Page 1 of 1

Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:39 am
by WindowsNeptune
Um, today BAFTP onlined couple of new things, one of them is Vista 6.0.5284.0.vbl_media_ehome.
I used VMWare 12.5.3 and set compatible to 10.x at the first time, and to 6.x at the second time. I set HDD to IDE mode.. But those still cannot solve the problem, when I install it, when copying files a several time it shows this ERROR Dialog:

Image

Wondering why could this happen and how to solve it..


EDIT:I opened vmdk and at \$WINDOWS.~BT\Sources\Panther\ I found a setuperr.log and it shows this:

Code: Select all

2005-12-20 18:33:54, Error      [0x06049e] IBS    CopyPrivatesToLocalSourcesFolder:Failed to copy from [D:\Sources\$OEM$] to [C:\$WINDOWS.~LS\Sources\$OEM$]. GLE is[0x57][gle=0x00000057]
2005-12-20 18:33:54, Error      [0x06049b] IBS    CallBack_CopyPrivates:Failed to copy any privates and optional directories.[gle=0x00000057]
2005-12-20 18:33:54, Error      [0x06049d] IBS    CallBack_CopyPrivates:An error occurred while trying to copy the privates GLE is [0x57][gle=0x00000057]

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:16 pm
by Samuka
Remove Floppy Disk on VMware machine configuration (and try again)

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:37 pm
by WindowsNeptune
Samuka wrote:Remove Floppy Disk on VMware machine configuration (and try again)
Well friend there's no Floppy Disk in my configuration :P

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:12 pm
by The Distractor
The image seems touched (from the original build) just like some of the others. Try removing \sources\$OEM$ folder.

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:14 pm
by ovctvct
I have yet to try it, but the first advice is to try actual vmware 8 or older(not compatibility settings), 12.x have problems IIRC. EDIT: Try what The Distractor said.

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:30 pm
by The Distractor
Can confirm that removing \sources\$OEM$ folder works.

I guess nobody in ehome lab ever tested the "run setup manually" button...

By the way, the custom setup launcher uses these serials (for 5284.vbl_media_ehome):

Ultimate: GQ67D-7XFV7-CFYXT-6FM72-PJHY6
Home Premium: BCW2J-22CC9-MKGJY-KYJHG-QK64G

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:44 pm
by ReztaNZ
I can confirm The Distractor's method works also.

BCW2J-22CC9-MKGJY-KYJHG-QK64G - Identifies as Windows vista starter

Found that the custom setup.exe on the disc generates an unattend answer file with a particular product key in it. Figured there must be a reason why.

Image
Image

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:13 pm
by The Distractor
Image

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:15 pm
by ovctvct
Looks closer to 5308 than 5270, probably because of the lab, e.g different volume icon. Is that Ultimate SKU? I'm currently downloading 5284 to try it too.

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:18 pm
by ReztaNZ
Strange... I do not have a proper start button in my VM of this build, yet The Distractor does.

Image

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:20 pm
by ovctvct
ReztaNZ wrote:Strange... I do not have a proper start button in my VM of this build, yet The Distractor does.

Image
That's a bug probably, IIRC 5270 server SKU has it too. Also strange you don't have any tray icons. Can you post a screenshot of the control panel?

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:50 pm
by ovctvct
I keep getting this: Image
With IDE hard drive and vmware 7.1.4. I have formatted the HDD before. I fixed this: I had to use diskpart and NOT make the partition active.

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:02 pm
by The Distractor
ReztaNZ wrote:Strange... I do not have a proper start button in my VM of this build, yet The Distractor does.

Image
When I first set the theme, that occured for me, it showed after logoff and log back on. (I had activation troubles which turned out to be because I set the date wrong in my VM, and had set it to one month *after* the timebomb)

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:41 pm
by ovctvct
Image

Anyone got the Sidebar working? For me it just won't load :S

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:46 am
by WindowsNeptune
ovctvct wrote:Image

Anyone got the Sidebar working? For me it just won't load :S
I remembered that 52xx don't have a Sidebar...

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:48 am
by WindowsNeptune
The Distractor wrote:Can confirm that removing \sources\$OEM$ folder works.

I guess nobody in ehome lab ever tested the "run setup manually" button...

By the way, the custom setup launcher uses these serials (for 5284.vbl_media_ehome):

Ultimate: GQ67D-7XFV7-CFYXT-6FM72-PJHY6
Home Premium: BCW2J-22CC9-MKGJY-KYJHG-QK64G
Hmm friend, seems $OEM$\ have something about MediaCenter. However if I remove it from ISO, after finished installing, system still has MediaCenter installed.
Also, the two way of installing lead to the same failture if I dont remove OEM folder.

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:51 am
by ovctvct
WindowsNeptune wrote:
ovctvct wrote:Image

Anyone got the Sidebar working? For me it just won't load :S
I remembered that 52xx don't have a Sidebar...
Nope, it does, look on the start menu.

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 7:48 pm
by XDude
WindowsNeptune wrote:
The Distractor wrote:Can confirm that removing \sources\$OEM$ folder works.

I guess nobody in ehome lab ever tested the "run setup manually" button...

By the way, the custom setup launcher uses these serials (for 5284.vbl_media_ehome):

Ultimate: GQ67D-7XFV7-CFYXT-6FM72-PJHY6
Home Premium: BCW2J-22CC9-MKGJY-KYJHG-QK64G
Hmm friend, seems $OEM$\ have something about MediaCenter. However if I remove it from ISO, after finished installing, system still has MediaCenter installed.
Also, the two way of installing lead to the same failture if I dont remove OEM folder.
It seems like these builds are targeted for eHome PCs and have custom drivers/files. The Media Centre functionality shouldn't be in the OEM folder.