BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 24d, 10h, 47m | CPU: 41% | MEM: 5756MB of 10984MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows 7 M1 RAM        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 3:01 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
Hey all!
Once I read that Windows 7 M1 occupied less RAM. This was when we saw the first low resolution screenshots. Is it true?
I heard it takes 500 megs more less.
I ask cuz I want to test it on a Laptop I don't use any more.
Thanks!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 3:09 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1524

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
Well, It'd take about what Vista uses. I've seen vista's useage climb to 500+mb on boot anyway.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Its only takes 300MB here.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 8:10 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
600

Location
Vienna, Austria
It uses way less Ram&CPU than vista.. My ram is usually @ ~15% of 2 GB :P


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:09 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Vista uses all but 100mb of my 4GB of RAM in my desktop after booting :P 3.6GB of that is caching mind you ;)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:58 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Posts
303
I think mine at most was using around 1GB of my 3.5ish GB of RAM. This is perfectly fine for me, since the most RAM a single application (TF2) uses is around 1.3GB so I have a good 1.2~ GB of RAM to spare :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:14 pm 
Reply with quote
I tried 384MB Ram in VMWare, runs perfect, ~280MB on start.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:17 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 13, 2008 7:20 pm

Posts
164

Location
Where The Streets Have No Name

Favourite OS
Windows 7
It's been running a lot smoother than Vista on my machine as well.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 8:46 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Andy wrote:
Vista uses all but 100mb of my 4GB of RAM in my desktop after booting :P 3.6GB of that is caching mind you ;)

Strange, mine only uses 30% of the available memory, I wonder why it's different when its the same caching system and amount of memory? I've never seen it use that much, most people seem to find it takes about 1 GB on high-end systems and less on ones with lower memory.


Note that "how much memory does Windows Vista/7" use is not an especially useful question unless you are comparing it across systems/VMs that have the same amount of memory, as if you have more available memory it will use more, so someone finding 7 in a VM uses less memory than Vista natively will fund that because the VM has a fraction of the memory available to their Vista, for instance.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 8:48 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:56 pm

Posts
177

Location
Serbia

Favourite OS
Windows Lupus Project
When it gets activated it will be a default, better and smoother then Vista.

_________________
May our software be open-source, and our women closed-source.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 9:26 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
You can't just ask how much memory it uses. The system allots itself RAM, this amount scales to the amount you have available. Maybe we could load it into a virtual machine and slowly reduce the RAM until it starts using the pagefile. Then we'll know how much RAM it needs to run with a clean install.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:28 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:08 am

Posts
819

Location
Malaysia
on Virtual PC 2007 SP1 with 1GB of RAM, Windows 7 M1 uses 340MB of RAM after boot, and only 11 processes running (as listed on the Task Manager's Processes tab...


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
I tested it with 512MB Ram.

300MB it only takes

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 9:02 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:09 am

Posts
411

Favourite OS
Windows 7
Windows 7 M1 takes pretty much the same RAM like vista...
Remember, this early build still acts like Vista in most cases.

Maybe in M2/M3 there will be some changes, but not early then that.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 9:38 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:08 am

Posts
819

Location
Malaysia
Daniel1981 wrote:
Windows 7 M1 takes pretty much the same RAM like vista...
Remember, this early build still acts like Vista in most cases.

Maybe in M2/M3 there will be some changes, but not early then that.


yep, that's for sure and just a side note, vLite can remove components from M1, but the bootable DVD didn't work...


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 11:59 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:09 am

Posts
411

Favourite OS
Windows 7
Of Course the Bootable DVD dont work after you edit it with vLite.
vLite contains the boot files for Windows Vista, but not for Windows 7.
As I checked the Win7 boot files, I noticed some changes in it.

So, about vLite, there is no chance it will work with Windows 7, & its not recommended... You dont know what it might do to the Win7 DVD...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:08 am

Posts
819

Location
Malaysia
Daniel1981 wrote:
Of Course the Bootable DVD dont work after you edit it with vLite.
vLite contains the boot files for Windows Vista, but not for Windows 7.
As I checked the Win7 boot files, I noticed some changes in it.

So, about vLite, there is no chance it will work with Windows 7, & its not recommended... You dont know what it might do to the Win7 DVD...

no it's not, vLite does not contain boot files for Vista. Vista (and Windows 7) boot files are stored in boot.wim, the DVD can boot, but when the background appears, it just load cursor, and nothing happens for the next 60 minutes... I tried with both attended and unattended settings... Do correct me if I'm wrong... 8-|


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS