BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 28d, 17h, 44m | CPU: 35% | MEM: 2317MB of 4067MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 77 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Sat May 27, 2017 6:56 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 02, 2015 8:40 am

Posts
40

Location
Saint Petersburg, Russia

Favourite OS
Windows XP, 7, 10
I downloaded Windows 10 build 14324 from FTP and saw that it has some different SKU: server-serverarm64.

How to run this? It cannot be booted and can't start setup.exe from OS. The file size is 2 GB.

Here's the file name:
Image

_________________
No signature available.


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Sat May 27, 2017 7:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:23 pm

Posts
310

Location
Neptune

Favourite OS
Windows 10
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=ARM64


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Sat May 27, 2017 7:19 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:04 pm

Posts
2797

Favourite OS
Anything checked :P
QEMU's ARM64 emulation should be able to run it.

You'll need this: http://snapshots.linaro.org/components/ ... EMU_EFI.fd

You'll also need to create a FAT32 disk image (VHD should work), and copy the ISO contents into it.

then you'll be able to use, for example:

Code:
qemu-system-aarch64 -m 1024 -cpu cortex-a57 -M virt -bios QEMU_EFI.fd


(not sure what other options you'll need: remember to add the arguments for HD images)

_________________
C H E C K E D . B U I L D S . A R E . A W E S O M E N E S S

Glitch City Laboratories ForumsSoftHistory Forumsirc.rol.im #softhistory,#galaxy

If you like my posts, donate me Dogecoin: DLnZV8DS3CaZmLKAVxL2aMijY2vUZeyjBi


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Sun May 28, 2017 6:10 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm

Posts
423

Location
People's Republic of China

Favourite OS
Windows "Longhorn"
The Distractor wrote:
QEMU's ARM64 emulation should be able to run it.

You'll need this: http://snapshots.linaro.org/components/ ... EMU_EFI.fd

You'll also need to create a FAT32 disk image (VHD should work), and copy the ISO contents into it.

then you'll be able to use, for example:

Code:
qemu-system-aarch64 -m 1024 -cpu cortex-a57 -M virt -bios QEMU_EFI.fd


(not sure what other options you'll need: remember to add the arguments for HD images)


Hello friend, I've created a VHD, formatted it to FAT32 and copy all files in ISO into it, then created a BAT file like this:

Code:
qemu-system-aarch64 -m 1024 -cpu cortex-a57 -M virt -bios QEMU_EFI.fd -hda 14324_arm64_inst.vhd -hdb 14324.vmdk -boot c -rtc base="2016-04-15",clock=vm



And after boot, the Windows Boot Manager shows me a ERROR 0xc0000017.

Are there any wrong in my BAT file? Thank you!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Sun May 28, 2017 6:44 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:38 am

Posts
178

Favourite OS
9431
The Distractor wrote:
QEMU's ARM64 emulation should be able to run it.

You'll need this: http://snapshots.linaro.org/components/ ... EMU_EFI.fd

You'll also need to create a FAT32 disk image (VHD should work), and copy the ISO contents into it.

then you'll be able to use, for example:

Code:
qemu-system-aarch64 -m 1024 -cpu cortex-a57 -M virt -bios QEMU_EFI.fd


(not sure what other options you'll need: remember to add the arguments for HD images)


I tried to use QEMU to run Windows RT, and failed.
I don't think that it can handle Windows for ARM64.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Sun May 28, 2017 6:47 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 02, 2015 8:40 am

Posts
40

Location
Saint Petersburg, Russia

Favourite OS
Windows XP, 7, 10
The Distractor wrote:
QEMU's ARM64 emulation should be able to run it.

You'll need this: http://snapshots.linaro.org/components/ ... EMU_EFI.fd

You'll also need to create a FAT32 disk image (VHD should work), and copy the ISO contents into it.

then you'll be able to use, for example:

Code:
qemu-system-aarch64 -m 1024 -cpu cortex-a57 -M virt -bios QEMU_EFI.fd


(not sure what other options you'll need: remember to add the arguments for HD images)


What to do next?
Image

_________________
No signature available.


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Sun May 28, 2017 7:01 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm

Posts
423

Location
People's Republic of China

Favourite OS
Windows "Longhorn"
A friend of mine think win10 arm64 may only runs on Qualcomm Processor. I don't know if that's true..


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Sun May 28, 2017 11:15 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:07 pm

Posts
38
WindowsNeptune wrote:
And after boot, the Windows Boot Manager shows me a ERROR 0xc0000017.

Are there any wrong in my BAT file? Thank you!


This UEFI image is too new (there's some bug that'll cause missing RAM, this one is usually recommended), also you should add -device VGA to have video output.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Sun May 28, 2017 11:38 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 02, 2015 8:40 am

Posts
40

Location
Saint Petersburg, Russia

Favourite OS
Windows XP, 7, 10
Bas wrote:
This UEFI image is too new (there's some bug that'll cause missing RAM, this one is usually recommended), also you should add -device VGA to have video output.


Now I have the following:
Image

I used VGA and changed QEMU_EFI.fd file as you adviced.

_________________
No signature available.


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Sun May 28, 2017 12:10 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:07 pm

Posts
38
dae52591 wrote:
I used VGA and changed QEMU_EFI.fd file as you adviced.

Yes, I'm also stuck at this same point - there's another UEFI image that boots to a BSOD due to invalid ACPI tables, but I've not managed to get any further than that.

The image should run in QEMU, however, probably something obvious is being overlooked.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Sun May 28, 2017 2:43 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm

Posts
423

Location
People's Republic of China

Favourite OS
Windows "Longhorn"
Bas wrote:
dae52591 wrote:
I used VGA and changed QEMU_EFI.fd file as you adviced.

Yes, I'm also stuck at this same point - there's another UEFI image that boots to a BSOD due to invalid ACPI tables, but I've not managed to get any further than that.

The image should run in QEMU, however, probably something obvious is being overlooked.


Hello friend: After done what you said, I've tested 14901 arm64. It didnt display any error message, but after loading files, the whole screen is black, seems nothiing happened.

Tested 14877. After showing a Windows Logo it turns to ERROR C0000001.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 8:55 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm

Posts
423

Location
People's Republic of China

Favourite OS
Windows "Longhorn"
Uh, seems there aren't any other ways....


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 1:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun May 28, 2017 8:16 pm

Posts
1

Location
Germany

Favourite OS
8056
WindowsNeptune wrote:
Uh, seems there aren't any other ways....


Well, has anyone tried running it on a Raspberry Pi 3 yet?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 4:09 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:22 pm

Posts
28

Favourite OS
Solaris 10 u8
Actually, RPi3 and some RPi2 models use the BCM2837 CPU which includes four 64-bit ARM Cortex-A53 cores.
In order to boot it, you need the Raspberry PI 3 UEFI firmware from the Windows 10 for IoT on the USB Stick.
I can't see any reason why it wouldn't work.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 7:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
d3vi1 wrote:
In order to boot it, you need the Raspberry PI 3 UEFI firmware from the Windows 10 for IoT on the USB Stick.


The problem there is that the Win10 IoT for Raspberry Pi is 32-bit, with no ARM64 version. The Firmware has to match the OS, so we'd need an ARM64 UEFI for the Raspberry Pi 3 to run ARM64 Windows Server.

Edit: Also, the Raspberry Pi is a bit weird architecturally. It requires its own custom HAL for IoT iirc, so we'd also need an ARM64 variant of that.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 3:39 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 21, 2015 2:50 pm

Posts
90

Location
Hong Kong

Favourite OS
Windows 7(Build 7601)
So.....any ideas on ARM64 EFI for rpi3?

我從使用 Tapatalk 的 LG-D722 發送


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 5:43 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:07 pm

Posts
38
got 14282 to boot at least, with the following args, and the 16.02 uefi:

Code:
qemu-system-aarch64 -M virt -bios QEMU_EFIa.fd -m 3024 -device VGA -device ich9-usb-ehci1 -device usb-kbd -device usb-tablet -drive file=fatfs3.img,if=none,id=cd -device virtio-scsi-pci -device scsi-cd,drive=cd -drive file=14282.iso,if=none,id=cd2 -cpu cortex-a57 -device ahci,id=ahci -device scsi-cd,drive=cd2 -drive file=/root/installhd.img,if=none,id=hd -device scsi-hd,drive=hd -startdate "2016-03-10" -vnc :1


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 5:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm

Posts
423

Location
People's Republic of China

Favourite OS
Windows "Longhorn"
Bas wrote:
got 14282 to boot at least, with the following args, and the 16.02 uefi:

Code:
qemu-system-aarch64 -M virt -bios QEMU_EFIa.fd -m 3024 -device VGA -device ich9-usb-ehci1 -device usb-kbd -device usb-tablet -drive file=fatfs3.img,if=none,id=cd -device virtio-scsi-pci -device scsi-cd,drive=cd -drive file=14282.iso,if=none,id=cd2 -cpu cortex-a57 -device ahci,id=ahci -device scsi-cd,drive=cd2 -drive file=/root/installhd.img,if=none,id=hd -device scsi-hd,drive=hd -startdate "2016-03-10" -vnc :1


OMG. This Seems a good news. Could You please share the 16.02 uefi please?thank You So much-!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 6:03 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
http://releases.linaro.org/components/kernel/uefi-linaro/16.02/release/qemu64/QEMU_EFI.fd

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 6:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm

Posts
423

Location
People's Republic of China

Favourite OS
Windows "Longhorn"
hounsell wrote:


Wow, thank You friend, I will try that, and try to install a build.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 6:37 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 02, 2015 8:40 am

Posts
40

Location
Saint Petersburg, Russia

Favourite OS
Windows XP, 7, 10
And how to get rid of this:
Image

I use:
Code:
qemu-system-aarch64 -m 1024 -cpu cortex-a57 -M virt -bios QEMU_EFI.fd -device VGA -device ich9-usb-ehci1 -device usb-kbd -device usb-tablet -hda C:\Progra~1\qemu\Wind.vhd -boot c -rtc base="2016-04-15",clock=vm -no-acpi


Without -no-acpi option he returns the same error but with the other code.

_________________
No signature available.


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 7:17 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 14, 2010 1:29 pm

Posts
799

Location
Southern Germany

Favourite OS
IRIX 5.3
dae52591 wrote:
And how to get rid of this:
Image

I use:
Code:
qemu-system-aarch64 -m 1024 -cpu cortex-a57 -M virt -bios QEMU_EFI.fd -device VGA -device ich9-usb-ehci1 -device usb-kbd -device usb-tablet -hda C:\Progra~1\qemu\Wind.vhd -boot c -rtc base="2016-04-15",clock=vm -no-acpi


Without -no-acpi option he returns the same error but with the other code.

How about trying to add the other options that Bas mentioned, to see which one you're missing?

-device ahci for example. Or -m 3024. That's just the 2 differences I spotted quickly

_________________
I upload stuff to archive.org from time to time. See here for everything that doesn't fit BA


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 7:50 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 02, 2015 8:40 am

Posts
40

Location
Saint Petersburg, Russia

Favourite OS
Windows XP, 7, 10
Darkstar wrote:
How about trying to add the other options that Bas mentioned, to see which one you're missing?

-device ahci for example. Or -m 3024. That's just the 2 differences I spotted quickly


-m 3024 is for 3 GB of RAM? I don't have so much RAM to give.

_________________
No signature available.


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:21 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm

Posts
423

Location
People's Republic of China

Favourite OS
Windows "Longhorn"
Code:
qemu-system-aarch64 -M virt -bios QEMU_EFIa.fd -m 3024 -device VGA -device ich9-usb-ehci1 -device usb-kbd -device usb-tablet -drive file=fatfs3.img,if=none,id=cd -device virtio-scsi-pci -device scsi-cd,drive=cd -drive file=14282.iso,if=none,id=cd2 -cpu cortex-a57 -device ahci,id=ahci -device scsi-cd,drive=cd2 -drive file=/root/installhd.img,if=none,id=hd -device scsi-hd,drive=hd -startdate "2016-03-10" -vnc :1


Used this bat (already modified filenames of HD and CDs), the Qemu seems don't load from the VHD contains installation files. SO it just hang.

Code:
qemu-system-aarch64 -m 1024 -cpu cortex-a57 -M virt -bios QEMU_EFI.fd -device VGA -device ich9-usb-ehci1 -device usb-kbd -device usb-tablet -hda C:\Progra~1\qemu\Wind.vhd -boot c -rtc base="2016-04-15",clock=vm -no-acpi


And this bat, qemu can load, but got ERROR 0xc0000225. enable acpi or not seems get the same problem


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: How to run Windows 10 Server ARM64        Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:15 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm

Posts
423

Location
People's Republic of China

Favourite OS
Windows "Longhorn"
Code:
qemu-system-aarch64 -m 3000 -cpu cortex-a57 -M virt -bios QEMU_EFI.fd -device VGA -device ich9-usb-ehci1 -device usb-kbd -device usb-tablet -hda 14282i.vhd -hdb 14282h.chd -cdrom 14282.iso-boot c -rtc base="2016-04-15",clock=vm


At last I used this bat and successfully , at least, boot to the install page.
The 14282i.vhd contains file from iso. 14282h.vhd is the one in which i will install system.


BUT
It cannot find any harddrive and/or cdrom at this stage:

Image

Maybe the way i use just created some IDE hdds and setup just want a SCSI disk? Are there any other commands?

P.S. My friend says it need a virtio driver to read harddisk... But seems I cannot find a aarch64 ver. of that driver.

Thanks!


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 77 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS