Competion: Win 300$ for cracking Microsoft Live Mesh

Discuss Windows Vista, 7, 8.x, 10 and Windows Server 2008, 2008R2, 2012, 2016, 2019, Home Server, SBS 2008, SBS 2011.
leonbollerup
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1009
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:29 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Competion: Win 300$ for cracking Microsoft Live Mesh

Post by leonbollerup »

Hi,

In agreement with Andy, i hereby start a new competition, where my company will award the first to crack/Modify the "Microsoft Live Mesh" client to successfully run 100% on a Longhorn 4074 with 300$ on any account of hes desire - in the spirit of fun, here is the requirements :

(1) Workable installation guide
(2) It must fully work
(3) It must not break any of Longhorn other functionality

do it within the next 12 hours, and receive a special surprise bonus.

With Kind Regards,
Leon Bollerup
www.startforce.com

ps.
For any questions, please send mail to mail@r2x2.com



LINKS :

Live Mesh, 32bit client: http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/LiveMesh-x32.zip

Taken from Windows XP Installation:

From C:\Documents and Settings\<user>\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Live Mesh :

http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/UP_LiveMesh.zip

From C:\Program Files\Live Mesh :

http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/P_LiveMesh.zip

Exported reg.keys from a 32bit installation on Wndows XP:

http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/reg_livemesh.zip
Last edited by leonbollerup on Fri Jul 18, 2008 6:44 am, edited 2 times in total.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12621
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Just to confirm I did authorise this. Leon keeps to his promises. If you make a guide that works, you will get paid the prize money.

Have fun guys.

Ludacris
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 601
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by Ludacris »

NVM, already working on it. I think i found a solutuon for it

oh, do I REALLY have to write a guide? even if you just have to use it?

leonbollerup
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1009
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:29 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Live Mesh Client

Post by leonbollerup »

The LiveMesh Client can be found at :

http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/LiveMesh-x32.zip
Last edited by leonbollerup on Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

Do you mean crack the security, i.e. get into someone else's account?
Image

Ludacris
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 601
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by Ludacris »

mdogg wrote:Do you mean crack the security, i.e. get into someone else's account?
no he means to get it working lh.

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

Ludacris wrote:
mdogg wrote:Do you mean crack the security, i.e. get into someone else's account?
no he means to get it working lh.
, I didn't read the post properly.
Image

Ludacris
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 601
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by Ludacris »

Capture the setup in an Virtual machine with Thinstall.

Install the net framework 2/3 on Longhorn (using that guide: http://www.joejoe.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=14115)

Copy the captured exe to your longhorn system and run it.
Should work.. Im too tired and in a rush so i cant test it. I will test it tomorrow.

4tified
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am
Location: TeXaS

Post by 4tified »

Now this is a way to wake up the community
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

4tified wrote:Now this is a way to wake up the community
Yes, but seeing that it expires in 12 hours, a lot of forum members will suffer from shock horror.
Image

win98
Donator
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 5:45 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by win98 »

mdogg wrote:
4tified wrote:Now this is a way to wake up the community
Yes, but seeing that it expires in 12 hours, a lot of forum members will suffer from shock horror.
Yes but thats the speical prize not the main one.

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

win98 wrote:
mdogg wrote:
4tified wrote:Now this is a way to wake up the community
Yes, but seeing that it expires in 12 hours, a lot of forum members will suffer from shock horror.
Yes but thats the speical prize not the main one.
Some users will be shock horrored not to get the special prize. There are people who need just a little bit more...
Image

leonbollerup
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1009
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:29 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Using thinstall will fail

Post by leonbollerup »

Hi,

Using thinstall will fail for several reasons :

1) You need a service running to provide the constant updates
2) When you run the thinstall, you get a error "Vista RTM Restriction"

Point of advice, Livemesh.exe thinks Longhorn is a vista system, setting to run as XP dosent make much of a change either.

L.

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

I got it working on a Portuguese XP Starter Edition... lol

I will install lh4074 now and try it...

Image

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »


12 hours is almost up so anyone who wants that special bonus had better hurry up.
Image

leonbollerup
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1009
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:29 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Advice and time extention

Post by leonbollerup »

Hi,

I got a tip that might be work to try :

1) Install livemesh.exe on a Windows XP machine
2) Copy all files to LH machine
3) manualy move all reg. db settings from XP to LH
4) Manualy add the system service and auto-start items

However, this dosent solve the problem that LH gives the UAC error message


Also, to make this roll a bit more, i am extending :
- Time till Monday morning evening for the special bonus
- Price is Now 300$

Good luck - Leon

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

Damn. I can't believe this happened as I was taking a short break, and I don't have a 4074 install either

*gets to work

leonbollerup
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1009
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:29 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Links

Post by leonbollerup »

Live Mesh, 32bit client: http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/LiveMesh-x32.zip

Taken from Windows XP Installation:

From C:\Documents and Settings\<user>\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Live Mesh :

http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/UP_LiveMesh.zip

From C:\Program Files\Live Mesh :

http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/P_LiveMesh.zip

Luthian
FTP Access
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:32 am

Post by Luthian »

The newest version of the Live Mesh installer for vista does NOT need User Account Control enabled so if you have version 0.9.3103.2 of the installer, it should be much easier to get it to work on longhorn. If no one has the newest installer version, I'll me more than happy to upload it.

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

Luthian wrote:The newest version of the Live Mesh installer for vista does NOT need User Account Control enabled so if you have version 0.9.3103.2 of the installer, it should be much easier to get it to work on longhorn. If no one has the newest installer version, I'll me more than happy to upload it.
That is the one included. However, UAC is only disabled on SP1, due to technical limitations, UAC must still be enabled on earlier builds, and of course, 6.0.4074 will fall into this category.

saeedsaf
FTP Access
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:32 am

Post by saeedsaf »

well why dont u guys try to change the build number from the registry, makes alot of changes, and try to change the OS name to windows xp or vista.

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

saeedsaf wrote:well why dont u guys try to change the build number from the registry, makes alot of changes, and try to change the OS name to windows xp or vista.
You'd need more than that. The registry doesn't affect anything anyway (it's a misconception that it does), it simply reads the version from system files, but you don't really want to be messing with version numbers on system files too much, that just opens a whole new mess.

Anyway, I think I'm getting closer. I need the registry from XP now, which i guess I'm gonna have to do myself in another VM

saeedsaf
FTP Access
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:32 am

Post by saeedsaf »

hounsell wrote:
saeedsaf wrote:well why dont u guys try to change the build number from the registry, makes alot of changes, and try to change the OS name to windows xp or vista.
You'd need more than that. The registry doesn't affect anything anyway (it's a misconception that it does), it simply reads the version from system files, but you don't really want to be messing with version numbers on system files too much, that just opens a whole new mess.

Anyway, I think I'm getting closer. I need the registry from XP now, which i guess I'm gonna have to do myself in another VM
Well good luck, too bad I wont be able to help cuz I lack alot of skillz:(, maybe nxt time:p.

logicaL
FTP Access
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Post by logicaL »

I have an idea, but I need to get 4074 running in a VM. Simple fix really I hope.

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

This thread may come to be the most popular thread of the month.

Even I, the boring, unorganized BA user, may try to allocate some time for this competition.
Image

Post Reply