BetaArchive
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/

Vista 5112 Aero in Vmware
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=4750
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Namronia [ Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Vista 5112 Aero in Vmware

well, i saw that the latest vmware 6.5 beta supports dx9.0c, so i thought i may get aero on it, i installed 5112, all drivers and so on, also done the registry tweaks, activated the 9.0c thing, but nothing works with aero :(

the graphic adapter has (according to 9xdiag and some other things in vmware) 128mb,

my real pc has a dx10 with 256 mb,

why doesnt it work? anyone had luck now?

Image

Author:  OG [ Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:30 pm ]
Post subject: 

Aero isnt supported in VMWare.

Author:  Namronia [ Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:31 pm ]
Post subject: 

OG wrote:
Aero isnt supported in VMWare.


in old versions not, but well, why it cannot be done with 128 mb of VMWARE GRAPHICS ADAPTER (not real one, i know the difference...) and Dx9.0c? that usually should be enough...

and vmware 6.5 beta 2 supports both...

also they made those dx9 dialogs just for fun right? :P

Image

Author:  happy dude [ Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:37 pm ]
Post subject: 

because the graphics card is emulated?

Author:  Namronia [ Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:39 pm ]
Post subject: 

happy dude wrote:
because the graphics card is emulated?


sure it is, thats clear to me, but it has 128 mb and directx9.0c, isnt that enough to work with aero? 8-)

Author:  OG [ Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:39 pm ]
Post subject: 

happy dude wrote:
because the graphics card is emulated?


Indeed. Both VMWare and VPC lack the necessary hardware virtualization required to run Aero. VMWare are supposed to be working on it though.

Author:  Beta_Vistaglass [ Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:51 pm ]
Post subject: 

And what software supports hardware virtualization?

Author:  OG [ Sun Jun 29, 2008 4:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

Both use virtualization, but nothing good enough to run Aero. Neither the VMWare Graphics Apadpter or the emulated S3 Virage are capable of rendering Aero, and why you'd want to in a VM anyway is beyond me. You'd be better off setting aside a 20-30gb partition or two for installing Vista, at least then you're using proper hardware with proper drivers. Not as convenient as a VM, but you have to comprimise somewhere.

Author:  fred30w [ Wed Aug 20, 2008 9:13 pm ]
Post subject: 

[quote="OG"]Both use virtualization, but nothing good enough to run Aero. Neither the VMWare Graphics Apadpter or the emulated S3 Virage are capable of rendering Aero, and why you'd want to in a VM anyway is beyond me. You'd be better off setting aside a 20-30gb partition or two for installing Vista, at least then you're using proper hardware with proper drivers. Not as convenient as a VM, but you have to comprimise somewhere.[/quote]The card emulated in VPC is an S3 Trio 32\64, not a S3 virage. When you install VM Additions, the card drivers turn to a VM Additions S3 Trio 32\64, which can support more resolutions. Make sure to install VM Additions when running Longhorn. That way you can get another resolution except 640 by 480 and 4-bit color. Plus, Longhorn is VERY LAGGY without the VM Additions.

Author:  XDude [ Wed Aug 20, 2008 9:28 pm ]
Post subject: 

longhorn is different than vista

Author:  darthtk118 [ Thu Aug 21, 2008 2:06 am ]
Post subject: 

I was doing some research into this a while back, and discovered an interesting way to get glass out of a virtual machine. I haven't done this, so I'm not sure if it works, but it supposedly has for others. You would set up a virtual network with the VM and the physical PC, do a remote desktop connection from the physical PC to the VM, and if the settings are correct, you could get glass.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/