BetaArchive
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/

Windows 7 Build 6801 gives error message in Virtual PC
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=6314
Page 1 of 1

Author:  mdogg [ Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:09 am ]
Post subject:  Windows 7 Build 6801 gives error message in Virtual PC

When trying to install Windows 7 in Virtual PC, it gives me an error saying the following:
Windows 7 Error Message wrote:
Windows could not collect information for [OSImage] since the specified image file [install.wim] does not exist.

Now I know that the WIM is important for an install of Windows, but I don't know why it's giving me this error.

Author:  J.Byrne [ Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:16 am ]
Post subject: 

I've seen this a few times, always turns out to be a corrupt image.
(sorry for the pathetic question) But are you sure you've downloaded the entire image?

Author:  mdogg [ Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:23 am ]
Post subject: 

I'm pretty sure I downloaded the whole thing as I downloaded it as a torrent and it said it was 100% completed.

Author:  J.Byrne [ Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:26 am ]
Post subject: 

What Client?
The Azureus torrent client has a pretty neat function that checks wether or not the file you have is identical to the file on the torrent, and if not, does what it can to repair the file.

Author:  mdogg [ Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:33 am ]
Post subject: 

I used uTorrent. Does uTorrent have a similar feature?

Author:  J.Byrne [ Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:43 am ]
Post subject: 

Nope, thats somthing thats bugged me ever since I switched to uTorrent.
You could download Azureus (Now called Azureus Vuze) Install it, set the download directory to one that has a copy of your Windows 7 file, make sure the file has its original name from when you downloaded it and run the torrent again through Azureus.
It should automatically check the directory and verify the files integrity, then go to work.
Its a long shot, but it still beats re-downloading an entire ISO image.

Author:  QuiescentWonder [ Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:43 am ]
Post subject: 

Yeah, just right click on the torrent and there should be a "Force Re-Check" option in there somewhere. If it finds any bad parts it will download them again.

You don't need Vuze. Azureus was alright except that it ate up tons of resources, Vuze is worse, and now it's bundled with all sorts of garbage. Vuze is absolutely terrible compared to uTorrent, even if it has a few more features.

Author:  J.Byrne [ Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:55 am ]
Post subject: 

QuiescentWonder wrote:
Yeah, just right click on the torrent and there should be a "Force Re-Check" option in there somewhere. If it finds any bad parts it will download them again.

You don't need Vuze. Azureus was alright except that it ate up tons of resources, Vuze is worse, and now it's bundled with all sorts of garbage. Vuze is absolutely terrible compared to uTorrent, even if it has a few more features.

Heh, I never noticed the force re-check in uTorrent before...
Now I feel like a dumbass.
And yeah, Vuze was a useless peice of bloated crap that hogged RAM (60MB on average) and tried to push a lot of media sharing garbage on users, that would be why I stopped using it.
How could I have never noticed that function in uTorrent...

Author:  FarCry3r [ Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:39 pm ]
Post subject: 

I also got the same error message, IF I trim the image using vLite, if I just install as it is, it work just fine...

Author:  mdogg [ Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:59 pm ]
Post subject: 

QuiescentWonder wrote:
Yeah, just right click on the torrent and there should be a "Force Re-Check" option in there somewhere. If it finds any bad parts it will download them again.

The re-check option is disabled.

FarCry3r wrote:
I also got the same error message, IF I trim the image using vLite, if I just install as it is, it work just fine...

I haven't touched the image since it was downloaded.

Author:  J.Byrne [ Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:56 pm ]
Post subject: 

mdogg wrote:
QuiescentWonder wrote:
Yeah, just right click on the torrent and there should be a "Force Re-Check" option in there somewhere. If it finds any bad parts it will download them again.

The re-check option is disabled.

Is it in the downloading section, or the complete section?

Author:  mdogg [ Sat Nov 08, 2008 2:25 am ]
Post subject: 

jabster wrote:
mdogg wrote:
QuiescentWonder wrote:
Yeah, just right click on the torrent and there should be a "Force Re-Check" option in there somewhere. If it finds any bad parts it will download them again.

The re-check option is disabled.

Is it in the downloading section, or the complete section?

It's in the complete section.

Author:  Day2Die [ Sat Nov 08, 2008 11:31 pm ]
Post subject: 

Actually it is very simple, install.wim contain the entire Windows 7 in a compacted form. This error is caused by the DVD or iso which is corrupt rather than fault Microsoft Virtual PC.

Author:  J.Byrne [ Sat Nov 08, 2008 11:33 pm ]
Post subject: 

Day2Die wrote:
Actually it is very simple, install.wim contain the entire Windows 7 in a compacted form. This error is caused by the DVD or iso which is corrupt rather than fault Microsoft Virtual PC.

We've already established that.

Author:  mdogg [ Sat Nov 08, 2008 11:38 pm ]
Post subject: 

Day2Die wrote:
This error is caused by the DVD or iso which is corrupt rather than fault Microsoft Virtual PC.

I'm not saying that it is the fault of Virtual PC. I'm just giving more detail as to what kind of hardware (virtualized in this case) I'm trying to install the OS on.

Edit: I just installed 7 natively on a PC and it seems to have installed without a problem.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/