BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 0d, 15h, 30m | CPU: 40% | MEM: 2418MB of 3697MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Vista 5112 Aero in Vmware        Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:20 pm 
Reply with quote
well, i saw that the latest vmware 6.5 beta supports dx9.0c, so i thought i may get aero on it, i installed 5112, all drivers and so on, also done the registry tweaks, activated the 9.0c thing, but nothing works with aero :(

the graphic adapter has (according to 9xdiag and some other things in vmware) 128mb,

my real pc has a dx10 with 256 mb,

why doesnt it work? anyone had luck now?

Image


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
Aero isnt supported in VMWare.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:31 pm 
Reply with quote
OG wrote:
Aero isnt supported in VMWare.


in old versions not, but well, why it cannot be done with 128 mb of VMWARE GRAPHICS ADAPTER (not real one, i know the difference...) and Dx9.0c? that usually should be enough...

and vmware 6.5 beta 2 supports both...

also they made those dx9 dialogs just for fun right? :P

Image


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:37 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
because the graphics card is emulated?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:39 pm 
Reply with quote
happy dude wrote:
because the graphics card is emulated?


sure it is, thats clear to me, but it has 128 mb and directx9.0c, isnt that enough to work with aero? 8-)


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:39 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
happy dude wrote:
because the graphics card is emulated?


Indeed. Both VMWare and VPC lack the necessary hardware virtualization required to run Aero. VMWare are supposed to be working on it though.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:51 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jun 02, 2008 1:06 pm

Posts
74

Location
St.Petersburg, Russia
And what software supports hardware virtualization?


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 4:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
Both use virtualization, but nothing good enough to run Aero. Neither the VMWare Graphics Apadpter or the emulated S3 Virage are capable of rendering Aero, and why you'd want to in a VM anyway is beyond me. You'd be better off setting aside a 20-30gb partition or two for installing Vista, at least then you're using proper hardware with proper drivers. Not as convenient as a VM, but you have to comprimise somewhere.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 9:13 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 19, 2008 1:28 am

Posts
128
[quote="OG"]Both use virtualization, but nothing good enough to run Aero. Neither the VMWare Graphics Apadpter or the emulated S3 Virage are capable of rendering Aero, and why you'd want to in a VM anyway is beyond me. You'd be better off setting aside a 20-30gb partition or two for installing Vista, at least then you're using proper hardware with proper drivers. Not as convenient as a VM, but you have to comprimise somewhere.[/quote]The card emulated in VPC is an S3 Trio 32\64, not a S3 virage. When you install VM Additions, the card drivers turn to a VM Additions S3 Trio 32\64, which can support more resolutions. Make sure to install VM Additions when running Longhorn. That way you can get another resolution except 640 by 480 and 4-bit color. Plus, Longhorn is VERY LAGGY without the VM Additions.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 9:28 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
longhorn is different than vista


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 2:06 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 13, 2008 7:20 pm

Posts
164

Location
Where The Streets Have No Name

Favourite OS
Windows 7
I was doing some research into this a while back, and discovered an interesting way to get glass out of a virtual machine. I haven't done this, so I'm not sure if it works, but it supposedly has for others. You would set up a virtual network with the VM and the physical PC, do a remote desktop connection from the physical PC to the VM, and if the settings are correct, you could get glass.


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS