Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Discuss Windows Vista/Server 2008 to Windows 10.
kangaro
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 2:25 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by kangaro »

when I was editing win 7 explorer, I found that it can run old XP explorer.exe (32BIT) on windows 7 64BIT. Aero worked but start crashed - start work only in windows classic

Images are here:


1. WINDOWS 7 EXPLORER
Image


2. WINDOWS XP EXPLORER WITH AERO
Image


3. WINDOWS XP EXPLORER WITH CLASSIC THEME
Image

I didn´t know that it is possible.

UPDATE: I am scared that it could not run the original explorer but when xp explorer crashed, the win 7 exp. was run :-)
Image
Image
|insert signature text and press enter| |insert signature text and press enter| |insert signature text and press enter|

ThePro
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 429
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 1:05 am
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by ThePro »

Try setting it up to use the classic start menu, might work

Also, amazing work!
Image < HAI.

cicvara
FTP Access
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by cicvara »

maybe youre better off with win2k3 explorer

or some early Vista that didn't incorporate integrated HTML system settings yet
Image I want my burd

TomKTW
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:00 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by TomKTW »

Does XP Windows Explorer works in general (exploring files etc.)?

Phenom II
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:31 am

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by Phenom II »

Where is any of those pics does it show Windows XP explorer in 7

Changed a theme... wow
Image
"The people who know, won't say, and the people who say, don't know."

SpiralVortex
FTP Access
Posts: 242
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:06 am

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by SpiralVortex »

Interesting. I tried a while back to use the Win2K Explorer in Win7 x64 but it just came up with an error (application couldn't start).

Going into Task Manager and killing explorer.exe, then running the (32-bit) Windows 2000 RTM explorer.exe gave this:

Image

No, the Start menu doesn't work and if you launch it with "explorer c:\" you just get a normal Win7 explorer window popping up. The same with Win+F, you get that rubbishy Windows 7 find screen rather than the far more useful Windows 2000 one. I suspect, however, that the find screen is in a DLL rather than in explorer.exe.

Panda X
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 921
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:17 am

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by Panda X »

Hmm. I would like to test this.

Panda X
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 921
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:17 am

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by Panda X »

If you hacked together a hybrid XP theme into 7's msstyles it should look better.

linuxlove
Donator
Posts: 5897
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:56 am

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by linuxlove »

So it's possible to run XP or 2k's explorer under Windows 7 x64, but not on Windows 7 x86. Shame.
Goodbye.

xeeynamo
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:33 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by xeeynamo »

I'm unable to run it on my Win7 x64 machine. I use 6.0.2900.5512 of explorer.exe from Windows XP and I get 0xC0000142

cicvara
FTP Access
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by cicvara »

well whatever he did, is quite interesting

I know I tried to use w7 bld 6801 explorer in RTM of w7
coz I like the split buttons there and spaced tasbar buttons + when I get tired of w7 taskbar
I could (atleast in 6801) revert back to classic vista/xp taskbar with win7 file manager

RTM has all that kicked out, but end result was just major incompatibility

still can't believe it accepts XP's explorer lol
Image I want my burd

leomate
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 277
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 9:16 am
Location: HERE

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by leomate »

I remembered it a 2 month ago.
I upgrade winxp to 7 (xp file store in windows.old) i run in windows 7 32 bit and exactly like above.
Start menu doesnt work. Maybe need re-link dll files.

betaluva
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2068
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Australia

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by betaluva »

Never Fear,Captain Sweatpants is Here!
*http://osbetaworld.b1.jcink.com/*

kangaro
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 2:25 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by kangaro »

thanks for replies

Sorry that I didnt answer, i went to sleep. (In Slovakia,was evening :D )
Last edited by kangaro on Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image
|insert signature text and press enter| |insert signature text and press enter| |insert signature text and press enter|

kangaro
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 2:25 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by kangaro »

ThePro wrote:Try setting it up to use the classic start menu, might work

Also, amazing work!
Read carefully, several answers!
thanks :-), but classic start menu doesnt work (Doesnt open anyway - only icons move to the desktop)

Screen:
Image
&
Image

today, i try run explorer from vista :-)

@cicvara : Which vista / longhorn please?
-today I'll try win2k3

@TomKTW : No, explorer from 32BIT XP work only as desktop - if i run Folder (Computer, DOcuments,..) - the 7 explorer start :-)

@xeeynamo : You have to set XP SP3 compatibility mode, and rename file to explorer.exe. Then kill windows 7 explorer.exe and then run XP explorer.exe with task manager. :-) (I tryed this on 64BIT WIN7 and XP exp. was 32Bit)

oh, and WINVER dialog say that i use XP 2600 SP3 but logo is WINDOWS 7

Image



UPDATE: on my computer, win 2000 explorer.exe doesnt work (gave error) (i tryed compatibility mode and rename file to explorer.exe)
Image
Image
Image
|insert signature text and press enter| |insert signature text and press enter| |insert signature text and press enter|

DeFacto

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by DeFacto »

interesting...

cicvara
FTP Access
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by cicvara »

@cicvara : Which vista / longhorn please?
I'd personaly shoot for vista 5112-5231
Image I want my burd

tonychau77
Donator
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:34 am
Location: British Hong Kong
Contact:

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by tonychau77 »

Windows 7 build 2600 SP3??
Image
PayPal account frozen count: 1

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by Rob Jansen »

It is the Explorer from Windows XP on Windows 7, that is why the build is 2600 SP3..

SpiralVortex
FTP Access
Posts: 242
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:06 am

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by SpiralVortex »

Interesting, I didn't know until Kangaro's post that if launched from Explorer, winver reports the Explorer version rather than the Windows version - how odd!

Image

(Winver launched from Windows 2000 RTM's explorer on the left, Winver launched from Windows 7's Task Manager on the right).

Annoyingly the NT4 explorer.exe simply won't run, even if you fudge the executable to use renamed copies of the NT4 shell32.dll - you just get a 0xc000007b error (invalid image, ie not a valid executable). The renaming trick does work for getting the NT4 File Manager working under Windows 7, however. The shell preview version of Explorer likewise doesn't work.

Other bits from NT run quite happily though, if you fancy some fun you can even get the command processor running from the NT3.1 beta! (Side note: interesting to see the 1990 copyright date on there too - wonder what the OS looked like then!)

Image

z180
Donator
Posts: 982
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: In front of my Toughbook

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by z180 »

You could use the Explorer from an early server 2008 build.

I read that NT had a command-line similar to OS/2 when win32k subsystem was in the works and that the next NT release should have used the Cairo UI(Shell 2.0,OLE 2.0,improved commdlg),a cut down implementation appeared in Build 58s.
Stephen Elop….I curse you, that after your death your soul will be forever trapped in the sourcecode of Windows and one day Microsoft will fall because of that virus code!

bigski112
FTP Access
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:42 pm

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by bigski112 »

This is honestly amazing, good work!

I wonder why Microsoft done this?
BIG!

expertmac2
FTP Access
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:23 am

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by expertmac2 »

Amazing. I would really like to have XP's own explorer.exe working fully under Windows 7.

spunker88
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:04 am

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by spunker88 »

There was a version of IE6 that was modded to work on Vista at one point. But it was extremely unstable and many parts of the GUI rendered wrong. I was able to get this to switch to Explorer mode by entering a local drive address like C:. It looked more like the XP/2000 style Explorer. But it was even more unstable at this point.

Here is where I downloaded that copy of IE6 but it appears to not be for download anymoer:
http://tredosoft.com/IE6_For_Vista_Part_1
Image

dans34
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:35 am

Re: Windows XP x86 EXPLORER.EXE in Windows 7 x64 !!

Post by dans34 »

spunker88 wrote:
Here is where I downloaded that copy of IE6 but it appears to not be for download anymoer:
http://tredosoft.com/IE6_For_Vista_Part_1
http://tredosoft.com/files/ie6vista/ie6vista-alpha.msi

Post Reply