BetaArchive
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/

Integrating SP3 into XP MCE 05?
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=5340
Page 1 of 1

Author:  QuiescentWonder [ Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:09 am ]
Post subject:  Integrating SP3 into XP MCE 05?

Does anyone know if this is possible? From everything I've read, no one knows how. The issue is that in order to install SP3 you have to install Update Rollup 2 first. In order to install that you need the .NET Framework, which can't be integrated into the XP disc, as far as I've read. Does anyone know if someone has figured out a solution to this that doesn't involve installing it during the XP installer but actually having it integrated?

Author:  netman85am [ Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:31 am ]
Post subject: 

note i am no expert on this and i've never done it before but heres what i think you could do if its possible:
-get a vm and install mce 05
- first thing afterwards get a piece of software that can delta your disk/system,program files, &registry keys.(make sure you dont do anything after the first image is made that you dont want reflected)
-Install .net fw (maybe ur 2 or sp3 as well)
-make a delta of the disk base being clean install
-integrate the delta into the installer or have it so it installs during setup, like an additional windows component,or install it afterwards

just my .02
-matt

Author:  supreme win3x [ Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:41 am ]
Post subject: 

Use NLite to integrate sp3 in your cd.

Author:  jimmsta [ Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:44 am ]
Post subject: 

I've been posting with my alter-ego on Microsoft's forums for the past few months regarding the issue. They seem to be completely against supporting MCE users with SP3. One user on there said that you can backup your medctr.in_ file, and restore it after slipstreaming SP3 - this does not work quite right. There's other solutions, but for now, keep an eye on the thread over at MSFT's Forums: http://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/Sho ... &SiteID=17

Author:  QuiescentWonder [ Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:58 pm ]
Post subject: 

supreme win3x wrote:
Use NLite to integrate sp3 in your cd.


That was my first thought... that's how i integrated it into every other copy of XP. It doesn't work for MCE though.

Thanks jimmsta.

Author:  Syther [ Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:51 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hello,

There is a Program similiar to Nlite and it works also with SP3 and MCE. It´s called Winfuture Iso Builder, i did a integrated iso with it but it´s in german. you can find it here: http://www.winfuture-downloads.de/8ee93a52616356f4a426ca60552fec43/48b87d53/XPISOBuilder/xp-Iso-Builder_3.0.7.exe

Hope it helps u :)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/