BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 7d, 18h, 59m | CPU: 43% | MEM: 2024MB of 4631MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: 64-bit Windows 3.0 shorthorn        Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 7:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm

Posts
524

Location
Monson, MA

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
Hello,
I was liven a link to a ftp site with betas <a>http://www.anotherworld.eu.org/Anonymous_FTP/Lost_SoftWare/Operating_System/Microsoft_Beta/</a> that said it had a 64-bit version of Windows 3.0 (codenamed shorthorn).
I was wondering if this was legit as I couldn't find anything on it in neither wikipedia nor through google. Thanks!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: 64-bit Windows 3.0 shorthorn        Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 7:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
nickenzi wrote:
Hello,
I was liven a link to a ftp site with betas <a>http://www.anotherworld.eu.org/Anonymous_FTP/Lost_SoftWare/Operating_System/Microsoft_Beta/</a> that said it had a 64-bit version of Windows 3.0 (codenamed shorthorn).
I was wondering if this was legit as I couldn't find anything on it in neither wikipedia nor through google. Thanks!


Lol, is this serious?

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 9:38 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:44 am

Posts
216

Location
Poland
Haha. Someone played a good joke on you.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 10:15 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:33 pm

Posts
3899

Location
Where do you want to go today?

Favourite OS
All Microsoft operating systems!
I agree with gracz54. The whole thing is a stupid joke. By the way, I don't think there's such a word as "Shorthorn". I could be wrong, but it seems to just be "Longhorn" with "Long" replaced with "Short".


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 10:27 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2404
Quote:
64-bit version of Windows 3.0


It's 16-bit.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 10:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Mar 18, 2007 12:41 am

Posts
140

Location
New York
yes. who would want to run Windows 3.0 on modern machines? That is a stupid joke!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 11:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:33 pm

Posts
3899

Location
Where do you want to go today?

Favourite OS
All Microsoft operating systems!
rws7 wrote:
yes. who would want to run Windows 3.0 on modern machines? That is a stupid joke!
Dirk Makowski (at winhistory.de) once ran Windows 3.1 on a 64 Bit PC for the fun of it. It only booted up in Standard Mode! :P


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 1:23 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
wow what a stupid joke, shorthorn


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 9:18 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
599

Location
Vienna, Austria
Shorthorn existed in MS's heads...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 10:08 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:44 am

Posts
216

Location
Poland
No, actually it didn't.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 2:11 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
As far as I know Shorthorn was an update for Windows XP which was planned to be released between Longhorn and Win XP, but it was only a plan from Microsoft, they've never compiled anything...

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 4:55 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm

Posts
524

Location
Monson, MA

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
so is it valid?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 5:09 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
No. Its a load of crap.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 6:44 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:56 pm

Posts
177

Location
Serbia

Favourite OS
Windows Lupus Project
http://unboxedsolutions.com/sean/archiv ... 8/182.aspx

_________________
May our software be open-source, and our women closed-source.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue May 06, 2008 1:52 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:20 pm

Posts
35
Probably win 3.x on an Alpha?
Shorthorn still sounds fishy touth.

_________________
rm -R *


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 2:49 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm

Posts
524

Location
Monson, MA

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
I installed it on my EM64T machine within MS-DOS 6.00 and it identified itself as Windows 3.00. I would have done more poking around with it, but I didn't feel like navigating by keyboard because Windows crashed whenever I told it to use a mouse. I finally just gave up and reformatted it. It did run in 386 Enhanced mode, though.
Oh well. It would've been nice to play with.

_________________
............................Visit my gopher site!
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 7:31 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Windows 3 is not made for x64 computers, actions like that can BRAKE your computer.

Stick to XP/Vista and install DOS 6 and Windows 3 into Virtual PC.

Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 is free.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=04d26402-3199-48a3-afa2-2dc0b40a73b6&DisplayLang=en

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 10:29 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I don't think you can break a computer by installing software on it - yes, you'd screw up any copies of Windows that were already on there, but nothing more than that :P

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 5:58 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:49 pm

Posts
178

Location
Southampton, UK

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Business
haha shorthorn :P

_________________
[url=uk.linkedin.com/in/jakemchugh/]Connect on Linkedin[/url]
|
Follow on Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon May 12, 2008 3:17 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm

Posts
524

Location
Monson, MA

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
DjRob wrote:
Windows 3 is not made for x64 computers, actions like that can BRAKE your computer.

Stick to XP/Vista and install DOS 6 and Windows 3 into Virtual PC.

Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 is free.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=04d26402-3199-48a3-afa2-2dc0b40a73b6&DisplayLang=en


sorry about that, i should've clarified first.

I did try it in vpc first, but it crashed whenever i started win.com (probably the mouse issue). That's why I tried it in my pc. I installed on a spare hard drive hooked up to the ide channel. (my vista installation was safe because dos doesn't recognize ntfs partitions and the spare was already formatted with FAT16.)

_________________
............................Visit my gopher site!
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon May 12, 2008 8:14 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
When using VPC with windows 3.0 you will need to use:
Code:
/r


Then in VPC it works.

In VMWare it works with just win.com without /r.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS