BetaArchive
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/

Server 2008 problems
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=6093
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Rob Jansen [ Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Server 2008 problems

Hi.

I want to install an Windows Server 2008, convert it to workstation for school.

But my hardware is different from the school's pc's.
I have already tried to install it, it installs fine, but when I boot it at school, it's reboots everytime after just a few seconds.
Even in safe mode.

I know that there's is an utility called Sysprep, (standard installed).
But if I run it, and then the next boot is at my school's computers will it then succesfully boot?

Another website (google search) suggested this:

c:\windows\system32\sysprep\sysprep.exe –reseal –mini –pnp -bmsd

Will that work?

I mean, If I run this and after it shutsdown can I boot it on totally different hardware?
CPU, Motherboard and so on (nothing is the same as my pc's) or will I need to do an fresh installation at the school's computer?

Author:  Frozenport [ Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:03 pm ]
Post subject: 

So you are tying to install it on the same medium, but using that medium on multiple computers?

The easy solution would be to use BartPE...

Are you trying to Ghost?

Author:  Rob Jansen [ Fri Oct 24, 2008 2:41 pm ]
Post subject: 

Let me explain better:

I have an seperate Harddisk for school.
This is just an Maxtor 120GB.

The computers at school are very much different then I have here.

So I would like to install it at home, and then use it at school on different hardware.
The Image that school's provide is crap.
Too much software and otherthings you don't need.

And I always wanted to run an Vista/Server 2008 there (because they are standard computers with an Pentium D/Core 2 Duo at 3GHz with 2GB of DDR2 RAM) and the video card can run windows aero.

So that's my situation.

1) Install at home
2) Sysprep (with switches for deleting hardware and so on, in XP they had Hardwareprofiles in Vista/Sv2008 not anymore)
3) Boot at school and use there.

I have already tryed it without sysprep, but I keep rebooting in a loop even in safemode.

Author:  happy dude [ Fri Oct 24, 2008 2:55 pm ]
Post subject: 

Well theres your problem - Server 2008 has yoru desktops hardware installed and yet suddenly it has all this new hardware...

Author:  TheWahbinator [ Fri Oct 24, 2008 3:29 pm ]
Post subject: 

If it won't boot on both computers then you might need to do a HAL swap (e.g. if one computer is single-core and other is dual-core)

Author:  Rob Jansen [ Fri Oct 24, 2008 3:45 pm ]
Post subject: 

afaik.

Mine = 4 core (Quad)
School = 2 core (Pentium D or Core 2 Duo)

Author:  Bas [ Sat Oct 25, 2008 9:56 am ]
Post subject: 

Sysprep will correctly re-detect hardware on the next boot, but the installation will then be specific to that type of hardware. AFAIK, NT6 sysprep has something to fix the HAL problems, and if it doesn't -- any multiprocessor PC will probably use a similar HAL.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/