BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 103d, 5h, 22m | CPU: 31% | MEM: 6890MB of 12287MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:39 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm

Posts
437

Location
People's Republic of China

Favourite OS
Windows "Longhorn"
Um, today BAFTP onlined couple of new things, one of them is Vista 6.0.5284.0.vbl_media_ehome.
I used VMWare 12.5.3 and set compatible to 10.x at the first time, and to 6.x at the second time. I set HDD to IDE mode.. But those still cannot solve the problem, when I install it, when copying files a several time it shows this ERROR Dialog:

Image

Wondering why could this happen and how to solve it..


EDIT:I opened vmdk and at \$WINDOWS.~BT\Sources\Panther\ I found a setuperr.log and it shows this:

Code:
2005-12-20 18:33:54, Error      [0x06049e] IBS    CopyPrivatesToLocalSourcesFolder:Failed to copy from [D:\Sources\$OEM$] to [C:\$WINDOWS.~LS\Sources\$OEM$]. GLE is[0x57][gle=0x00000057]
2005-12-20 18:33:54, Error      [0x06049b] IBS    CallBack_CopyPrivates:Failed to copy any privates and optional directories.[gle=0x00000057]
2005-12-20 18:33:54, Error      [0x06049d] IBS    CallBack_CopyPrivates:An error occurred while trying to copy the privates GLE is [0x57][gle=0x00000057]


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:16 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:31 am

Posts
525

Location
Brazil

Favourite OS
Windows ShortHorn
Remove Floppy Disk on VMware machine configuration (and try again)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:37 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm

Posts
437

Location
People's Republic of China

Favourite OS
Windows "Longhorn"
Samuka wrote:
Remove Floppy Disk on VMware machine configuration (and try again)


Well friend there's no Floppy Disk in my configuration :P


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:04 pm

Posts
2797

Favourite OS
Anything checked :P
The image seems touched (from the original build) just like some of the others. Try removing \sources\$OEM$ folder.

_________________
C H E C K E D . B U I L D S . A R E . A W E S O M E N E S S

Glitch City Laboratories ForumsSoftHistory Forumsirc.rol.im #softhistory,#galaxy

If you like my posts, donate me Dogecoin: DLnZV8DS3CaZmLKAVxL2aMijY2vUZeyjBi


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Posts
1057
I have yet to try it, but the first advice is to try actual vmware 8 or older(not compatibility settings), 12.x have problems IIRC. EDIT: Try what The Distractor said.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:04 pm

Posts
2797

Favourite OS
Anything checked :P
Can confirm that removing \sources\$OEM$ folder works.

I guess nobody in ehome lab ever tested the "run setup manually" button...

By the way, the custom setup launcher uses these serials (for 5284.vbl_media_ehome):

Ultimate: GQ67D-7XFV7-CFYXT-6FM72-PJHY6
Home Premium: BCW2J-22CC9-MKGJY-KYJHG-QK64G

_________________
C H E C K E D . B U I L D S . A R E . A W E S O M E N E S S

Glitch City Laboratories ForumsSoftHistory Forumsirc.rol.im #softhistory,#galaxy

If you like my posts, donate me Dogecoin: DLnZV8DS3CaZmLKAVxL2aMijY2vUZeyjBi


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:44 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed May 07, 2014 12:41 pm

Posts
109

Favourite OS
17083
I can confirm The Distractor's method works also.

BCW2J-22CC9-MKGJY-KYJHG-QK64G - Identifies as Windows vista starter

Found that the custom setup.exe on the disc generates an unattend answer file with a particular product key in it. Figured there must be a reason why.

Image
Image

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:13 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:04 pm

Posts
2797

Favourite OS
Anything checked :P
Image

_________________
C H E C K E D . B U I L D S . A R E . A W E S O M E N E S S

Glitch City Laboratories ForumsSoftHistory Forumsirc.rol.im #softhistory,#galaxy

If you like my posts, donate me Dogecoin: DLnZV8DS3CaZmLKAVxL2aMijY2vUZeyjBi


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:15 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Posts
1057
Looks closer to 5308 than 5270, probably because of the lab, e.g different volume icon. Is that Ultimate SKU? I'm currently downloading 5284 to try it too.

_________________
Image


Last edited by ovctvct on Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:18 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed May 07, 2014 12:41 pm

Posts
109

Favourite OS
17083
Strange... I do not have a proper start button in my VM of this build, yet The Distractor does.

Image

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:20 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Posts
1057
ReztaNZ wrote:
Strange... I do not have a proper start button in my VM of this build, yet The Distractor does.

Image

That's a bug probably, IIRC 5270 server SKU has it too. Also strange you don't have any tray icons. Can you post a screenshot of the control panel?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:50 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Posts
1057
I keep getting this: Image
With IDE hard drive and vmware 7.1.4. I have formatted the HDD before. I fixed this: I had to use diskpart and NOT make the partition active.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:04 pm

Posts
2797

Favourite OS
Anything checked :P
ReztaNZ wrote:
Strange... I do not have a proper start button in my VM of this build, yet The Distractor does.

Image


When I first set the theme, that occured for me, it showed after logoff and log back on. (I had activation troubles which turned out to be because I set the date wrong in my VM, and had set it to one month *after* the timebomb)

_________________
C H E C K E D . B U I L D S . A R E . A W E S O M E N E S S

Glitch City Laboratories ForumsSoftHistory Forumsirc.rol.im #softhistory,#galaxy

If you like my posts, donate me Dogecoin: DLnZV8DS3CaZmLKAVxL2aMijY2vUZeyjBi


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:41 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Posts
1057
Image

Anyone got the Sidebar working? For me it just won't load :S

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:46 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm

Posts
437

Location
People's Republic of China

Favourite OS
Windows "Longhorn"
ovctvct wrote:
Image

Anyone got the Sidebar working? For me it just won't load :S


I remembered that 52xx don't have a Sidebar...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:48 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm

Posts
437

Location
People's Republic of China

Favourite OS
Windows "Longhorn"
The Distractor wrote:
Can confirm that removing \sources\$OEM$ folder works.

I guess nobody in ehome lab ever tested the "run setup manually" button...

By the way, the custom setup launcher uses these serials (for 5284.vbl_media_ehome):

Ultimate: GQ67D-7XFV7-CFYXT-6FM72-PJHY6
Home Premium: BCW2J-22CC9-MKGJY-KYJHG-QK64G


Hmm friend, seems $OEM$\ have something about MediaCenter. However if I remove it from ISO, after finished installing, system still has MediaCenter installed.
Also, the two way of installing lead to the same failture if I dont remove OEM folder.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:51 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Posts
1057
WindowsNeptune wrote:
ovctvct wrote:
Image

Anyone got the Sidebar working? For me it just won't load :S


I remembered that 52xx don't have a Sidebar...

Nope, it does, look on the start menu.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed        Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 7:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
WindowsNeptune wrote:
The Distractor wrote:
Can confirm that removing \sources\$OEM$ folder works.

I guess nobody in ehome lab ever tested the "run setup manually" button...

By the way, the custom setup launcher uses these serials (for 5284.vbl_media_ehome):

Ultimate: GQ67D-7XFV7-CFYXT-6FM72-PJHY6
Home Premium: BCW2J-22CC9-MKGJY-KYJHG-QK64G


Hmm friend, seems $OEM$\ have something about MediaCenter. However if I remove it from ISO, after finished installing, system still has MediaCenter installed.
Also, the two way of installing lead to the same failture if I dont remove OEM folder.

It seems like these builds are targeted for eHome PCs and have custom drivers/files. The Media Centre functionality shouldn't be in the OEM folder.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS