BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 0d, 19h, 45m | CPU: 38% | MEM: 1921MB of 3073MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows 7 Edition        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:56 am 
Reply with quote
Is Windows 7 PDC Ver able to change it the edition?

DVD: \ sources \ product. ini

Although it is likely to be possible if I see the file of the top/


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:13 am 
Reply with quote
When I see the middle of a/the DVD to the sources folder

DVD\sources

Install_Windows Vista BUSINESS. clg
Install_Windows Vista BUSINESSN. clg
Install_Windows Vista HOMEBASIC. clg
Install_Windows Vista HOMEBASICN. clg
Install_Windows Vista HOMEPREMIUM. clg
Install_Windows Vista STARTER. clg
Install_Windows Vista ULTIMATE. clg

There is the above file

I try to replace it with the clg file of Vista if it is
However, it failed
Whether or not why?

Seems to there is a problem in Setup. exe
As analyze from now on and be possible the Edition change at the time of installation it tries to do


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:48 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
It installs as ultimate. MS is problary going to reduce the number of editions due to comfused users.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 05, 2008 10:53 am

Posts
72

Location
Sweden

Favourite OS
Windows 8.1 and Windows 10
I'm trying to install it on a VM machine but it doesn't work?

Image

Is it better to install it on a partition and dual boot with Vista?
-in that case how much space do I need on that partition?

_________________
"...Like a good whisky, this glass has plenty of character."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:06 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
vajlent wrote:
I'm trying to install it on a VM machine but it doesn't work?

Image

Try adding different HD type to the VM...
If it still doesn't work try to format the HD with XP's disk (NTFS).


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:22 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
From my experience, dual boot aint gonna happen (even with BCDEDIT). If you want to have multiple OS with this version of Win 7 its a BIOS boot order change each time or cable swapping. Access to existing Windows partitions from Win 7 also seems to be a no go though you can access the Win 7 partition from XP or Vista.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:51 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:03 pm

Posts
96

Location
Barnoldswick, England

Favourite OS
Longhorn
i had same problem with VMware I had to use Virtual PC


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:02 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
OG wrote:
From my experience, dual boot aint gonna happen (even with BCDEDIT). If you want to have multiple OS with this version of Win 7 its a BIOS boot order change each time or cable swapping. Access to existing Windows partitions from Win 7 also seems to be a no go though you can access the Win 7 partition from XP or Vista.


Dual booting Win7 6801 with Vista RTM doesn't seem to be a problem. As for other drives, I was missing only one of my HDDs after installing 6801 but all it took to bring it back was assigning a drive letter to it in Disk Management. All my other drives (drive 1: Vista partition + data partition, drive 2: data partition) appeared as they should do without my intervention.

vajlent wrote:
I'm trying to install it on a VM machine but it doesn't work?

Is it better to install it on a partition and dual boot with Vista?
-in that case how much space do I need on that partition?


Dual booting seems to work fine with Vista, and after installation about 9.3GB of the drive was used but that included a 2GB hibernation file and a 2GB pagefile. Officially I think 15GB is required but I don't have a link with a reference... 15-20GB should do just fine though.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:17 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
I got no dual boot option at all. Whether that has anything to do with the fact my primary is a raid array I dont know, but it's supported in Vista so assumed it would be by Windows 7. I did have the option to install to it so it was obviously recognised during installation but I had no boot options after installing and the only options I had in disk manager was to initialize and format the raid array. The only way I could boot back to Vista was by unpluging the sata cable for the HDD 7 was installed on.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:43 pm 
Reply with quote
its ultimate


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
nikhil14b wrote:
its ultimate


Wrong. It's Starter, Home Basic, Home Basic N, Home Premium, Ultimate, Business and Business N.
It just installs Ultimate by default, though this is easily fixed.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 3:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Did someone found how to make windows 7 work in vmware workstation?
cause me it isn'T working...


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 8:38 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
bibo wrote:
Did someone found how to make windows 7 work in vmware workstation?
cause me it isn'T working...


Worked fine here, just used 'Windows Vista' default settings...

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 8:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2404
Quote:
Is Windows 7 PDC Ver able to change it the edition?

DVD: \ sources \ product. ini

Although it is likely to be possible if I see the file of the top/


Delete ei.cfg. It'll then let you choose. :wink:

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 9:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
is there any difference in the versions other than the title displayed?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 9:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2404
The features, such as Windows Media Center, it's in Vista Home Premium yet it's not in home basic.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
i mean if i just let it install as ultimate is there any software i could get from business?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:26 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:27 pm

Posts
140
they test beta's with ultimate edition by default so you can test all the features and make sure they arent buggy.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS