BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 25d, 4h, 24m | CPU: 83% | MEM: 5543MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows Seven "updating" my audio?        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:23 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:47 pm

Posts
172
All day today and yesterday my Conexant HD Audio keeps updating its' drivers on me and it's driving me insane.

For some reason the updated drivers cause Seven to disable my sound card (drivers incompatible), and when my laptop ran XP, updated drivers BROKE my audio.

And Seven keeps breaking my audio, making me have to go to Computer Management, Device Manager, find the Conexant device, and tell it to roll back the drivers.

Anyone have a way to disable driver updating?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 4:59 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
Well, to me, Seven worked nicely.
I own a lappy with a Realtek HD soundcard.
It sounded but, it was still funny what happened. I would get nice sound, yet, I would not be able to choose the sample rate for the speakers (eg, 192,000 hz) which is the one I like.
That was OK.
The problem comes when trying to record any audio. I can't choose the hi quality audio either, but well, the problem is that part of my job is to restore vintage records we have at the unviersity. Some are over 100 years old so i really need to have the computer input. For that reason I had to roll back to Vista.
I tried to update the driver, I tried almost all I could, but no results yet.
Unfortunately that feature is truly necessary for me, because I loved seven, but just couldn't stay with it.
Hope you solve it!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:39 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
I'm not sure I follow you in what you mean by "updating"
If its updating the drivers via Windows Update, then change your settings so you must approve all updates.
If its a third party program/app/driver thats doing the updating, then firewall the bugger.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:55 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm

Posts
524

Location
Monson, MA

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
I had a similar type problem. Windows updated my Conexant HD audio on my laptop with a driver that was "blocked due to incompatibility." Try this to fix it:
Open the system properties control panel (win+r type sysdm.cpl)
Go to the Hardware tab and click on the windows Update Driver Settings tab.
Click on No, let me choose what to do and never download drivers from windows update.
Then click save.

If it still installs the new driver automatically, go to device manager (win+r type devmgmt.msc)
and right click on the Conexant HD audio device and click Uninstall. Check the box to delete driver software and let it uninstall. Afterwards, right click on your computer name at the top and click scan for hardware changes. Then windows will install the old driver and you should have no more problems.

_________________
............................Visit my gopher site!
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:03 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Jun 15, 2008 10:41 pm

Posts
224

Location
Essex, England

Favourite OS
7 Ultimate 64bit
I had the same problem, all I did was install manually from my disc of all the drivers I burnt and I ran setup under vista compatibility. Installed fine. All you gotta do is that and hide the update. I've had no problems since.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:35 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
Happened to me too, all I did was rollback the driver and ignored it on Windows Update.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:32 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
TheWahbinator wrote:
Happened to me too, all I did was rollback the driver and ignored it on Windows Update.

That's the best alternative. is it the only problem?
My Realtek HD Audio Manager worked, but, you could not change the sample rate nor record any sound.
Is recording working for you guys?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm

Posts
524

Location
Monson, MA

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
recording is working fine for the default 7 driver

_________________
............................Visit my gopher site!
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:39 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
nickenzi wrote:
recording is working fine for the default 7 driver

Which is your soundcard Model?
Mine's a Realtek ALC268. It worked fine. Detected the HDMI port, the Digital Output port, the 5.1 speaker system, and even the mic and line in, but, when trying to record sound it would say the port could not be opened.
The problem came when you opened HD Audio Manager. You couldn't choose 192,000 hz for playback nor recording. Actually the list appeared with none of the options selected and you could not pick any. Not even the most basic one.
It was a problem I could not address even after reinstalling all the audio driver and firmware.
I then came back to Vista


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 2:20 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm

Posts
524

Location
Monson, MA

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
All I know is that it is Conexant HD Audio that is part of my compaq laptop.

_________________
............................Visit my gopher site!
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:09 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:47 pm

Posts
172
nickenzi wrote:
All I know is that it is Conexant HD Audio that is part of my compaq laptop.


You running a C700 series laptop? It's the Conexant "Venice" 5045 HD Audio.
I've got a C714NR and I can't get the front panel mic to work :^)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 12:04 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm

Posts
524

Location
Monson, MA

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
missingno wrote:
You running a C700 series laptop?


No. It's a V6000Z.

_________________
............................Visit my gopher site!
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:31 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Jun 15, 2008 10:41 pm

Posts
224

Location
Essex, England

Favourite OS
7 Ultimate 64bit
nickenzi wrote:
missingno wrote:
You running a C700 series laptop?


No. It's a V6000Z.


Mines a Compaq C740EM laptop, I had too use the driver in vista compatibility mode.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:55 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm

Posts
524

Location
Monson, MA

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
djdanster wrote:
Mines a Compaq C740EM laptop, I had too use the driver in vista compatibility mode.


I tried that and it didn't install, so I;m using the default win7 driver. It works fine, except it pops every once in a while.

_________________
............................Visit my gopher site!
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 12:37 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:47 pm

Posts
172
Gack! I disabled the automatic updates and it did it AGAIN!

I noticed a bubble going "Installing your new hardware...", so I clicked it...
... and it was installing my Conexant HD Audio again.

... which led to the "This driver is incompatible" bubbles.

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 2:47 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm

Posts
524

Location
Monson, MA

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
instead of rolling back the driver, uninstall the incompatible one and check the box to delete the driver files. then refresh the devices in device manager and it should revert to the default driver.

_________________
............................Visit my gopher site!
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 10:09 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
missingno wrote:
Gack! I disabled the automatic updates and it did it AGAIN!

I noticed a bubble going "Installing your new hardware...", so I clicked it...
... and it was installing my Conexant HD Audio again.

... which led to the "This driver is incompatible" bubbles.

Image


It doesn't matter if you disable automatic updates,
On you're computer start-up it, windows searches for hardware that hasn't been installed or no has no drivers.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 3:19 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:47 pm

Posts
172
DjRob wrote:
missingno wrote:
Gack! I disabled the automatic updates and it did it AGAIN!

I noticed a bubble going "Installing your new hardware...", so I clicked it...
... and it was installing my Conexant HD Audio again.

... which led to the "This driver is incompatible" bubbles.

Image


It doesn't matter if you disable automatic updates,
On you're computer start-up it, windows searches for hardware that hasn't been installed or no has no drivers.


... but it HAS drivers - "HD Audio Device".


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:19 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
missingno wrote:
DjRob wrote:
missingno wrote:
Gack! I disabled the automatic updates and it did it AGAIN!

I noticed a bubble going "Installing your new hardware...", so I clicked it...
... and it was installing my Conexant HD Audio again.

... which led to the "This driver is incompatible" bubbles.

Image


It doesn't matter if you disable automatic updates,
On you're computer start-up it, windows searches for hardware that hasn't been installed or no has no drivers.


... but it HAS drivers - "HD Audio Device".


By the looks of it, use the last drivers, or if they are, wait until they make new ones.
Even if you install in compatibility mode it won't work.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS