BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 24d, 16h, 15m | CPU: 47% | MEM: 5577MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Longhorn 4039 - Aero and Phodeo        Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 9:24 am 
Reply with quote
yes, its against my own rule, that i dont like longhorn at all :P

but well, i need screenshots of it for my homepage.

i have installed 4039 on virtual pc, because in vmware it doesnt boot up here, i tried everything, but glass doesnt work, whatever i do, it just doesnt work, are there any "special tricks" to enable it?

also when i convert it to vmware i get an bsod, so it would be awesome to get it possible in virtualpc

thanks


Top
 PostPost subject: Re: Longhorn 4039 - Aero and Phodeo        Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 9:52 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Namronia wrote:
yes, its against my own rule, that i dont like longhorn at all :P

but well, i need screenshots of it for my homepage.

i have installed 4039 on virtual pc, because in vmware it doesnt boot up here, i tried everything, but glass doesnt work, whatever i do, it just doesnt work, are there any "special tricks" to enable it?

also when i convert it to vmware i get an bsod, so it would be awesome to get it possible in virtualpc

thanks


You simply can not enable DWM in a virtual machine. The VMs aren't powerful enough for any build's DWM (except 5048's). 4039's DWM is particularly demanding anyway, you're going to have to install it on a real PC.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:13 am 
Reply with quote
oh ok, thanks anyways :(


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:14 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 26, 2007 11:40 am

Posts
345

Location
The Netherlands
This was the best what i could make of it, it's not in vm though.
But glass is very unstable.
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:39 am 
Reply with quote
tristan wrote:
This was the best what i could make of it, it's not in vm though.
But glass is very unstable.
Image


that looks awesome, but its weird, when i boot from the CD the bootscreen appears and moves, but for hours, nothing happens, in virtualpc its booted in 50secs. also when i import the virtualpc to vmware it gives me an BSOD :S


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 1:31 pm 
Reply with quote
do i need to do something special for aero? i installed the patch and started DCE, but i just get the normal blue borders, actually i re installed vmware 6.0 where it works to install

please help me :(

edit, sorry for double post


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:19 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
it should start with the glass patch, but glass in 4039 is very demanding and will require a good video card with supportive driver. (the card cant be too new or too old)
The Geforce 4 and radeon 9200 and under won't run it. The radeon 9800 pro is the prefered card to test it on. The series with X in front like x200, x600 or x1600 is too new and while have problems too. For geforce, 5xxx or 6xxx may do, not really sure, never tested it. but geforce 7/8/9 is too new.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 26, 2007 11:40 am

Posts
345

Location
The Netherlands
It worked with my laptop with a Gefore 8400GS Mobile... 8-)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Longhorn 4039 - Aero and Phodeo        Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:35 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 19, 2008 1:28 am

Posts
128
[quote="hounsell"][quote="Namronia"]yes, its against my own rule, that i dont like longhorn at all :P

but well, i need screenshots of it for my homepage.

i have installed 4039 on virtual pc, because in vmware it doesnt boot up here, i tried everything, but glass doesnt work, whatever i do, it just doesnt work, are there any "special tricks" to enable it?

also when i convert it to vmware i get an bsod, so it would be awesome to get it possible in virtualpc

thanks[/quote]

You simply can not enable DWM in a virtual machine. The VMs aren't powerful enough for any build's DWM (except 5048's). 4039's DWM is particularly demanding anyway, you're going to have to install it on a real PC.[/quote]Longhorn build 5048's DWM will work in VPC2007? How do you get it to work?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Longhorn 4039 - Aero and Phodeo        Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 11:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
fred30w wrote:
Longhorn build 5048's DWM will work in VPC2007? How do you get it to work?


Read the stickies at the top of the forum 8-)

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Longhorn 4039 - Aero and Phodeo        Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:58 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 19, 2008 1:28 am

Posts
128
hounsell wrote:
fred30w wrote:
Longhorn build 5048's DWM will work in VPC2007? How do you get it to work?


Read the stickies at the top of the forum 8-)

Ok thanks!!! :D


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Longhorn 4039 - Aero and Phodeo        Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:51 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
fred30w wrote:
hounsell wrote:
fred30w wrote:
Longhorn build 5048's DWM will work in VPC2007? How do you get it to work?


Read the stickies at the top of the forum 8-)

Ok thanks!!! :D


Also, if you're going to do a lot of quoting, could you enable the BBCode rather than keeping disabling it? I've fixed this post, but it's a bit hard to read when you've got multiple quotes with BBCode disabled.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS