Page 1 of 1

Windows vista 5728 tweaking

Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:38 am
by Deathwarder
Is there any way to tweak windows vista down to like 500megs of ram usage?

Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:47 am
by Vista Ultimate R2
There's lots of useless services running by default (eg Tablet PC service, whether or not you have a Tablet) that you can get rid of, but make sure you don't disable anything related to user authentication. I did (it looked a pretty useless service from their description of it - I assumed it was the same kind of thing as that Secondary Logon one that XP has, which can safely go), and it broke the UAC thing, so whenever I tried to do anything that needed authentication, nothing at all happened (including trying to run services.msc or regedit to re-enable the service!).

Yeah, I know I'm stupid, but it does seem silly that they provide an option to disable an essential service that there's no way to re-enable (crucial services like Remote Procedure Call don't usually allow you to disable them, which is sensible).

Remember that in Vista, the amount of memory used to some extent depends on how much memory you have, and it doesn't actually need as much as it takes (i.e. if you try to do something that needs some of that memory, it will release it).

Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:12 am
by Deathwarder
the problem is, I have 1gig, and I need access to at least 700megs while still having a responsive system. With pagefile, vista uses 1200megs, a problem.

Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:31 am
by Flare
Holy memory leak, batman!

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:43 am
by Deathwarder
Well, most of it is paged. Actually, is the pagefile section of the taskmanager reflecting total usage? In which case it is only 800megs.

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:38 am
by baso
I have "only" 400MB RAM usaage on 5728. Without modifikations....

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 4:04 pm
by ___
whats your total ram?

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 11:38 pm
by Vista Ultimate R2
My 5744 is only using 318 MB out of a total of 512 MB RAM, with a few of the default services disabled (Sidebar running, no Aero as it's in VMware).

Edit: 284 MB now that I've removed a few more services

Posted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:29 am
by Deathwarder
It says pagefile 840megs, physical 46% of 1gig. Subtract the 60megs firefox uses and its down a lot. Would installing 5744 help?