Page 1 of 1

Shutdown button in Vista

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:08 pm
by ___
Is there anyway to change the Sleep button in Vista (on the startmenu) to shutdown? As i never put my computer to sleep besides turning it off.
Image

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:21 am
by empireum
Yes, in the Control Panel -> Power Options, you have to go in the Advanced Options and there you can change the behaviour of the button... It's somewhere there, I'm sure you'll find it.

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:17 am
by Luk001
Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Power Options > Change When The Computer Sleeps > Change Advanced Power Settings > Power Buttons And Lid > Start Menu Power Button > Setting: Shut down > Ok

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:36 am
by Vista Ultimate R2
Side_10 wrote:Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Power Options > Change When The Computer Sleeps > Change Advanced Power Settings > Power Buttons And Lid > Start Menu Power Button > Setting: Shut down > Ok
Congratulations Microsoft - all those hours of work on the new shutdown button made things so easy for the user

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:54 am
by empireum
Reminds me of the Shut Down button in Neptune, but that one is easier to customize in the Power Options...

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:01 pm
by ___
cheers, got it now
Side_10 wrote:Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Power Options > Change When The Computer Sleeps > Change Advanced Power Settings > Power Buttons And Lid > Start Menu Power Button > Setting: Shut down > Ok
It just Power Options, no Hardware and Sound option.

btw, is there any DWM options anywhere? cause i have glass but the animations have dissappeared (minimize/maximize etc)

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:50 pm
by empireum
___ wrote:cheers, got it now
Side_10 wrote:Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Power Options > Change When The Computer Sleeps > Change Advanced Power Settings > Power Buttons And Lid > Start Menu Power Button > Setting: Shut down > Ok
It just Power Options, no Hardware and Sound option.

btw, is there any DWM options anywhere? cause i have glass but the animations have dissappeared (minimize/maximize etc)
Try System Properties -> Advanced -> Advanced -> Settings or something like that.

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:57 am
by ___
found it, its in Control Panel > Performance Information and Tools > Advanced Tools > Adjust Appearance and performance of Windows

Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 4:08 am
by SaT
hmmm well its easy is u just do this

start-run or windowskey+r
powercfg.cpl

Click change plan settings
Click change advanced power settings
and click the power buttons and lid