BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 32d, 13h, 6m | CPU: 32% | MEM: 2507MB of 3947MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Vista Setup-Version-Selection-Menu        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:19 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm

Posts
185

Location
Germany
Hi,

Today i found that the "Setup-Version-Selection-Menu" is also avaible in the following Builds of Vista and Longhorn:

Dec.05-CTP
Feb.06-CTP
...
Beta2

:lol: :twisted:

The only thing is you have to enter a "Special-Productkey" ;)

I'm not sure if i can post this 2 Key's here?!?

Image

P.S: sorry for my bad english :oops:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 12:49 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 26, 2006 11:28 am

Posts
44

Location
Australia
Could You Please PM Me These Keys? Thanks....

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 1:04 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
Just do it... Vista will rtm soon and the key will change 8)

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:28 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Wow, Starter is there as well. :) And even Enterprise!!! Please, post the keys :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Yeah if you could PM me them or Post them that would be great!!!

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
If you choose to PM, please don't forget me! :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:46 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:03 pm

Posts
96

Location
Barnoldswick, England

Favourite OS
Longhorn
please don't forget me thanks


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
Insert the DVD and go to sources\inf\setup.cfg and scroll to the bottom :shock:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Do you mean this?

Code:
[MPCTable]
X86.Starter=89571
X86.StarterN=89588
X86.HomeBasic=89572
X86.HomeBasicN=89575
X86.HomePremium=89578
X86.Business=89576
X86.BusinessN=89577
X86.Enterprise=89579
X86.Ultimate=89580
X86.ServerStandard=78438
X86.ServerEnterprise=78440
X86.ServerDatacenter=78443
X64.HomeBasic=89581
X64.HomeBasicN=89582
X64.HomePremium=89583
X64.Business=89584
X64.BusinessN=89585
X64.Enterprise=89586
X64.Ultimate=89587
X64.ServerStandard=78439
X64.ServerEnterprise=78441
X64.ServerDatacenter=78442
IA64.ServerEnterpriseIA64=78444

[DefaultImageSelection]
Value=XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX


Note: The last entry has been hidden with these "X"'es.
Interesting what'll be installed using the key. But the numbers below [MPCTable] don't tell me anything :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm

Posts
185

Location
Germany
You all have PM ;)

The Numbers in the [MPCTable] are the PID's ;)

Example for Vista-Ultimate:

89580-023-1234567-12345


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 12:09 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
@joecool

May I also hve a PM with the key? :)

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 12:16 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
@joecool
Thanks for explaining.

Has anybody tried to install Vista using the key in {DVD}\sources\inf\setup.cfg?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:24 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm

Posts
185

Location
Germany
This Special-Key's enable the OS-Selection and you have a 30Day Trial Period without an specific Key! ;)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:52 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
This is clear, but I'd like to know what happens if you install Vista with the key stored in the setup.cfg file... The OS selection screen is available without a key.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 3:08 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm

Posts
185

Location
Germany
The OS Selection screen is avaible since Build 5600 (RC1);
--> there is the "Special-Key" in the setup.cfg
--> if you not enter an specific Key the Setup takes the "special-Key" stored in the setup.cfg

in older Builds (Dec.05-CTP, Feb.06-CTP, Beta2) is normaly no such OS Selection screen!
--> there is no such "Special-Key" in the setup.cfg
--> if you have no specific Key you can enter the "special Key" and you have the same OS Selection screen as in RC1 or RC2 ! ;)

in all cases you have a 30Day Trial-Period ;)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 3:32 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Ah, now I understand it :)
But if the setup uses the key from setup.cfg if no key is entered, what is going to happen if we enter this key manually... 8)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 4:09 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:05 am

Posts
146

Location
New York
empireum wrote:
Ah, now I understand it :)
But if the setup uses the key from setup.cfg if no key is entered, what is going to happen if we enter this key manually... 8)


You'll get to pick whichever edition you want, but you will still be stuck with a 30-day trial :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 6:14 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Thanks! Sometimes I seem to be blind... :oops:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 6:58 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
seeing as you only get a 30-day trial from the key, i don't see why it can't be posted


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 6:04 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Posts
786
Could I get that PM as well please?
Thanks


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 9:08 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:16 pm

Posts
60

Location
Sweden
___ wrote:
seeing as you only get a 30-day trial from the key, i don't see why it can't be posted
Agreed.

Anyway, if the key won't be posted here, someone please PM me. :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 9:34 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm

Posts
185

Location
Germany
Vista - Feb.06-CTP: ................ 7KYMQ-R788Q-4RF69-KTWKM-92PFJ
Vista - Beta2, RC1 & RC2: ...... YVT36-YVCP2-J97GQ-7T22R-RWV8P
Longhorn - Aug.06-CTP (RC1): 7KYMQ-R788Q-4RF69-KTWKM-92PFJ


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 10:08 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:05 am

Posts
146

Location
New York
hey, joecool, where did you get these keys? Was it from that special media test that Wendy dished out the the Techbeta people?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 12:27 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
Quote:
{DVD}\sources\inf\setup.cfg


look at the bottom of the cfg on the dvd


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 5:20 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm

Posts
185

Location
Germany
___ wrote:
Quote:
{DVD}\sources\inf\setup.cfg


look at the bottom of the cfg on the dvd


yes, and i found out that the Aug.06 CTP Server Key also works for the Dec.05 & Feb.06 Staged Client Builds work as well :)


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS