BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 6d, 23h, 57m | CPU: 8% | MEM: 1832MB of 3197MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Remove RC1’s desktop build tag        Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:48 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 26, 2006 11:28 am

Posts
44

Location
Australia
This Hacked user32.dll.mui allows you to remove the RC1 Watermark....

Installation:

1. Taking and giving ownership of the file”user32.dll.mui”
using the File Properies->Security tab, and giving your
user account/group full privileges (that is, permissions).

2. Rename the file:
x:\Windows\System32\en-US\user32.dll.mui to “user32.dll.bak”

3. Copy the file user32.dll.mui to
x:\Windows\System32\en-US\

4. Reboot/Log Off and enjoy your clear desktop.


[url=http://www.lost-soul.aeroxp.org/Puplic/RC1%Desktop%Tag%Patch.rar]Vista 5600 US[/url]

Vista 5728 US

All Credit Goes To Lost SOul™, Nesquix And Any Other Contributors :D

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 12:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
cool, but i don't really see the point in removing the text anyway....


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:11 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:06 am

Posts
258
Yeah, vista goes rtm on the 25th anyway


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:45 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
can't wait for it to got rtm, just hope it is stable as xp


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 6:49 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:06 am

Posts
258
Im hoping they lower ram usage by like 250megs


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 6:57 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm

Posts
407

Location
Essex, UK

Favourite OS
Gentoo
Same here, i want to try it but my computer only has 256MB of RAM and im really short on cash

_________________
The better candies are in the cage


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:34 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
lets hope in RC2 they have optimised it a lot


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:15 pm 
Reply with quote
What does rtm mean? Oh and when is the final version being seeded to the MSDN users? Isn't it supposed to be seeded early?


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:20 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:05 am

Posts
146

Location
New York
Virtualball wrote:
What does rtm mean? Oh and when is the final version being seeded to the MSDN users? Isn't it supposed to be seeded early?

RTM means that that version is the finalized product and is the one sold to consumers. As for MSDN, I have no idea. I'm not rich enough for an MSDN subscription :lol: Maybe someone here has one?

[EDIT] Also I think you have to get permissions, but not just through a dialog box. First you have to navigate to the place where user32.dll.mui is installed via a command prompt, and then "takeown /f user32.dll.mui" (without the quotes, of course) THEN you have to give ownership to everybody via that dialog box. THEN you can rename it. Wow, that's a lot of steps :lol:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:01 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:28 pm

Posts
352
RTM = released to manufacturers / read the manual


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: TweakUI        Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:27 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
Last build of Vista I tried, TweakUI still worked, and gave you the option to add/remove the build number from your desktop.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:35 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm

Posts
407

Location
Essex, UK

Favourite OS
Gentoo
isnt there a regestry key u can edit? im not sure

_________________
The better candies are in the cage


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 10:53 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
there is for xp, i think for vista it just comes back or is always on


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 2:52 pm 
Reply with quote
You can't remove it by way of the registry for evaluation/beta builds of Windows. This also applies to previous versions of Windows.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:16 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:42 pm

Posts
35

Location
Denmark
I created a patch for RC2 the minute it got released.

It can be downloaded from here: www.ampcore.dk


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:52 am 
Reply with quote
Thanks Amplificator! ;)

I'm so taking my build number off right now!

EDIT: Success!!

:)


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS