BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 9d, 8h, 9m | CPU: 100% | MEM: 3066MB of 8095MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows Essential Business Server Screenshots        Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
Here are some Screenshots of Windows Essential Business Server (Codename Centro):

Image

Image

Image

Image


And some Photos from the Tech.Ed 2007:

Image

Image

Image

Image

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Does it work well (all three servers) on VMware for you then? Or are you using real physical servers (three x64 servers! :o)? I could never get the second server in the last release (post-Beta 1 CTP) to install, it crashed with something like "failed to set the server name", and I couldn't get Cougar (Beta 2) to install either (have you installed Cougar too yet?). The first (Management) server in the last release worked fine though. How much memory have you allocated to each of your virtual servers?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
This screenshots are not ftom me.
I found them somewhere on the Internet, I haven't tried to install it Centro yet.
However, the Cougar Beta 2 Setup worked without any trouble for me.
I have made some screenshots from it, have a look at the screenshots section ;)

*Edit*

I think if you have enough RAM, it should be no problem to install all the three Centro Servers at the same time in a VM.

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:23 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I was just wondering whether not allocating a large amount of memory to each virtual server might cause it to crash - Centro and Cougar do seem to have very high memory requirements and there have been suggestions that Setup might fail if you don't have enough (eg when you start installing Cougar it warns you that you may encounter problems if you have less than 4 GB! :o - I can't realistically allocate more than about 2 GB, maybe 2.5 GB, to my VM(s) when running Vista at the same time).

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:32 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
I was just wondering whether not allocating a large amount of memory to each virtual server might cause it to crash - Centro and Cougar do seem to have very high memory requirements and there have been suggestions that Setup might fail if you don't have enough (eg when you start installing Cougar it warns you that you may encounter problems if you have less than 4 GB! :o - I can't realistically allocate more than about 2 GB, maybe 2.5 GB, to my VM(s) when running Vista at the same time).


I have installed Cougar with 1GB RAM on a "real" PC and it runned without any problems; I can't understand why the requirements are so high...

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 4:21 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
Does anybody know some more Centro builds?

I know:

Build 5112, Beta 2 - Based on Longhorn Server Build 5600
Build ?????, CTP - Based on Longhorn Server Build 5744
Build 5241, CTP - Based on Server 2008 Build 6001.16510
Build 5385, Beta 2 - Based on Server 2008 Build 6001.16659

That can't be all Builds of Codename Centro :?

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:37 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I've been trying out the setup of Beta 2 tonight, here's some more screens showing the installation of the first server, starting from the point after the standard Server 2008 setup completes and the server restarts for the first time:

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

And then...

Image


:cry: I'm really starting to think that there's something about me that these betas just really don't like... :(

This was the first server, VMware Workstation 6, 2 GB memory allocated to it - anyone else hit this problem? I left all locale settings at the start of the installation as US English, as there's been a lot of Setup problems reported that are caused by using other settings (it seems as thought the Setup in the Centro betas so far only works with US English settings). My stumbling block always seems to be this SCE though, with the CTP the first server installed correctly but the second failed with the SCE 0xFFF... error that some others reported on Connect.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
Have you tried to install another build?

By now, I have only tested the Cougar Beta 2. The Setup worked properly, but SBS Console crashed consistently. Screenshot


*EDIT*


Quote:
My stumbling block always seems to be this SCE though, with the CTP the first server installed correctly but the second failed with the SCE 0xFFF... error that some others reported on Connect.


Sorry I havent read detailed....

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Last edited by Daniel on Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:48 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
As I said, the post-Beta 1 failed on the second server with an SCE error, and also Cougar Beta 2 crashed during the initial setup wizard with the standard "Cougar Setup has stopped working" :( :( These betas clearly hate me :P

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
Maybe they don't like VMWare.....

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:36 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:13 pm

Posts
79

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2008 R2
i have tryed this beta and yea its very good
it takes alot to get working
and it is true about the memory requirements
i do how ever want to try cougar
to see what its like


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS