BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 26d, 0h, 50m | CPU: 15% | MEM: 5670MB of 11102MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta version?        Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:06 pm

Posts
89

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
I want to display the full watermark on the bottom right with build lab and "hash tag" (hash of the product key and build lab seen since build 7955 of Windows 8) so how can I make Windows display that full build string? This does not mean PaintDesktopVersion or DisplayVersion as those only display Build 9600. I want the full build string shown at the bottom right like beta versions of Windows 8. How would I go about doing that?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:36 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Jun 26, 2016 11:46 am

Posts
175

Favourite OS
Windows LH era
I do think that if you do Windows + R and then typing "winver" shows you the full build tag.

_________________
S.A.

Releases done so far : 21
Member of Microsoft France's House of Fans (^^)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:51 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:06 pm

Posts
89

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Windows XP, that’s true. Windows Vista and newer, nope, not on final


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:25 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Jun 26, 2016 11:46 am

Posts
175

Favourite OS
Windows LH era
Welp, in Vista (Longhorn build 5384), doing winver did actually show the full build name. Even on install.

Image

_________________
S.A.

Releases done so far : 21
Member of Microsoft France's House of Fans (^^)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:14 am

Posts
107

Location
C:\Users\Applegame12345

Favourite OS
3757, 5758, 5824 + 5840.16389
ShadixAced wrote:
Welp, in Vista (Longhorn build 5384), doing winver did actually show the full build name. Even on install.

Image

Build string was displayed until build 5744.16384.
In fact, 5744.16384 is the last build of Vista that displays build string

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:35 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:27 am

Posts
408

Location
Croatia

Favourite OS
2195.6717 and 1057
That's because the registry value BuildLab in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion probably doesn't have the full build tag written into it. (Not 100% sure, as I no longer have Windows 8/8.1 machines to test this).

I've tried editing the mentioned registry value...

Image

...and it did change the watermark.

Image

_________________
Retro laptop 1 | Compaq Armada 1120 | Pentium 100 | 8MB RAM | 1.4GB HDD | Win95 Pan-Euro
Retro laptop 2 | Toshiba T2130CS | 486DX4 SL 75 | 8MB RAM | 528MB HDD | OS/2 3.0
Hackintosh | HP G62 | Phenom II X4 N950 | 8GB RAM | HD 4550 | 500GB HDD | OS X 10.11


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:38 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:14 am

Posts
107

Location
C:\Users\Applegame12345

Favourite OS
3757, 5758, 5824 + 5840.16389
Zv45Beta wrote:
That's because the registry value BuildLab in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion probably doesn't have the full build tag written into it. (Not 100% sure, as I no longer have Windows 8/8.1 machines to test this).

I've tried editing the mentioned registry value...

Image

...and it did change the watermark.

Image

This doesn't work on 8 and 8.1

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:38 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:14 am

Posts
107

Location
C:\Users\Applegame12345

Favourite OS
3757, 5758, 5824 + 5840.16389
Zv45Beta wrote:
That's because the registry value BuildLab in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion probably doesn't have the full build tag written into it. (Not 100% sure, as I no longer have Windows 8/8.1 machines to test this).

I've tried editing the mentioned registry value...

Image

...and it did change the watermark.

Image

This doesn't work on 8 and 8.1

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:00 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:49 pm

Posts
178

Location
GMT +2

Favourite OS
4050Build.Aero
Zv45Beta wrote:
That's because the registry value BuildLab in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion probably doesn't have the full build tag written into it. (Not 100% sure, as I no longer have Windows 8/8.1 machines to test this).

I've tried editing the mentioned registry value...

Image

...and it did change the watermark.

Image

Offtopic Comment
Great! Now everybody can make a fake beta of Windows *hehe*

_________________
Image
Want to complete my Longhorn pre-5231 Wallpaper collection? PM me! I will be sharing them on the forum soon.
Have any info about Longhorn pre-reset Aero? Be sure to notify me! I am particularly interested in builds such as private 4050 and 4074!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:14 am

Posts
107

Location
C:\Users\Applegame12345

Favourite OS
3757, 5758, 5824 + 5840.16389
ATeamInc wrote:
Zv45Beta wrote:
That's because the registry value BuildLab in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion probably doesn't have the full build tag written into it. (Not 100% sure, as I no longer have Windows 8/8.1 machines to test this).

I've tried editing the mentioned registry value...

Image

...and it did change the watermark.

Image

Offtopic Comment
Great! Now everybody can make a fake beta of Windows *hehe*

Offtopic Comment
Try this *hehe* *hehe*

Image

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:41 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:06 pm

Posts
89

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Applegame, what you described in your picture is exactly what I want to do? How did you do that? Did you do what Zv45Beta did or something else?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:34 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:14 am

Posts
107

Location
C:\Users\Applegame12345

Favourite OS
3757, 5758, 5824 + 5840.16389
AS95678 wrote:
Applegame, what you described in your picture is exactly what I want to do? How did you do that? Did you do what Zv45Beta did or something else?

I did something else :D

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:10 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:49 pm

Posts
178

Location
GMT +2

Favourite OS
4050Build.Aero
Applegame12345 wrote:
AS95678 wrote:
Applegame, what you described in your picture is exactly what I want to do? How did you do that? Did you do what Zv45Beta did or something else?

I did something else :D

And... What is it then? You won't tell us, will you?

_________________
Image
Want to complete my Longhorn pre-5231 Wallpaper collection? PM me! I will be sharing them on the forum soon.
Have any info about Longhorn pre-reset Aero? Be sure to notify me! I am particularly interested in builds such as private 4050 and 4074!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:06 pm

Posts
89

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Applegame, could you PM me the method you used? I understand if you don’t want to though. If you can, PM me how you did that


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:32 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:27 am

Posts
408

Location
Croatia

Favourite OS
2195.6717 and 1057
Applegame12345 wrote:
Zv45Beta wrote:
That's because the registry value BuildLab in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion probably doesn't have the full build tag written into it. (Not 100% sure, as I no longer have Windows 8/8.1 machines to test this).

I've tried editing the mentioned registry value...

Image

...and it did change the watermark.

Image

This doesn't work on 8 and 8.1


It works on 8.x if you write the full build tag into values CurrentBuild and CurrentBuildNumber
Image

_________________
Retro laptop 1 | Compaq Armada 1120 | Pentium 100 | 8MB RAM | 1.4GB HDD | Win95 Pan-Euro
Retro laptop 2 | Toshiba T2130CS | 486DX4 SL 75 | 8MB RAM | 528MB HDD | OS/2 3.0
Hackintosh | HP G62 | Phenom II X4 N950 | 8GB RAM | HD 4550 | 500GB HDD | OS X 10.11


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 2:05 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:06 pm

Posts
89

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Zv45Beta, i've tried that, editing it both on an offline and online instance of windows 8.1, it still changes back to default on the next reboot. I'm looking more for what Applegame did.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:09 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:19 pm

Posts
1795

Location
shell32.dll
For displaying BuildLab on the desktop watermark on pre-[whatever build it was that made it default], a better approach is to edit shell32.dll directly. It will require disabling some integrity checks (at least "bcdedit /set nointegritychecks on", I can't remember if others are needed as well, it's been a while), but It is a simple string edit with your favorite hex editor. Note that pre-8.0 and post-XP, the watermark was done in a different DLL (can't remember which one).

EDIT: I remembered wrong. Disabling integrity checks is not needed for this simple edit.

_________________
Windows Defender for great justice! Bugs are an international trading company. I need to defeat the anti-debugging and obfuscation methods. It wasn't for Intel's absurd ability to load in ie6. Why even waste time with people in an envelope?


Last edited by Wheatley on Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 4:31 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:26 am

Posts
279

Location
Tlajomulco de Zuñiga, Jalisco, Mexico.

Favourite OS
Windows Longhorn 6.0.4093
Tecnhically, adding a timebomb, should also work. But AFAIK, recent Windows wouldn't accept this, since they don't provide the install date, which would make the timebomb to always "explode" (Unless it's an infinite timebomb).

_________________
Emulation + Virtualization = Perfection (Infinity war *hehe* )
Mi sitio web para hispano hablantes (Y para alguno que otro angloparlante). Encendido de 10-2 am y de 8-11 pm UTC -6 Mexico)
Linux will fall soon in favor of something better...


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 4:46 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:14 am

Posts
107

Location
C:\Users\Applegame12345

Favourite OS
3757, 5758, 5824 + 5840.16389
SistemaRayoXP wrote:
Tecnhically, adding a timebomb, should also work. But AFAIK, recent Windows wouldn't accept this, since they don't provide the install date, which would make the timebomb to always "explode" (Unless it's an infinite timebomb).

There are builds with timebomb and without build string in winver (5754, 7000, 7100, 8250, 8400, 9431, 9841-9888, 9913-9926, 10031-10166)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 5:01 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:26 am

Posts
279

Location
Tlajomulco de Zuñiga, Jalisco, Mexico.

Favourite OS
Windows Longhorn 6.0.4093
Of course, but I'm answering the question directly, I mean, with a timebomb Windows actually thinks it's a beta

_________________
Emulation + Virtualization = Perfection (Infinity war *hehe* )
Mi sitio web para hispano hablantes (Y para alguno que otro angloparlante). Encendido de 10-2 am y de 8-11 pm UTC -6 Mexico)
Linux will fall soon in favor of something better...


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:29 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:19 pm

Posts
1795

Location
shell32.dll
SistemaRayoXP wrote:
Of course, but I'm answering the question directly, I mean, with a timebomb Windows actually thinks it's a beta

No, it makes Windows an evaluation copy. Evaluation copy ≠ pre-release. There have been several timebombed RTM builds released by Microsoft as trial versions.

_________________
Windows Defender for great justice! Bugs are an international trading company. I need to defeat the anti-debugging and obfuscation methods. It wasn't for Intel's absurd ability to load in ie6. Why even waste time with people in an envelope?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Sat Sep 22, 2018 1:40 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:06 pm

Posts
89

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Hmm, I think what I would have to do to make it a native solution is edit the shell32.dll and it's corresponding MUI file to include the watermark and display it in the same way as the beta versions (cough cough using IDA)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:21 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:06 pm

Posts
89

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Alright status update, I've figured out how to make the watermark show the full build lab (without hardcoding it in the MUI file, just like betas) but.... i'm getting bugcheck c000021a (it's crashing with error Verification of a KnownDLL failed, and further analysis shows it's a hash mismatch, NTSTATUS code c0000428). Does anyone know how to disable integrity checking of KnownDLLs in Windows 8 or to add the hash to the hashes of KnownDLLs?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:38 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:19 pm

Posts
1795

Location
shell32.dll
AS95678 wrote:
Hmm, I think what I would have to do to make it a native solution is edit the shell32.dll and it's corresponding MUI file to include the watermark and display it in the same way as the beta versions (cough cough using IDA)

You don't need to use IDA for a simple string edit. In 8.x all you have to do is search for CurrentBuildNumber in hex (43 00 75 00 72 00 72 00 65 00 6E 00 74 00 42 00 75 00 69 00 6C 00 64 00 4E 00 75 00 6D 00 62 00 65 00 72) with your favorite hex editor (I like HxD), and replace that with BuildLab (make sure you preserve the 00 bytes between the letters!). Then simply zero out the leftover parts of "CurrentBuildNumber". It's important that the file size does not change, so don't delete anything!

For example:
Image
->
Image

AS95678 wrote:
Alright status update, I've figured out how to make the watermark show the full build lab (without hardcoding it in the MUI file, just like betas) but.... i'm getting bugcheck c000021a (it's crashing with error Verification of a KnownDLL failed, and further analysis shows it's a hash mismatch, NTSTATUS code c0000428). Does anyone know how to disable integrity checking of KnownDLLs in Windows 8 or to add the hash to the hashes of KnownDLLs?

To me this sounds like you're simply patching the file incorrectly, as I was able to use the above method without issues on both 8.0 and 8.1. The same method works even in 10, though you need to search for BuildLab instead.

_________________
Windows Defender for great justice! Bugs are an international trading company. I need to defeat the anti-debugging and obfuscation methods. It wasn't for Intel's absurd ability to load in ie6. Why even waste time with people in an envelope?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is there any way to make Windows think it's a beta versi        Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:13 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:06 pm

Posts
89

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Thanks Wheatley, I got it to work! Turns out the system has to be online and running for it to work, I was replacing it offline, which was what was giving me the problems. Thanks again everyone!


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS