BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 23d, 20h, 51m | CPU: 41% | MEM: 5616MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: NT5 1691 Confusion        Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:27 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:22 pm

Posts
694

Location
New Zealand

Favourite OS
Debian GNU/Linux 7.0
I had just downloaded NT 1691 from the milestone-1 ftp and I looked at DJ Rob's Windows Collection book to find the date to set and it said 1691 is a Memphis and the file in the rar says it's a cario build

The file I downloaded was

Microsoft Windows 2000 (''NT 5.0'' 5.00.1691.1) (Professional beta1).rar


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: NT5 1691 Confusion        Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:47 am 
Reply with quote
mewrox99 wrote:
I had just downloaded NT 1691 from the milestone-1 ftp and I looked at DJ Rob's Windows Collection book to find the date to set and it said 1691 is a Memphis and the file in the rar says it's a cario build

The file I downloaded was

Microsoft Windows 2000 (''NT 5.0'' 5.00.1691.1) (Professional beta1).rar


look at what date the winnt32.exe is and set this date, it theoretically should work.

there are several build that are nt AND 98 because they were independet from each other,

whatever, if the iso has an i386 folder its "memphis nt", aka windows 2000. it was never codenamed cairo, its just misslabeled....


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:49 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:22 pm

Posts
694

Location
New Zealand

Favourite OS
Debian GNU/Linux 7.0
The installer says it's a NT

Do you know the date for this build?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:24 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
There is a Windows 98 build (4.10.1691) and a Windows 2000 build (5.00.1691.1)...
The Win 98 is from the 16th February 1998 and the other one is from the 23rd October 1997.

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:31 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
None is needed and no serial is needed.

It's Called Memphis NT.
That's the Beta name of NT5 line (It has several, cairo, NT5 and Memphis NT).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:52 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:22 pm

Posts
694

Location
New Zealand

Favourite OS
Debian GNU/Linux 7.0
I can't install, Get BSOD in VPC '07

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:57 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
mewrox99 wrote:
I can't install, Get BSOD in VPC '07

<snip>


Most of the NT5 builds dont work in VPC 2007/VMWare, try VPC 4/5 or 2004.
Otherwise you can still try on real hardware (some older then today).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:01 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 07, 2007 11:08 pm

Posts
399

Location
Copenhagen, Denmark

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 95 OSR 2.1 RTM
DjRob wrote:
None is needed and no serial is needed.

It's Called Memphis NT.
That's the Beta name of NT5 line (It has several, cairo, NT5 and Memphis NT).


Wasn`t Cairo the codename for Windows explorer?

_________________
My gaming machine: AST Advantage 6066d. Cyrix 66MHz 486DX. 4MB RAM. 512KB Cirrus Logic onboard graphics. Creativa Vibra 16 ISA. 520MB HDD, 3.5" FDD, 40x CD-ROM. MS-DOS 6.22/Windows 3.1


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:05 pm 
Reply with quote
hjort wrote:
DjRob wrote:
None is needed and no serial is needed.

It's Called Memphis NT.
That's the Beta name of NT5 line (It has several, cairo, NT5 and Memphis NT).


Wasn`t Cairo the codename for Windows explorer?


well, it was the codename for the nt 4 gui, so, take the 95 explorer to nt, but not the explorer directly ;)


Top
 PostPost subject: Re:        Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:52 am

Posts
890

Location
United States

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2008 Standard
DjRob wrote:
Most of the NT5 builds dont work in VPC 2007/VMWare

Yes they do, every NT 5.0 build I tried works in VPC 2007. If it gives a BSOD, you need to open winnt.exe by using a DOS Bootdisk. Also, for every build that can't boot up, you need to create and format a partition otherwise it will not install...

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re:        Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:35 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
595
mewrox99 wrote:
I can't install, Get BSOD in VPC '07

snip


Strange. MS KB says about disk mirroring in NT 3.1 AS, an Experts-Exchange page (I don't have an account and don't tell me the hidden location of the solutions) says about an error similar to INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE (but in WinXP, this should never happen in virtualization).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: NT5 1691 Confusion        Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
Newer x86 processor will have trouble with older Windows NT builds. Windows NT also cannot recognize newer hdds due to driver issues.

Use a VM that uses IDE(PATA) or SCSI.
Also disable some of the newer functions such as Cool 'N' Quiet, CPUID and etc. You have to do some research on that. If you bought a system from an OEM, then you're out of luck. (you cannot disable them)

The best way is to get a older system. P3 works great with Windows NT.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: NT5 1691 Confusion        Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 12:25 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:22 pm

Posts
694

Location
New Zealand

Favourite OS
Debian GNU/Linux 7.0
I have a old Pentium 3 800Mhz, 128Mb Ram, 8GB IDE from Acer but the little L-ion battery inside it is missing so it can't keep the time, will the build still install and run

_________________
Core 2 Quad Q8400, 8Gb DDR3, ATI HD4850, 1Tb Seagate, Windows 7 Ultimate X64


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: NT5 1691 Confusion        Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 12:27 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
mewrox99 wrote:
I have a old Pentium 3 800Mhz, 128Mb Ram, 8GB IDE from Acer but the little L-ion battery inside it is missing so it can't keep the time, will the build still install and run

Those batteries are pretty cheap, no more expensive than a watch battery in most cases, might be worth your trouble replacing it...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: NT5 1691 Confusion        Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 12:29 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
i imagine it would but you would have to try to see.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: NT5 1691 Confusion        Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 12:34 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:52 am

Posts
890

Location
United States

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2008 Standard
XDude wrote:
P3 works great with Windows NT.

P2 works great as well, when I tried the Beta 3 builds of Windows 2000 it could not support my AMD64 CPU, so I disabled hardware virtualization, so that it will emulate a Pentium II processor instead of my CPU.

(Virtual PC 2004 doesn't have hardware virtualization)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: NT5 1691 Confusion        Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 2:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2406
It also works great on AMD K6s. I have it running on a AMD K6-2 Box right now.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS