BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 7d, 17h, 54m | CPU: 30% | MEM: 2040MB of 3535MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: How to find out if Vista is activated        Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 11:07 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Recently (yesterday in fact), I downloaded Windows Vista via torrents and burned it to a disc. Then I wrote down a serial for it that I found off the internet. After successfully installing Vista and installing drivers, I noticed that it hadn't asked me to activate it yet. Also, but during setup, I had accidentally left the "Automatically activate Windows when connected to the internet". So I'm wondering if Windows has already been activated or not. Is there any way to find out if Windows is activated?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 11:10 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
It's at the bottom of the System Control Panel - the automatic activation usually happens a few days later, it should say how many days are left until it will attempt to activate. It won't start putting reminders in your system tray until more of the 30 days has gone.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 11:14 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7211
Press Start, right click on My Computer, choose Properties. Scroll to the bottom. There is a whole section called "Windows activation" where it tells you your Product ID and if it's activated or not.

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: Online :: Offline
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 11:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Thanks. It turns out I still have 30 days to activate. Unfortunately, my serial is "invalid for activation" so it looks like I'll have to use a crack or something.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 11:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
mdogg wrote:
my serial is "invalid for activation"

Not exactly surprising... ;) You might be better with the Enterprise version of Vista as you don't have to crack it then, just point it at a KMS online.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:53 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
If you get lucky you maybe able to patch your bios :D

Honestly, its easy just to re-arm. After your re-arms are up you probably will want to reinstall windows anyways :D

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:03 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
I don't know if I want to download Vista again as the download quotas for internet in Australia aren't exactly the best around.

So I used "slmgr.exe -upk" to remove my product key because that's what the instructions for the crack told me to do. Then I rebooted the computer only to be greeted by the following screen:
Image
Using the "Go online to validate that your software is genuine" link, I was able to open Firefox and write this message. I was also able to open "explorer.exe" leading to the following:
Image
Lol, loophole.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 2:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
What i did with vista was install it with no serial key, then run a bios crack.
Bios cracks arent hard to find, if i remember correctly the one i used is on mininova, and it replaces the serial for you.
Other people will prolly disagree, but i think you'd do best to re-install windows with no serial.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 2:49 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Don't install Vista with a key...
mdogg, check your PM's :wink:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 3:31 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
jabster wrote:
What i did with vista was install it with no serial key, then run a bios crack.
Bios cracks arent hard to find, if i remember correctly the one i used is on mininova, and it replaces the serial for you.
Other people will prolly disagree, but i think you'd do best to re-install windows with no serial.

I tried using this without re-installing as I don't really want to re-install Windows. It just gave me a message at the bottom right corner of the screen telling me, with the build number, that the copy of Windows wasn't genuine. Uninstalling the BIOS crack seemed to do away with this message.

Either way, I just typed in my old serial and did the StopTimer trick. It seemed to work. However I think that the BIOS thing may have been a bit more efficient.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 11:05 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
The Stoptimer trick works until 120 days.

Buy a new Vista one (90€ for Home Premium and 150€), and System-builder version, the only difference between the normal and System Builder:

1) You must sell the machine (well, dont they dont find out)
2) Only the DVD-Booklet-License is with it, the only thing in normal is the very expensive box.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 8:56 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Yeh, that is a way to log on with it unactivated, though you won't be able to open Control Panel and you can't close the activation window. There is a way to get unlimited re-arms where you set a registry key each time before doing it that stops the next re-arm from counting (you get only 3 ie 120 days otherwise), you might want to try that assuming they haven't stopped it (it was all official though, documented on the MS website and everything albeit in a way that was difficult to understand and not making it obvious what it means).

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS