BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 5d, 14h, 31m | CPU: 54% | MEM: 2116MB of 3635MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Question about remote desktop connection        Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:16 pm

Posts
36

Location
Ohio USA
Is it possible to remote desktop connect to a computer off my network? Say I have a win server 2k3 housed in a datacenter can I remote desktop connect to that by using the ip address?

Just thought I would ask, Im testing a windows server and Im used to redhat so this is new to me.

Im working on a few things though that Im going to offer to you guys to mess around with.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:36 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12407

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Yes you can. Thats how 99% of windows servers in datacenters are accessed, including my own, however I am using more powerful software for remote desktop access once its set up and I leave the Windows RDC protocol alone.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:53 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:16 pm

Posts
36

Location
Ohio USA
Thanks for the reply.

What do you use to connect Andy?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12407

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
DJ 2501 wrote:
Thanks for the reply.

What do you use to connect Andy?


I use NetSupport instead of the Windows RDC protocol/client.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:36 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:25 am

Posts
224

Location
Yorkshire, England

Favourite OS
Windows 7
Remote desktop is very easy to use, you might want to change the default listen port for added security or to be able to access more than one pc using the same up.

If your interested I made a guide for this ages a go: http://www.insanenutter.com/tutorials/remotedesktop/


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:58 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:16 pm

Posts
36

Location
Ohio USA
InsaneNutter wrote:
Remote desktop is very easy to use, you might want to change the default listen port for added security or to be able to access more than one pc using the same up.

If your interested I made a guide for this ages a go: http://www.insanenutter.com/tutorials/remotedesktop/


Thanks for that howto on changing the port number, this could be usefull for accessing many machines/virtual machines at once.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:36 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
DJ 2501 wrote:
InsaneNutter wrote:
Remote desktop is very easy to use, you might want to change the default listen port for added security or to be able to access more than one pc using the same up.

If your interested I made a guide for this ages a go: http://www.insanenutter.com/tutorials/remotedesktop/


Thanks for that howto on changing the port number, this could be usefull for accessing many machines/virtual machines at once.


Instead of opening all of these ports you might want to consider a VPN, so you could connect to your datacenter then access any machine from its internal IP. This would also make everything encrypted which would be a lot more secure. Hamachi is great for this, as it's really easy to set up and works very well.

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:12 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:25 am

Posts
224

Location
Yorkshire, England

Favourite OS
Windows 7
It’s only one port, but yes a VPN or SSH connection would be a lot more secure.

At home I SSH in to my router then connect to my pc over the SSH tunnel :) that way I can connect from Uni as only a couple of ports aren’t blocked there.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
Uh.... you DO realize that RDP uses TLS, right? And you DO realize that TLS is the SUCCESSOR to SSH, right? Remind me never to let you near fire.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:13 pm

Posts
130

Location
France
RentedMule wrote:
Uh.... you DO realize that RDP uses TLS, right? And you DO realize that TLS is the SUCCESSOR to SSH, right? Remind me never to let you near fire.


TLS isn't the successor to SSH.
SSH uses TLS as secure transport protocol

And I think you didn't read this before posting ....


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 2:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
Sorry. Complete brainfart. I saw "SSH", but I read "SSL" :((


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS