BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 23d, 4h, 53m | CPU: 19% | MEM: 5526MB of 10831MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows NT 3.1 - 3.51 on Internet through VPC?        Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:05 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Can it be done? It works in NT4, and I can Telnet through NT3.51, but there's no Telnet in 3.1, and no Internet access capability (apparently) in NT3.51.

I have the network arrangement set to NAT in the VPC config file, as that's always worked before. Is ther something else I need to do to get these earlier systems to work?

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 3:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:33 pm

Posts
3899

Location
Where do you want to go today?

Favourite OS
All Microsoft operating systems!
Are you sure that the drivers you're using are designed for Windows NT 3.x? The drivers you're using might not be compatible with Windows NT 3.51 or earlier. Maybe I should consider using VPC to browse the net. I would really love to use Chicago Build 58s (Or an earlier build if we ever get one) to browse the net. :P


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:06 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
NT 3.51 can telnet, though, so that's what's making me wonder. Perhaps it's because I'm using the earlier browsers that look for a phone-line connection instead of just going straight to the Internet. I'm installing Firefox (well, Phoenix) onto the NT 3.51 box to have a play with.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:25 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:13 pm

Posts
130

Location
France
Image
It is not my screenshot.
Some docs here.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
932
Windows 3.1 used a different TCP/IP stack called "Spider". This was actually a port from BSD... so the tools to go with it were bound to what MS could port. When Windows 3.51 came around, Microsoft wrote their own stack, which allowed them an easier time writing net applications.

Details can be found at:
http://www.kuro5hin.org/?op=displaystor ... 05641/7357
and
http://slashdot.org/comments.pl?sid=96614&cid=8265304


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 6:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:04 pm

Posts
2797

Favourite OS
Anything checked :P
...and on the NT3.51Server CD, there's that same TCPIP stack for wfw3.11...

_________________
C H E C K E D . B U I L D S . A R E . A W E S O M E N E S S

Glitch City Laboratories ForumsSoftHistory Forumsirc.rol.im #softhistory,#galaxy

If you like my posts, donate me Dogecoin: DLnZV8DS3CaZmLKAVxL2aMijY2vUZeyjBi


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:15 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:33 pm

Posts
3899

Location
Where do you want to go today?

Favourite OS
All Microsoft operating systems!
RentedMule wrote:
Windows 3.1 used a different TCP/IP stack called "Spider". This was actually a port from BSD... so the tools to go with it were bound to what MS could port. When Windows 3.51 came around, Microsoft wrote their own stack, which allowed them an easier time writing net applications.

Details can be found at:
http://www.kuro5hin.org/?op=displaystor ... 05641/7357
and
http://slashdot.org/comments.pl?sid=96614&cid=8265304
"Windows 3.51" never existed. You mean Windows NT 3.51.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
So: I've read both of those, but they don't really help me. What do I need to do, in order to get Internet access on NT 3.1 - 3.51?

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
932
WinPC wrote:
"Windows 3.51" never existed. You mean Windows NT 3.51.


Holy jesus man. Way to nitpick. Of course that is what I meant. Did it keep you up late thinking about the two missing letters?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:47 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:33 pm

Posts
3899

Location
Where do you want to go today?

Favourite OS
All Microsoft operating systems!
RentedMule wrote:
WinPC wrote:
"Windows 3.51" never existed. You mean Windows NT 3.51.


Holy jesus man. Way to nitpick. Of course that is what I meant. Did it keep you up late thinking about the two missing letters?
I knew what you meant, but I didn't want your post to be misleading. I don't want anyone here getting confused, that's all.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
WinPC wrote:
RentedMule wrote:
WinPC wrote:
"Windows 3.51" never existed. You mean Windows NT 3.51.


Holy jesus man. Way to nitpick. Of course that is what I meant. Did it keep you up late thinking about the two missing letters?
I knew what you meant, but I didn't want your post to be misleading. I don't want anyone here getting confused, that's all.


The topic says already NT 3.1.
But for some its confusing but for the most its not because of the topic header.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 11, 2006 7:52 pm

Posts
98

Location
Austria
seems the Driver for the virtual NIC are not working (if you have installed them)
you need Intel or DEC DC21X4-Drivers, NT3.51 didn't have them with it
I don't know if there also existing NT3.1-Drivers, the NT3.5x/4-Ones didn't work for NT3.1


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 4:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I had internet access working in NT 3.51 w/SP5, in VPC2004 IIRC. All I did was set it to "virtual switch" (no NAT as that caused me trouble) so the VM got an IP address from my router via DHCP just as any other system on the network. Then I installed Netscape and it worked just fine.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows NT 3.1 - 3.51 on Internet through VPC?        Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:19 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 31, 2008 7:29 pm

Posts
1428

Location
SE Asia

Favourite OS
MS-DOS 3.30a & Windows/386!
Ok ok, I know this is old but I'm going to add a major tip here.

Windows NT 3.1 has no support for PCI busses. So for Virtual PC it'll never work.

I know it's a DRAG.

Qemu 0.90 & beyond can get you on the network, with an ISA ne2000...

Just as it doesn't support IDE CD-ROM's... it's not all that usefull.. SQL 4.21 was as good as NT got back then..

_________________
"Those who don't understand UNIX are condemned to reinvent it, poorly." – Henry Spencer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows NT 3.1 - 3.51 on Internet through VPC?        Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:32 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
OK, thanks. I might just build a 'real' box to play around with it on, then.

Would anyone recommend a particular NIC for it?

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows NT 3.1 - 3.51 on Internet through VPC?        Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:32 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 31, 2008 7:29 pm

Posts
1428

Location
SE Asia

Favourite OS
MS-DOS 3.30a & Windows/386!
NE2000's are great for old OS's as almost everything out there has an NE2000 driver...
You can find real ones, or the thousands of clones.. I like the ones with jumpers as the softset ones may be useless without the softset program.. But I recall so many of them working with the same program...

3com etherlink III's are ok too, along with some Intel ethernet cards...

Just make sure they are ISA...

You could also run NT 3.1 in a P4 motherboard that has ISA slots... These machines are not cheap by any stretch but I was able to run all kinds of obsolete stuff on a P4 3Ghz with ISA... Sadly the machine didn't survive me moving :cry:

_________________
"Those who don't understand UNIX are condemned to reinvent it, poorly." – Henry Spencer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows NT 3.1 - 3.51 on Internet through VPC?        Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:43 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 31, 2008 7:29 pm

Posts
1428

Location
SE Asia

Favourite OS
MS-DOS 3.30a & Windows/386!
Well this looks like a never say never kind of thing...

I found this german forum that likes to play with NT.. and it seemst that there is infact an AMD pcnet driver with it's own PCI support!

http://www.winhistory-forum.net/windows ... -nics.html

You can download the driver here:
http://www.ari-service.com/ftp/d-other/11265315.exe

I can confirm that Qemu's pcnet worked with it... I think it may help VMware users as I recall it using an AMD pcnet..?

Virtual PC does the DEC 21140 ... Which they had listed a driver here:
http://ftp.uma.es/Drivers/TRED/GENIUS/G ... F10011.EXE

And I just confirmed it works!


Quote:
C:\>ftp 10.0.1.200
Connected to 10.0.1.200.
220 nt31 Windows NT FTP Server (Version 1.0).
User (10.0.1.200:(none)): anonymous
331 Anonymous access allowed, send identity (e-mail name) as password.
Password:
230 Anonymous user logged in as guest.
ftp>


And the 'cheezy' fix for multicore cpu's is to alter the virtualpc.exe 's afinity to only a single core (pick only 1) and then boost it's priority... It helps a LOT.

_________________
"Those who don't understand UNIX are condemned to reinvent it, poorly." – Henry Spencer


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS