BetaArchive
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/

Windows 2000 Boot-Up time
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=3407
Page 2 of 2

Author:  inxsfan92 [ Mon Jan 21, 2008 10:48 pm ]
Post subject: 

don't macs have no bios?

Author:  Kenneth [ Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:35 pm ]
Post subject: 

Intel Macs have EFI.

Author:  empireum [ Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:59 am ]
Post subject: 

And PowerPC Macs have OpenFirmware.

Author:  Vista Ultimate R2 [ Tue Jan 22, 2008 4:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows 2000 Boot-Up time

troyoda1990 wrote:
Every day, the boot POST time increases a second. :S I seriously cannot wait for my iMac or a new computer at least.

Have you checked that you don't have some kind of hardware problem that is causing this? eg have you tested your memory? Mac's boot insanely fast though - I recently did a little test on this and found that my brand new Vista machine (dual-core, 4 GB memory etc) boots from pressing the power button to having a full desktop in exactly the same amount of time (40 seconds) as my 9-year-old Power Mac running OS X Tiger :P

Author:  ddrmaxromance [ Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Windows 2000 Boot-Up time

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
troyoda1990 wrote:
Every day, the boot POST time increases a second. :S I seriously cannot wait for my iMac or a new computer at least.

Have you checked that you don't have some kind of hardware problem that is causing this? eg have you tested your memory? Mac's boot insanely fast though - I recently did a little test on this and found that my brand new Vista machine (dual-core, 4 GB memory etc) boots from pressing the power button to having a full desktop in exactly the same amount of time (40 seconds) as my 9-year-old Power Mac running OS X Tiger :P
I don't think so. All I remember was when my hard drive died on me (the 40 GB), I had to bring back the original manufacturer 5GB drive to use the computer again. Ever since then, the loading times are slower, and again, the RAM reads 2 MB less than what is really installed. It never did that with the 40GB drive and everything was great with that. But everytime I use the drive, it screws up everything.

Regardless, it's old. Need to upgrade.

Author:  Vista Ultimate R2 [ Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:34 pm ]
Post subject: 

Maybe try a new drive, I noticed a big speed increase when I changed the old drive in my Mac for a new 7,200 RPM one (and the G4 CPU seemed to reduce boot time too, probably Tiger is optimised for AltiVec).

Author:  win2k8man [ Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:42 pm ]
Post subject: 

sucks i can't run windows 2000 on my pc
and when i did have it installed on another pc the boot time i was getting
was awesome
very quick

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/