BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 2d, 17h, 36m | CPU: 32% | MEM: 1755MB of 3173MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: cannot delete folders        Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 7:40 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:44 am

Posts
98

Location
Port Orchard, WA
recently I noticed that i cannot remove any folder from one of my drives... my user drive to be more exact. I'm not exactly sure why either...

I apparently have full control over the drive, but whenever I try to remove a folder, I get a "denied" message.

The contents of the folder(s) are deletable.
I checked security permissions, check read-only status, and I am administrator. folders on other drives can also be deleted.

I noticed this problem started happening after i installed some updates the other day (which lead to requiring a restart)


Top  Profile  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:12 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
I had this sometime too, altough it wasnt after an update.

There is maybe a hidden file still in use (if you cant see it, it can be a system-file)
Try to reboot and directly after the reboot try to delete the folder.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:31 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm

Posts
228

Location
North England.
Safemode?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 1:38 pm 
Reply with quote
The latest version of eraser will erase those normally un-deletable files on a reboot...
After installing it, attempt to erase the file using eraser, if it wont erase,
it'll ask you if you want to erase it on the next reboot, choose yes then
reboot, it'll erase it before the gui loads...
It's freeware...


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 4:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 27, 2008 8:09 pm

Posts
3935

Favourite OS
OS X 10.8
Oddly enough, I noticed I had this problem waaay back when on the RC1 Build of Windows Vista. A reinstall fixed the issue for me and I have yet to see it on any later build - very strange.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 4:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Does it work if you first delete all the subfolders from the folder? (you have to start from the deepest level ie folders with no folders inside them until you reach the main folder that you are trying to delete). This seems a problem on Vista with certain folders (I've had it consistently on 3 different Vista PCs), especially the Start Menu, though it finally seems to have gone away with SP1.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:52 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:44 am

Posts
98

Location
Port Orchard, WA
alright, after trying various things I finally just used system restore to restore back to before I installed these updates. I then installed the updates once more and was able to delete these folders after a restart.

huh.

I don't think I installed anything since those updates, but it is possible.


Top  Profile  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 7:29 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
I have a similar problem, if anyone can help.

I created a folder named "......" so now i can't delete it. It says that "Cannot read from the source file or disk"


Some "properties"

Path: D:\......
Filesystem: FAT32

It says Type of file: File Folder
Opens with: Unknown (Change)

Size: 0 bytes
Size on disk: 0 bytes

Created: [blank]
Modified: [blank]
Accessed: [blank]

Any help? Suggestions?

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 7:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Does deleting from a cmd window like this (NT only)
Code:
rmdir /s /q \\?\c:\path_to_folder\.....

work? Please make absolutely sure that you enter the correct path, i.e. \\?\ and then the path to the folder you want to delete.

As a side-note, it is a very bad idea to create folders with names like ".", "..", any number of points, "con" and some others. These are names used internally and in your case, "....." seems to refer to a folder/path above the current one which doesn't exist, that's why the system gives up.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:56 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
Thanks! It worked. :D


It was starting to become a nuisance to me =P

Anyway, i learned my lesson.

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 9:13 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
How did you even manage to create such a folder, just out of interest? I tried in a virtual machine and it said "you must type a filename" if I tried to save a folder with 5 dots as the name, and trying from the command line it said "access is denied".

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 9:17 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
Well, for my extraction program (i use a free one called TugZIP google it)


I was extracting something one time (i can't remember what now, nothing important i think) and it asks for a directory to extract, and if it doesnt find it it creates one. I entered the wierd path and *boom* the folder was made.


BTW, it was six dots, not five :P

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS