How to activate Longhorn or Whistler

Discuss Windows Vista, 7, 8.x, 10 and Windows Server 2008, 2008R2, 2012, 2016, 2019, Home Server, SBS 2008, SBS 2011.
Post Reply
m4rkuz
FTP Access
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:21 pm

How to activate Longhorn or Whistler

Post by m4rkuz »

As you all know you cant activate longhorn or whistler with the leaked keys, but you can with your XP keys.

1) start XP or vista, go to the longhorn drive and then to system32. there replace the pidgen.dll with the XP one (has to be pro) and restart to longhorn. then actiate it by phone with your XP Key
DONE

same for whisler, but there you have to choose a home key for personal betas and a pro key for pro betas...

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

And what about Whistler Server betas? Do we need a Server 2003 key and pidgen.dll for these?

m4rkuz
FTP Access
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:21 pm

Post by m4rkuz »

hmm I didnt try it with server, I think whistler server is from 2000 Server and so I think you'll need a server 2000 key.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

m4rkuz wrote:hmm I didnt try it with server, I think whistler server is from 2000 Server and so I think you'll need a server 2000 key.
If it were like that, Whistler should also be activatable with a 2000 Pro pidgen.dll and key... I'll give this a try though.

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

Looks good^ I will have to try this at some point.

@Empireum,
Fix your sig, its a link to the image, rather than the actual image.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

@hounsell
Thanks, just noticed. My brain must have been offline...

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

empireum wrote:If it were like that, Whistler should also be activatable with a 2000 Pro pidgen.dll and key... I'll give this a try though.
I don't think that would work - 2000 doesn't have activation, so MS's activation system wouldn't recognise 2000 keys and activate the Whistler. Unless you mean install, as opposed to activate? Though you tend to be able to install it but get errors about being unable to check the system's licence when you try to log on for the first time if you start messing around with these things.
Image

XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Post by XDude »

You will still have the a problem with the time unless you remove the timebomb. MS does not allow you to activate with incorrect time.

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

Would reset XP work?
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

Post Reply