BetaArchive
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/

Windows NT 3.1 build 438 beta
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=3483
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Tootles [ Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:45 am ]
Post subject:  Windows NT 3.1 build 438 beta

Has anyone got this to work? I've tried and tried, but it keeps losing loads of files. I got the patch into it, but it just didn't want to happen :(.

Author:  rws7 [ Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:48 am ]
Post subject: 

Are you using a fast PC? I tried installing NT 3.1 inside VM, and it doesn't like the speed of my PC. Any suggestions?

Author:  Unknown [ Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows NT 3.1 build 438 beta

marktuson wrote:
Has anyone got this to work? I've tried and tried, but it keeps losing loads of files. I got the patch into it, but it just didn't want to happen :(.

Is the patch meant to be used on a beta?
I thought they were made for the retail builds.
A quick look at the retail builds equivalent 2 files reveals a different layout to the beta versions.

Author:  Tootles [ Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:21 am ]
Post subject: 

I'm trying to do it in VirtualPC. The Release version works fine, just as long as you patch it properly.

Author:  zdanee [ Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:31 am ]
Post subject: 

I couldnt make the retail version run either. Can you plz share a VHD?

Author:  Tootles [ Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:57 pm ]
Post subject: 

I'm ordering a new website soon, so my present one will have to come down, but I'm going to put up a VHD of WindowsNT 3.1, just with the patch on it, with final installation left to the user. PM me (so I don't forget), and I'll get in touch when it's ready.

Author:  Namronia [ Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:37 am ]
Post subject: 

i dont know if you want to see, but my friend installed it and made screenshots for my homepage, i think its 438 ;)


http://history.winusers.de/Betas/ntbeta.html

Author:  betamaster [ Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:21 am ]
Post subject: 

This works for me on Virtual PC on version 2007.

Author:  Tootles [ Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows NT 3.1 build 438 beta

Just actually read the posts and realised:

Unknown wrote:
Is the patch meant to be used on a beta?
I thought they were made for the retail builds.
A quick look at the retail builds equivalent 2 files reveals a different layout to the beta versions.


Oh, guff. I'll have to make a new patch then.

Author:  Unknown [ Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows NT 3.1 build 438 beta

marktuson wrote:
Just actually read the posts and realised:

Unknown wrote:
Is the patch meant to be used on a beta?
I thought they were made for the retail builds.
A quick look at the retail builds equivalent 2 files reveals a different layout to the beta versions.


Oh, guff. I'll have to make a new patch then.

Someone seems to have a working patch, there's already screens of this here in the screens section,
if the setup screens are anything to go by, it looks as though it's taken from within a virtual machine
of some sort.

EDIT - and for the earlier build 404 as well it seems.

Author:  empireum [ Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows NT 3.1 build 438 beta

Unknown wrote:
marktuson wrote:
Just actually read the posts and realised:

Unknown wrote:
Is the patch meant to be used on a beta?
I thought they were made for the retail builds.
A quick look at the retail builds equivalent 2 files reveals a different layout to the beta versions.


Oh, guff. I'll have to make a new patch then.

Someone seems to have a working patch, there's already screens of this here in the screens section,
if the setup screens are anything to go by, it looks as though it's taken from within a virtual machine
of some sort.

EDIT - and for the earlier build 404 as well it seems.

These screenshots are from KenOath and I'm sure he knows how to edit the inf files appropriately to fool the setup into thinking it's a 586 CPU (as that is what the patch does AFAIK).

Author:  Tootles [ Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:04 am ]
Post subject: 

I know how to do it, I just didn't know I'd have to do it again with a seperate set of files.

Author:  Tootles [ Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:07 pm ]
Post subject: 

I've got it working. Decided to go with 386, not 586; the performance is pretty much the same.

Are there any earlier builds around? Love to see if there are some really early ones, like the Chicago builds in relation to Windows 95.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/