BetaArchive
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/

Windows NT 5.0 (Windows 2000 build 2000) halted CPU
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=41298
Page 1 of 1

Author:  SkyeVega405 [ Fri May 22, 2020 6:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Windows NT 5.0 (Windows 2000 build 2000) halted CPU

I've been trying to install Windows NT5.0 build 2000 on VMware and Virtualbox. On VMware I get the message that the "virtual CPU has entered the shutdown state" once the installer gets to "Setup is starting Windows 2000", and on VirtualBox I get the "Guru Meditation" error once the installer gets to "Setup is loading files (Windows NT File System (NTFS))..."

Could this be a configuration issue since both VM softwares detect it as Windows 2000, is this build broken, or are there some lines I have to add to the config files.

Help with installing this in VMware would be preferable since it's my software of choice - VirtualBox is too simplistic and the UI looks like it was designed by a 5 year old child.

Author:  PlyrStar93 [ Fri May 22, 2020 7:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows NT 5.0 (Windows 2000 build 2000) halted CPU

You may need these two extra steps as workaround (VMware):

1. When creating the VM, choose "Windows NT" as the guest OS
2. Open the created .vmx, add a line acpi.present = "FALSE"

It should be fine to stick with latest hardware compatibility (15.x) and/or adjust guest RAM and hard disk size as necessary. Just remember to set the correct BIOS date and make sure time synchronization is turned off.

Author:  SkyeVega405 [ Fri May 22, 2020 7:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows NT 5.0 (Windows 2000 build 2000) halted CPU

I added the ACPI.present false line as I did with whislter, but not the others, I'll give them a try

Author:  PlyrStar93 [ Fri May 22, 2020 8:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows NT 5.0 (Windows 2000 build 2000) halted CPU

On a second test I had the following results:

- VM hangs at "Setup is starting Windows 2000" if I don't add ACPI.present = "FALSE"
- VM goes to CPU shutdown state if I choose any "Windows 2000" options for guest OS when creating the VM

So both steps seem to be needed for the workaround.

Author:  SkyeVega405 [ Fri May 22, 2020 8:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows NT 5.0 (Windows 2000 build 2000) halted CPU

After setting my VM as Windows NT during creation, and adding the acpi.present = "FALSE" line to my VMX, I'm now installing build 2000 in VMware, thanks for the help!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/