Vista Setup-Version-Selection-Menu

Discuss Windows Vista, 7, 8.x, 10 and Windows Server 2008, 2008R2, 2012, 2016, 2019, Home Server, SBS 2008, SBS 2011.
joecool
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Vista Setup-Version-Selection-Menu

Post by joecool »

Hi,

Today i found that the "Setup-Version-Selection-Menu" is also avaible in the following Builds of Vista and Longhorn:

Dec.05-CTP
Feb.06-CTP
...
Beta2



The only thing is you have to enter a "Special-Productkey"

I'm not sure if i can post this 2 Key's here?!?

Image

P.S: sorry for my bad english

wrapa
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 11:28 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by wrapa »

Could You Please PM Me These Keys? Thanks....
Image

Frozenport
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 1022
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm
Location: The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"
Contact:

Post by Frozenport »

Just do it... Vista will rtm soon and the key will change
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Wow, Starter is there as well. And even Enterprise!!! Please, post the keys

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

Yeah if you could PM me them or Post them that would be great!!!
-Jeff

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

If you choose to PM, please don't forget me!

swellhead
FTP Access
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:03 pm
Location: Barnoldswick, England
Contact:

Post by swellhead »

please don't forget me thanks

TheWahbinator
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Post by TheWahbinator »

Insert the DVD and go to sources\inf\setup.cfg and scroll to the bottom

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Do you mean this?

Code: Select all

[MPCTable]
X86.Starter=89571
X86.StarterN=89588
X86.HomeBasic=89572
X86.HomeBasicN=89575
X86.HomePremium=89578
X86.Business=89576
X86.BusinessN=89577
X86.Enterprise=89579
X86.Ultimate=89580
X86.ServerStandard=78438
X86.ServerEnterprise=78440
X86.ServerDatacenter=78443
X64.HomeBasic=89581
X64.HomeBasicN=89582
X64.HomePremium=89583
X64.Business=89584
X64.BusinessN=89585
X64.Enterprise=89586
X64.Ultimate=89587
X64.ServerStandard=78439
X64.ServerEnterprise=78441
X64.ServerDatacenter=78442
IA64.ServerEnterpriseIA64=78444

[DefaultImageSelection]
Value=XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX
Note: The last entry has been hidden with these "X"'es.
Interesting what'll be installed using the key. But the numbers below [MPCTable] don't tell me anything

joecool
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Post by joecool »

You all have PM

The Numbers in the [MPCTable] are the PID's

Example for Vista-Ultimate:

89580-023-1234567-12345

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

@joecool

May I also hve a PM with the key?
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

@joecool
Thanks for explaining.

Has anybody tried to install Vista using the key in {DVD}\sources\inf\setup.cfg?

joecool
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Post by joecool »

This Special-Key's enable the OS-Selection and you have a 30Day Trial Period without an specific Key!

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

This is clear, but I'd like to know what happens if you install Vista with the key stored in the setup.cfg file... The OS selection screen is available without a key.

joecool
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Post by joecool »

The OS Selection screen is avaible since Build 5600 (RC1);
--> there is the "Special-Key" in the setup.cfg
--> if you not enter an specific Key the Setup takes the "special-Key" stored in the setup.cfg

in older Builds (Dec.05-CTP, Feb.06-CTP, Beta2) is normaly no such OS Selection screen!
--> there is no such "Special-Key" in the setup.cfg
--> if you have no specific Key you can enter the "special Key" and you have the same OS Selection screen as in RC1 or RC2 !

in all cases you have a 30Day Trial-Period

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Ah, now I understand it
But if the setup uses the key from setup.cfg if no key is entered, what is going to happen if we enter this key manually...

casablanca
FTP Access
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:05 am
Location: New York

Post by casablanca »

empireum wrote:Ah, now I understand it
But if the setup uses the key from setup.cfg if no key is entered, what is going to happen if we enter this key manually...
You'll get to pick whichever edition you want, but you will still be stuck with a 30-day trial

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Thanks! Sometimes I seem to be blind...

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

seeing as you only get a 30-day trial from the key, i don't see why it can't be posted

Beta Freak
FTP Access
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Post by Beta Freak »

Could I get that PM as well please?
Thanks

kidde
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:16 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by kidde »

___ wrote:seeing as you only get a 30-day trial from the key, i don't see why it can't be posted
Agreed.

Anyway, if the key won't be posted here, someone please PM me.

joecool
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Post by joecool »

Vista - Feb.06-CTP: ................ 7KYMQ-R788Q-4RF69-KTWKM-92PFJ
Vista - Beta2, RC1 & RC2: ...... YVT36-YVCP2-J97GQ-7T22R-RWV8P
Longhorn - Aug.06-CTP (RC1): 7KYMQ-R788Q-4RF69-KTWKM-92PFJ

casablanca
FTP Access
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:05 am
Location: New York

Post by casablanca »

hey, joecool, where did you get these keys? Was it from that special media test that Wendy dished out the the Techbeta people?

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

{DVD}\sources\inf\setup.cfg
look at the bottom of the cfg on the dvd

joecool
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Post by joecool »

___ wrote:
{DVD}\sources\inf\setup.cfg
look at the bottom of the cfg on the dvd
yes, and i found out that the Aug.06 CTP Server Key also works for the Dec.05 & Feb.06 Staged Client Builds work as well

Post Reply