BetaArchive
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/

Problem with NT 5.0 Build 1902
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=40358
Page 1 of 1

Author:  vlad557776 [ Sun Sep 29, 2019 2:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Problem with NT 5.0 Build 1902

Hi everyone.

Today I tried to install a build of Windows 2000.

I tried that on 3 different emulators.

1)PCem - no support for DMF floppies, so errors while creating boot floppies; INACCESIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE if using winnt /b; NTLDR is missing if using VMWare-created floppies
2)86box - 1701(just this number shows up, nothing more) after going through BIOS;
3)VMware Player - hangs at "Setup is starting Windows NT", but successfully creates boot floppies.
I'll let VMware sit on "Setup is starting Windows NT" for some time, maybe it just needs some time.

Can someone help me?

Edit: Just tested VMware again and it's now saying "A fault has occurred causing a virtual CPU to enter the shutdown state. If this fault had occurred outside of a virtual machine, it would have caused the physical machine to restart. The shutdown state can be reached by incorrectly configuring the virtual machine, a bug in the guest operating system, or a problem in VMware Player.

Click OK to restart the virtual machine or Cancel to power off the virtual machine."

Author:  oscareczek [ Sun Sep 29, 2019 3:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with NT 5.0 Build 1902

2) try different BIOS…?
Besides, aren't the boot floppies on \BOOTDISK on iso?

Author:  MCpillager12 [ Sun Sep 29, 2019 3:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with NT 5.0 Build 1902

You do not need to use DMF floppies, 1.44mb floppies also work.

Author:  vlad557776 [ Sun Sep 29, 2019 4:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with NT 5.0 Build 1902

oscareczek wrote:
2) try different BIOS…?
Besides, aren't the boot floppies on \BOOTDISK on iso?


According to TCB, Setup hangs if booting from the CD.

Author:  tarquin44 [ Sun Sep 29, 2019 4:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with NT 5.0 Build 1902

It installs easily on 86box, using a Windows 95 boot disk and winnt /b.

Author:  AlphaBeta [ Sun Sep 29, 2019 6:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with NT 5.0 Build 1902

vlad557776 wrote:
oscareczek wrote:
2) try different BIOS…?
Besides, aren't the boot floppies on \BOOTDISK on iso?


According to TCB, Setup hangs if booting from the CD.

If you boot from the boot floppies in \BOOTDISK, then you're not booting from the CD anymore.

Author:  AussieCartoonFan2001A [ Mon Sep 30, 2019 7:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with NT 5.0 Build 1902

Use Virtual PC 2007 and Install Windows NT 5.0 Workstation Build 1877 first

Author:  vlad557776 [ Mon Sep 30, 2019 7:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with NT 5.0 Build 1902

AussieCartoonFan2001A wrote:
Use Virtual PC 2007 and Install Windows NT 5.0 Workstation Build 1877 first


I'm on a 64-bit Windows 10.

Author:  vlad557776 [ Mon Sep 30, 2019 10:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with NT 5.0 Build 1902

MCpillager12 wrote:
You do not need to use DMF floppies, 1.44mb floppies also work.


Thanks, it worked.

AlphaBeta wrote:
vlad557776 wrote:
oscareczek wrote:
2) try different BIOS…?
Besides, aren't the boot floppies on \BOOTDISK on iso?


According to TCB, Setup hangs if booting from the CD.

If you boot from the boot floppies in \BOOTDISK, then you're not booting from the CD anymore.


I have an incomplete ISO - only some file which is definitely not a bootdisk and i386 directory.

tarquin44 wrote:
It installs easily on 86box, using a Windows 95 boot disk and winnt /b.


I ended up using 3 boot floppies because winnt /b didn't work.

That 1701 was happening because I chose an incorrect HD controller while configuring 86box.

Author:  JennyTheOSCollector [ Sat Nov 02, 2019 12:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with NT 5.0 Build 1902

Just update from NT4.0 on VMWare!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/