsoft...

_________________
Visit my BLOG!
Wanna play a fun browser based game that plays while you're away? Click here.


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:33 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
pizzaboy192 wrote:
get the M1 7 beta, and use that theme... that is prolly how you teacher got the glass...

I wouldn't bet on it :D

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:35 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:25 am

Posts
2688

Location
Earth.

Favourite OS
Real Life
read the m1 topic first... it was done and there are links to the files for it... im just way to lazy to look it up for you

_________________
Visit my BLOG!
Wanna play a fun browser based game that plays while you're away? Click here.


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:53 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 27, 2008 8:09 pm

Posts
3935

Favourite OS
OS X 10.8
pizzaboy192 wrote:
read the m1 topic first... it was done and there are links to the files for it... im just way to lazy to look it up for you
Chances are, that's not how his teacher did it.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 3:41 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:25 am

Posts
2688

Location
Earth.

Favourite OS
Real Life
who cares? this way works too...

=D there are probably ways around it, like patching the uxtheme dll and installing another version or a modded version

why not ask the teacher how it was done?

_________________
Visit my BLOG!
Wanna play a fun browser based game that plays while you're away? Click here.


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:07 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
Or by installing WB and having the effects enabled.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS