BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 27d, 12h, 31m | CPU: 10% | MEM: 5730MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows Home Server        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 2:09 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:32 pm

Posts
235

Location
New York

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Build 7600
So what do u think of the beta. Also did u get accepted. I only have tested on a virtual pc cuz i had no computer to test it on. I thought it was ok but i thought it would have more eye candy cuz it is newer. Maybe thats just me.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 2:46 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
I tried running it too in VPC, but ive given up out of boredom, i left it running in total about 5 hours and it still hasn't installed. it's not that ive got a slow computer, or being ungenerous with the memory im giving it, and the setup system is a mix of a couple different setup systems. i would have thought it would have been either a vista-style setup or a xp/s2k3 setup, instead of a mix of these two, and a special PE.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 2:50 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:10 pm

Posts
139

Location
Germania
Windows " Home " Server - hmm I dont like it -_- It's not a good Server OS, just try out win 2003 - it costs not much today :wink:


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 2:53 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Rhade™ wrote:
just try out win 2003 - it costs not much today :wink:

And you can get a free 180-Day Trial of the latest version from Microsoft's Site, or get it ordered on cd for free in some countries. It's a lot better.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 2:53 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Eyecandy? Why do you want eyecandy on a server? The thing's meant to be run headlessly. As for the OS in general, it's not bad, it's a simplified server "for the average Joe" (= home user), but as a full-blown server OS, it's not suitable.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:23 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
2003 hates me. I was given the job to set it up at my dads workplace and it worked great, for two hours... Then it restarts. Looked in the event viewer and its because Im not using it as a domain controller. Apparently 2003 HAS to be used as a domain controller... News to me.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
I guess it was okay, I installed it and deleted it
It wasn't the product I was loooking for


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:29 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Andy wrote:
Apparently 2003 HAS to be used as a domain controller... News to me.


I don't think so, you decide which servers on the network, if any, you want to be DCs.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:30 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Yes but it says in the log that it MUST be a domain controller to comply with the EULA agreement.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:31 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Andy wrote:
2003 hates me. I was given the job to set it up at my dads workplace and it worked great, for two hours... Then it restarts. Looked in the event viewer and its because Im not using it as a domain controller. Apparently 2003 HAS to be used as a domain controller... News to me.

Interesting... I've been running Server 2003 (all editions, including the Web Edition that can't act as a domain controller) on multiple machines and have never had such a problem IIRC. I'll have to dig further into this.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:32 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I meant to say Standard onwards, I know Web edition is an exception to this. But thats what it says in the log and its baffled me.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:32 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
What version of Server is that, i think some versions might require this, but most of the commonly available ones, such as Standard & Enterprise, don't require this.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:33 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Its the one bundled with small business server.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:36 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
According to Microsoft, this is a restriction on Small Business Server. I didn't realise that. I was going to install this in a Workgroup environment soon.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:39 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:32 pm

Posts
235

Location
New York

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Build 7600
well i just like eyecandy. If i want a server id like cool looks

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:47 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
hounsell wrote:
According to Microsoft, this is a restriction on Small Business Server. I didn't realise that. I was going to install this in a Workgroup environment soon.


But why restrict it? What if the company running it doesnt want domains, just like my dads workplace doesnt? They simply want a few shared drives with no domain, its not difficult. They only got 2003 because they were advised by the software people (who they are buying sage etc from).

Now they're stuck with a 2003 server that shuts down every 2 hours stopping them from doing work. Someone is coming in to set up a domain for them to try it out but this person lives and works 200 miles away. They need someone to maintain it and I won't be able to. I know nothing about domains... yet.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:50 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:32 pm

Posts
235

Location
New York

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Build 7600
the one problem with home server for me is the ram needed. I wanted to put it on my junk computer but i cant cuz it only has 128mb ram. Then i woulda used the features.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I believe Home Server only needs 512MB of RAM to install because of the WinPE2.0-based setup. Afterwards, you can reduce the RAM. I am pretty sure of that because it's the same with Vista and Longhorn Server.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:30 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:28 pm

Posts
352
I'm sure someone is going to be able to pull the installation cabs from the HS ISO and inject them into the next longhorn server build. Maybe I should do it, it's been too long since I've had a release...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 6:23 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
empireum wrote:
I believe Home Server only needs 512MB of RAM to install because of the WinPE2.0-based setup. Afterwards, you can reduce the RAM. I am pretty sure of that because it's the same with Vista and Longhorn Server.


It might be possible to install WHS (at least in its current form) manually without booting into the PE2.0 bit of the installation right at the start. You could boot a Dos disk and start the installer for the version of Windows 2003 that comes on the WHS DVD and then try to install all the WHS bits afterwards. Probably would be difficult to get it to work exactly the same as the real thing though.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 6:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yeah, but one could give it a try sometime...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 9:22 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:46 am

Posts
58
I've got a WHS invitation but haven't tried it,because the installation process says that it will format my whole harddisk,so...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 11:07 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:32 pm

Posts
235

Location
New York

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Build 7600
i never thought i would get accepted. Then one day i check my email and theres my invite.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 11:35 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
nix wrote:
I've got a WHS invitation but haven't tried it,because the installation process says that it will format my whole harddisk,so...

Yeah indeed, that's a bit inflexible (at least). That's why I initially also tried it in a VM...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 4:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:43 am

Posts
726

Favourite OS
SVR 2012R2/Win10
Image
I took the plunge and dedicated tonight to installing WHS on my server.
It took about 3 hours to finish. This is an actual photo of the system running a backup of my main rig. It rarely goes above 50% while doing the whole backup procedure, which is pretty nice.

I've connected all the PC's (except 1) to the server, and it worked flawlessly. I have to hand it to Microsoft - they really outdid themselves to make a decent product, after all these years.

Honestly, this is practically designed for every admin-wannabe, and should be a hit once it comes to the marketplace. I know I'll be forcing it on my customers... It's so simple.

- System Specs -
AMD Athlon XP 2500+
1.5GB DDR400 RAM
2x120GB IDE
1x200GB SATA, 1x250GB SATA


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS