BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 7d, 20h, 16m | CPU: 38% | MEM: 2949MB of 8095MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Competion: Win 300$ for cracking Microsoft Live Mesh        Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 11:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:29 pm

Posts
1009

Location
Sweden

Favourite OS
OSX
Hi,

In agreement with Andy, i hereby start a new competition, where my company will award the first to crack/Modify the "Microsoft Live Mesh" client to successfully run 100% on a Longhorn 4074 with 300$ on any account of hes desire - in the spirit of fun, here is the requirements :

(1) Workable installation guide
(2) It must fully work
(3) It must not break any of Longhorn other functionality

do it within the next 12 hours, and receive a special surprise bonus.

With Kind Regards,
Leon Bollerup
www.startforce.com

ps.
For any questions, please send mail to mail@r2x2.com



LINKS :

Live Mesh, 32bit client: http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/LiveMesh-x32.zip

Taken from Windows XP Installation:

From C:\Documents and Settings\<user>\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Live Mesh :

http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/UP_LiveMesh.zip

From C:\Program Files\Live Mesh :

http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/P_LiveMesh.zip

Exported reg.keys from a 32bit installation on Wndows XP:

http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/reg_livemesh.zip


Last edited by leonbollerup on Fri Jul 18, 2008 6:44 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 11:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Just to confirm I did authorise this. Leon keeps to his promises. If you make a guide that works, you will get paid the prize money.

Have fun guys. :D

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 11:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
599

Location
Vienna, Austria
NVM, already working on it. I think i found a solutuon for it 8)

oh, do I REALLY have to write a guide? even if you just have to use it?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Live Mesh Client        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:43 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:29 pm

Posts
1009

Location
Sweden

Favourite OS
OSX
The LiveMesh Client can be found at :

http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/LiveMesh-x32.zip

_________________
Regards,
Leon Bollerup - BA VIP Member

Run OSX on a pc - Ahsay backup monitoring - Online Backup


Last edited by leonbollerup on Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:45 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Do you mean crack the security, i.e. get into someone else's account?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:20 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
599

Location
Vienna, Austria
mdogg wrote:
Do you mean crack the security, i.e. get into someone else's account?


no he means to get it working lh.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:36 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Ludacris wrote:
mdogg wrote:
Do you mean crack the security, i.e. get into someone else's account?


no he means to get it working lh.

:oops: , I didn't read the post properly.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:50 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
599

Location
Vienna, Austria
Capture the setup in an Virtual machine with Thinstall.

Install the net framework 2/3 on Longhorn (using that guide: http://www.joejoe.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=14115)

Copy the captured exe to your longhorn system and run it.
Should work.. Im too tired and in a rush so i cant test it. I will test it tomorrow.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:04 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
Now this is a way to wake up the community :-D

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:20 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
4tified wrote:
Now this is a way to wake up the community :-D

Yes, but seeing that it expires in 12 hours, a lot of forum members will suffer from shock horror.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Jan 30, 2007 5:45 am

Posts
936

Location
New Zealand
mdogg wrote:
4tified wrote:
Now this is a way to wake up the community :-D

Yes, but seeing that it expires in 12 hours, a lot of forum members will suffer from shock horror.

Yes but thats the speical prize not the main one.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 4:11 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
win98 wrote:
mdogg wrote:
4tified wrote:
Now this is a way to wake up the community :-D

Yes, but seeing that it expires in 12 hours, a lot of forum members will suffer from shock horror.

Yes but thats the speical prize not the main one.

Some users will be shock horrored not to get the special prize. There are people who need just a little bit more...

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Using thinstall will fail        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 5:16 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:29 pm

Posts
1009

Location
Sweden

Favourite OS
OSX
Hi,

Using thinstall will fail for several reasons :

1) You need a service running to provide the constant updates
2) When you run the thinstall, you get a error "Vista RTM Restriction"

Point of advice, Livemesh.exe thinks Longhorn is a vista system, setting to run as XP dosent make much of a change either.

L.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:35 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
I got it working on a Portuguese XP Starter Edition... lol

I will install lh4074 now and try it...

Image

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 11:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
:o
12 hours is almost up so anyone who wants that special bonus had better hurry up.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Advice and time extention        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 2:28 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:29 pm

Posts
1009

Location
Sweden

Favourite OS
OSX
Hi,

I got a tip that might be work to try :

1) Install livemesh.exe on a Windows XP machine
2) Copy all files to LH machine
3) manualy move all reg. db settings from XP to LH
4) Manualy add the system service and auto-start items

However, this dosent solve the problem that LH gives the UAC error message


Also, to make this roll a bit more, i am extending :
- Time till Monday morning evening for the special bonus
- Price is Now 300$

Good luck - Leon

_________________
Regards,
Leon Bollerup - BA VIP Member

Run OSX on a pc - Ahsay backup monitoring - Online Backup


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:06 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Damn. I can't believe this happened as I was taking a short break, and I don't have a 4074 install either :o

*gets to work :P

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Links        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:29 pm

Posts
1009

Location
Sweden

Favourite OS
OSX
Live Mesh, 32bit client: http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/LiveMesh-x32.zip

Taken from Windows XP Installation:

From C:\Documents and Settings\<user>\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Live Mesh :

http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/UP_LiveMesh.zip

From C:\Program Files\Live Mesh :

http://www.r2x2.com/mesh/P_LiveMesh.zip

_________________
Regards,
Leon Bollerup - BA VIP Member

Run OSX on a pc - Ahsay backup monitoring - Online Backup


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:56 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:32 am

Posts
263

Favourite OS
Windows 8 7955
The newest version of the Live Mesh installer for vista does NOT need User Account Control enabled so if you have version 0.9.3103.2 of the installer, it should be much easier to get it to work on longhorn. If no one has the newest installer version, I'll me more than happy to upload it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:59 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Luthian wrote:
The newest version of the Live Mesh installer for vista does NOT need User Account Control enabled so if you have version 0.9.3103.2 of the installer, it should be much easier to get it to work on longhorn. If no one has the newest installer version, I'll me more than happy to upload it.


That is the one included. However, UAC is only disabled on SP1, due to technical limitations, UAC must still be enabled on earlier builds, and of course, 6.0.4074 will fall into this category.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:23 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:32 am

Posts
86
well why dont u guys try to change the build number from the registry, makes alot of changes, and try to change the OS name to windows xp or vista.:p


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 11:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
saeedsaf wrote:
well why dont u guys try to change the build number from the registry, makes alot of changes, and try to change the OS name to windows xp or vista.:p


You'd need more than that. The registry doesn't affect anything anyway (it's a misconception that it does), it simply reads the version from system files, but you don't really want to be messing with version numbers on system files too much, that just opens a whole new mess.

Anyway, I think I'm getting closer. I need the registry from XP now, which i guess I'm gonna have to do myself in another VM :(

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 11:25 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:32 am

Posts
86
hounsell wrote:
saeedsaf wrote:
well why dont u guys try to change the build number from the registry, makes alot of changes, and try to change the OS name to windows xp or vista.:p


You'd need more than that. The registry doesn't affect anything anyway (it's a misconception that it does), it simply reads the version from system files, but you don't really want to be messing with version numbers on system files too much, that just opens a whole new mess.

Anyway, I think I'm getting closer. I need the registry from XP now, which i guess I'm gonna have to do myself in another VM :(

Well good luck, too bad I wont be able to help cuz I lack alot of skillz:(, maybe nxt time:p.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:43 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Posts
303
I have an idea, but I need to get 4074 running in a VM. Simple fix really I hope.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
This thread may come to be the most popular thread of the month.

Even I, the boring, unorganized BA user, may try to allocate some time for this competition.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS