BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 32d, 13h, 8m | CPU: 44% | MEM: 2511MB of 3947MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Difference between 4074 and 4074 Professional        Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:03 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm

Posts
228

Location
North England.
Anyone care to enlighten me please?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:14 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
AFAIK, 4074 is always professional.

Betas of longhorn before beta 1 were or server or professional.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:16 am 
Reply with quote
isnt it possible to convert to even media center edition? or server?

i saw that once with 3683, "3683 Media Center Edition", the work of tweaknt ;)


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:20 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
I can be converted just like a windows xp.
But the question was, what was the difference between 4074 and 4074 professional.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:24 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm

Posts
228

Location
North England.
If theres no difference why is the Prof version ~300mb and ordinary ~700mb

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:28 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
I think that your ~300MB iso is not complete or its corrupt.

The install.wim of 4074 (from the ftp) is about 725MB.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:29 am 
Reply with quote
i think he means the x64 bit version which IS just about 300mb...

its complete but has no winpe setup and thats why its so much smaller :)


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:38 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm

Posts
228

Location
North England.
Ah right, on the server its just listed as Professional.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Oh do you mean the x64? 8-)

Please write that the next time in your question then we can answer your question faster and with more precision. :wink:

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:18 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:21 pm

Posts
458
Professional on Servers is a missnamed x64 4074 :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
Namronia wrote:
i think he means the x64 bit version which IS just about 300mb...

its complete but has no winpe setup and thats why its so much smaller :)


:S My copy of 4074 x64 is 694MB big...

500th post

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 6:21 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 08, 2007 1:49 pm

Posts
85

Location
Halifax, UK
D.Konieczny wrote:
Namronia wrote:
i think he means the x64 bit version which IS just about 300mb...

its complete but has no winpe setup and thats why its so much smaller :)


:S My copy of 4074 x64 is 694MB big...

500th post


i wouldn't worry about it, so is mine: 694 MB (728,741,888 bytes)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 2:52 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
actually
longhorn professional build 4074 is the 32bit build
longhorn professional for extended 64bit system build 4074 is the 64bit build

it isn't really labeled wrong, but not label fully

4074 x86 is 733 MB while x64 is 694 MB
but x86 is an imaged build while x64 is a traditional extract and copy installation
4083 is an imaged build reducing the build by ~60 MB


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 4:16 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:57 am

Posts
429

Location
Greece

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Builds 3718 to 4047 (tested :D but lost the iso's :cry: ) can be converted to Home Edition or to [Web, Enterprise, Standard] Server with TweakNT, BUT it will say you have a bad product key for some editions.
Here is an example running on XP SP2 (2600, final):
Image
I don't know if it is legal to upload - could a moderator help with this?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 5:15 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
i believe thats how some of the cracks worked for 4029 (convert to home or something)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 7:06 am 
Reply with quote
Hacker?pcs wrote:
Builds 3718 to 4047 (tested :D but lost the iso's :cry: ) can be converted to Home Edition or to [Web, Enterprise, Standard] Server with TweakNT, BUT it will say you have a bad product key for some editions.
Here is an example running on XP SP2 (2600, final):
Image
I don't know if it is legal to upload - could a moderator help with this?


but you can also use pidgen.dll in early versions and install it with for example xp mce 05 key, this also works with vista final, use pidgenx.dll from 5744 or later betas and replace it with finals one so you can use beta serials :P


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 2:38 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Namronia wrote:
Hacker?pcs wrote:
Builds 3718 to 4047 (tested :D but lost the iso's :cry: ) can be converted to Home Edition or to [Web, Enterprise, Standard] Server with TweakNT, BUT it will say you have a bad product key for some editions.
Here is an example running on XP SP2 (2600, final):
Image
I don't know if it is legal to upload - could a moderator help with this?


but you can also use pidgen.dll in early versions and install it with for example xp mce 05 key, this also works with vista final, use pidgenx.dll from 5744 or later betas and replace it with finals one so you can use beta serials :P

Can you activate Vista if it's been installed using this method?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 2:52 pm 
Reply with quote
empireum wrote:
Namronia wrote:
Hacker?pcs wrote:
Builds 3718 to 4047 (tested :D but lost the iso's :cry: ) can be converted to Home Edition or to [Web, Enterprise, Standard] Server with TweakNT, BUT it will say you have a bad product key for some editions.
Here is an example running on XP SP2 (2600, final):
Image
I don't know if it is legal to upload - could a moderator help with this?


but you can also use pidgen.dll in early versions and install it with for example xp mce 05 key, this also works with vista final, use pidgenx.dll from 5744 or later betas and replace it with finals one so you can use beta serials :P

Can you activate Vista if it's been installed using this method?


got a legal vista so yes ;)

but i tested it just for fun :P

oh edit, yes, you can theoretically activate, but youll get a timebomb ;)


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 5:24 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Namronia wrote:
got a legal vista so yes ;)

but i tested it just for fun :P

oh edit, yes, you can theoretically activate, but youll get a timebomb ;)

So do I, just wanted to know...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 9:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:57 am

Posts
429

Location
Greece

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Timebomb can't be removed from Windows Server 2008 RC1 - I think the same will happen in Vista Betas and RCs:
Image

P.S.: TweakNT has nothing to do with activation. Longhorn can be activated using one more file - not only with TweakNT. As someone said above it needs also some .dll files to activate Vista.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:41 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
Wrong, it's not pidgen(x).dll, that never determined keys in the first place. You have to replace pkeyconfig.xrm-ms from a beta disc (MS disabled this through a hotfix anyway)

Also that file is kind of similar to XP's setupp.ini


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 2:58 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:57 am

Posts
429

Location
Greece

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
I haven't tested, i don't contradict you.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Tweak NT and the systems        Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 9:38 pm 
Reply with quote
Actually, almost all the Windows NT can be converted to the other editions with the help of Tweak NT correctly, but it's only on you personal to test all the issues 8-)


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS