BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 57d, 19h, 35m | CPU: 11% | MEM: 5751MB of 10637MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows NT 3.1 with 4 MB ram        Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:43 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 07, 2007 11:08 pm

Posts
399

Location
Copenhagen, Denmark

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 95 OSR 2.1 RTM
Hi

I`m trying to install Windows NT 3.1 Workstation on a old AST computer, with 4 MB ram. After first reboot i get this "you do not have enough random access memory to run Windows NT" error. Is there any way i can remove the minimum memory check?

_________________
My gaming machine: AST Advantage 6066d. Cyrix 66MHz 486DX. 4MB RAM. 512KB Cirrus Logic onboard graphics. Creativa Vibra 16 ISA. 520MB HDD, 3.5" FDD, 40x CD-ROM. MS-DOS 6.22/Windows 3.1


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:45 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2406
The code is still there in the Windows Server 2003 loader, but it is never executed.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:53 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:03 am

Posts
28

Location
Seattle, WA
Considering the minimum for NT 3.1 is 16 MB and given how poorly it runs with that little, I'm not sure why you would want to bypass the check.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:10 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:21 am

Posts
2068

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Neptune/Whistler2419/Linux Mint
find dosnet.inf in the i386 folder and change the min memory to = 1024 ,it works on windows nt 4,2000 and xp so i cant see why it wont work on nt 3.1?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:13 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
You really wouldn't be happy with the result...

Consider installing Windows 95? You maybe able to actually run Office 95 with it...

If you just want to play with the OS, why not use an emulator?

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 7:41 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 07, 2007 11:08 pm

Posts
399

Location
Copenhagen, Denmark

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 95 OSR 2.1 RTM
betaluva wrote:
find dosnet.inf in the i386 folder and change the min memory to = 1024 ,it works on windows nt 4,2000 and xp so i cant see why it wont work on nt 3.1?

Thanks. I`ll try that :D


Frozenport wrote:
You really wouldn't be happy with the result...

Consider installing Windows 95? You maybe able to actually run Office 95 with it...

If you just want to play with the OS, why not use an emulator??

I know it`s not the best OS for a computer with 4 MB ram. But i really want to play around with NT 3.1 on real hardware.

_________________
My gaming machine: AST Advantage 6066d. Cyrix 66MHz 486DX. 4MB RAM. 512KB Cirrus Logic onboard graphics. Creativa Vibra 16 ISA. 520MB HDD, 3.5" FDD, 40x CD-ROM. MS-DOS 6.22/Windows 3.1


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS