BetaArchive
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/

Windows 10 threshold start menu on Windows 10 RTM
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=41283
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Jake harrison [ Mon May 18, 2020 3:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Windows 10 threshold start menu on Windows 10 RTM

Hi I'm wondering if it's possible to port the start menu from server 2016 build 10074 to windows 10 rtm, I've been trying to port the start menu from build 9785 to windows 8.1 but haven't had any luck, I think it would be easier to bring back the old start menu to windows 10 RTM rather than adding a feature that hasn't existed before into windows 8.1.

Author:  Meow [ Mon May 18, 2020 4:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows 10 threshold start menu on Windows 10 RTM

Try replacing the XAML menu in 10240 with the server 10074 one and see what happens.

Author:  AlphaBeta [ Mon May 18, 2020 6:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows 10 threshold start menu on Windows 10 RTM

Meow wrote:
Try replacing the XAML menu in 10240 with the server 10074 one and see what happens.

...and you'd do that how exactly?

Author:  Meow [ Mon May 18, 2020 8:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows 10 threshold start menu on Windows 10 RTM

AlphaBeta wrote:
...and you'd do that how exactly?

I don’t know, maybe replacing the Resources.pri file with 10074’s in ShellExperienceHost’s folder?

10074 and 10240 aren’t all that different interface-wise.

Author:  Jake harrison [ Tue May 19, 2020 11:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows 10 threshold start menu on Windows 10 RTM

Meow wrote:
AlphaBeta wrote:
...and you'd do that how exactly?

I don’t know, maybe replacing the Resources.pri file with 10074’s in ShellExperienceHost’s folder?

10074 and 10240 aren’t all that different interface-wise.

i've looked in C:\Windows\SystemApps folder in windows server 2016 build 10074 but only see Spartan_cw5n1h2txyewy are you talking about another ShellExperienceHost’s folder? maybe the menu is linked to explorer.exe if so ive removed the digital signature from server 10074's explorer.exe and ran it on 10240 but i get this error
Image

Author:  Meow [ Tue May 19, 2020 4:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows 10 threshold start menu on Windows 10 RTM

Try using the Windows 10 10074 and not the server one.

Author:  Jake harrison [ Tue May 19, 2020 5:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows 10 threshold start menu on Windows 10 RTM

Meow wrote:
Try using the Windows 10 10074 and not the server one.

Client build 10074 doesn't have the old start menu.

Author:  Meow [ Tue May 19, 2020 6:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows 10 threshold start menu on Windows 10 RTM

Jake harrison wrote:
Meow wrote:
Try using the Windows 10 10074 and not the server one.

Client build 10074 doesn't have the old start menu.

Oh, you wanted the 9841 menu? Now that is unfortunately impossible unless you have access to the windows source code or you want to replace a truck load of dlls and stuff and make 10240 into a broken mix between server 2016 10074 and Windows 10 RTM. You’d be better off using server 2016 10074.

Author:  Magirus - Deutz [ Thu May 21, 2020 12:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows 10 threshold start menu on Windows 10 RTM

I had seen 8.1 Update 1 start screen running on Windows 10 RTM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cT4SrOqutxg

Maybe it can be brought with this method.
If the codes are completely removed in DLLs, then just not work

Author:  yourepicfailure [ Thu May 21, 2020 12:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows 10 threshold start menu on Windows 10 RTM

No. The reason the start screen is enableable is because MS left the code for the Start Screen in RTM. It just needed tweaking to enable it. Similar to 8RTM, which still had enough code that 7's explorer could be brought in.

In the case of 8.1, the code for the start menu did not exist yet.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/