BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 29d, 0h, 13m | CPU: 18% | MEM: 5822MB of 11107MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: You must type a file name error message        Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:35 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
Image

I don't know wether or not any of you have noticed this, but it appears to be a bug in explorer. Try renaming a file by pressing F2 and then only use one full stop as the name and press enter. You will then get the error shown. Has any of you people seen this before?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 12:57 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
How is this a bug?
Your honestly suprised you can't name files with nothing but full stops?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 1:03 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
Well, if I leave the rename box literally blank and don't even type a file name at all, not even a full stop, no error appears, it just reverts back to it's original name. From what I have heard it has been a bug in Windows ever since 95, and Microsoft don't even consider it a high priority bug to fix!

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 1:06 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Mabye because its not a bug.
The full stop is the divider between the file name and the file extension.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 1:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
Well, howcome then, if I literally leave the rename box blank, it doesn't say I have to type a file name?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 1:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Because as a safety precaution, it restores the filename.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 7:12 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
Well, if I rename a file to just . using the command prompt, it works OK.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 7:44 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:22 pm

Posts
175

Location
Germany
It's by design!

Even though it's really annoying.
Try naming a file ".htaccess" (You know for FTP security thingies). Windows forbids you because "You must type a filename"
Windows considers this an empty filename because it things "htaccess" is the extension and you did not enter any "file name".

But if you already have a file named ".htaccess" you can handle it without any problems.


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 7:46 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
:x Stupid Microsoft! :cry: I bet this thing will be in Windows 7 as well! I feel that they just did this to p**s people off!

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:09 pm 
Reply with quote
jeez. Calm down! :D

1. The command interpreter is separate from Windows Explorer.

2. It's a security precaution - not a bug.

3. No end user will want to rename a file to anything with a "." in the beginning.

4. Just a "." cannot be a file name because it is used by the file-system. Just do a DIR in an empty folder and then you'll know why.

5. WTF is a full-stop? hahaha :D


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 1:57 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
squidward_ wrote:
:x Stupid Microsoft! :cry: I bet this thing will be in Windows 7 as well! I feel that they just did this to p**s people off!


Have you really been inconvenienced? The only time it's been an issue with me is editing/creating .htaccess files and it's possible to just rename them to down/upload them.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 12:42 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
Yes, I understand what you are saying, however, it is funny how the command prompt window lets you only use full stops as a file name, whereas explorer itself throws a fit if you try and use only full stop as a filename! :D

BTW, has this ''precaution'' been included in version of Windows before 95 like Windows 1, 2 and 3 and the first version of NT?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:49 pm 
Reply with quote
That's actually a good question.

In those days it wasn't common to have system files like that, although it was considered a bad habit to name a file in such a way.

Actually, I'm pretty sure you can.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:57 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:57 am

Posts
429

Location
Greece

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
No you can't. In Windows 2.03 when you try to rename a file to only "." it resets to previous name.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
Couldn't one get a big :o if they are new to using computers and don't expect that error to appear when renaming a file in an odd name and possibly suffer a heart attack as well if they are extremely sensitive?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 6:11 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
squidward_ wrote:
Couldn't one get a big :o if they are new to using computers and don't expect that error to appear when renaming a file in an odd name and possibly suffer a heart attack as well if they are extremely sensitive?


What the hell? Who gets a heart attack over an error message telling you that you can't rename a file to something starting with a . ? ^o)

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 6:38 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
Somebody who doesn't expect the message to appear. When I first accidentally made that error appear, it made me jump, but I am talking about someone who is very prone to having heart attacks.

BTW, I have notice that in Build 3718 of Longhorn, say for example, if you create a text document from the ''New'' menu, then rename it so that it just says ''.txt'', (without the quote marks of course), it lets you do it!

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
squidward_ wrote:
Somebody who doesn't expect the message to appear. When I first accidentally made that error appear, it made me jump, but I am talking about someone who is very prone to having heart attacks.

BTW, I have notice that in Build 3718 of Longhorn, say for example, if you create a text document from the ''New'' menu, then rename it so that it just says ''.txt'', (without the quote marks of course), it lets you do it!


Then its saved as:

Code:
.txt.txt


Where .txt is the filename and .txt the extension.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:17 am 
Reply with quote
squidward_ wrote:
Somebody who doesn't expect the message to appear. When I first accidentally made that error appear, it made me jump, but I am talking about someone who is very prone to having heart attacks.


That sounds extremely unrealistic!

Files named in applications are usually automatically given an extension.

I think that you need to learn how file names and file-systems work in order to understand why windows does this.

Think of it this way ".txt" is not a file name, it's merely an extension.


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS