BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 28d, 22h, 52m | CPU: 20% | MEM: 5828MB of 10703MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Convert XP corporate (volume) edition to retail        Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 8:10 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
I don't want the files or anything, I just want to know is it possible and how.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 8:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I think it is possible, you just need to replace a handful of files and change an entry in the setupp.ini.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 8:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
I'm not sure if taking retail files from an english installation to replace a corporate french or german build would work.

Of course they have to be the same service pack.

Also, anyone know what does the extradata in the setupp.ini do?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 3:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:21 am

Posts
2068

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Neptune/Whistler2419/Linux Mint
why would you want to? you know you will have to activate if you convert to retail?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 4:53 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
You only have to replace some numbers in the setupp.ini, that file is read just before partitioning.

This i had to do with my torrent downloaded XP Pro RTM OEM disc to change it in a Corporate.


Off-topic:
I have just open a file called setup.16 in the XP professional CD and its says:

Quote:
[setup]
help = setup.hlp

; Place any programs here that should be run at the end of setup.
; These apps will be run in order of their appearance here.
[run]

[dialog]
caption = "Windows Setup"
exit = "Exit Windows Setup"
title = "Installing Windows 3.1"
options = "In addition to installing Windows 3.1, you can:"
printwait = "Please wait while Setup configures your printer(s)..."
copywait = "Welcome to Microsoft Windows 3.1!\n\n - If you're new to Windows, see 'A Brief Tour of\n Microsoft Windows' in the Getting Started book.\n\n - If you've used Windows before, see 'New\n in This Version' in the Getting Started book."

copywait4="Make sure you register your copy of Microsoft Windows 3.1.\nWhen you register, Microsoft will:\n\n - Notify you of product updates and new product releases.\n\n - Send you a FREE Windows newsletter."

copywait5 = "\n\nThis would be a great time to remove the serial number label\n from the inside back cover of the Getting Started with Windows\nbook and place it on your computer for future reference."

[data]
; Disk space required
; <type>= <Full>, <Min>

upd2x386full = 10000000,6144000 ; 10.0 Mb, 6.144 Mb
upd2x286full = 9000000,6144000 ; 9.0 Mb, 6.144 Mb
upd3x386full = 5500000,5000000 ; 5.5 Mb, 5.0 Mb
upd3x286full = 5500000,5000000 ; 5.5 Mb, 5.0 Mb

new386full = 10000000,6144000 ; 10.0 Mb, 6.144 Mb
new286full = 9000000,6144000 ; 9.0 Mb, 6.144 Mb

netadmin = 16000000 ; 16.0 Mb
netadminupd = 16000000 ; 16.0 Mb
upd2x386net = 300000 ; .3 Mb
upd3x386net = 300000 ; .3 Mb
upd2x286net = 300000 ; .3 Mb
upd3x286net = 300000 ; .3 Mb
new386net = 300000,300000 ; .3 Mb, .3 Mb
new286net = 300000,300000 ; .3 Mb, .3 Mb



; Defaults used in setting up and names of a few files
startup = WIN.COM
defdir = C:\WINDOWS
shortname = Windows
welcome = "Windows 3.1"
deflang = enu
defxlat = 437
defkeydll = usadll
register = "regedit /s /u setup.reg"
tutor = "wintutor.exe "
NetSetup = FALSE
MouseDrv = TRUE
Version = "3.1.040"

; This is data needed by the MS-DOS half of setup so that it can copy the
; proper kernel and start Windows for the GUI portion of setup.
;
; ** MS-DOS documentation says that first byte of command line for 4a call
; ** should be space. ==> in execcmd RHS leave first space as it is now
[winexec]
execstd = "dosx.exe "
execcmd = " krnl286.exe /b /q:"
exechimem = "xmsmmgr.exe"
himemcmd = ""
Krnl386 = 2:krnl386.exe
Krnl286 = 2:krnl286.exe
dosx = 2:dosx.exe

; Names of the disks Setup can prompt for.
[disks]
1 =. ,"Microsoft Windows 3.1 Disk #1",disk1
2 =. ,"Microsoft Windows 3.1 Disk #2",disk2
3 =. ,"Microsoft Windows 3.1 Disk #3",disk3
4 =. ,"Microsoft Windows 3.1 Disk #4",disk4
5 =. ,"Microsoft Windows 3.1 Disk #5",disk5
6 =. ,"Microsoft Windows 3.1 Disk #6",disk6
7 =. ,"Microsoft Windows 3.1 Disk #7",disk7

-- END OF COPY FOR QUOTE NOT END OF PAGE--


That is just so funny, When you install XP its install 3.1 for you.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:34 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
I get license problems if I used retail files from a language and replace corporate files from another language. Even if it's the same service pack.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 4:32 am 
Reply with quote
Have you tried simply changing the 270 in the setupp.ini to all zeros,
then using a retail key.
I was sure that still worked, & gave 30 days to activate if my memory
serves me right.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 5:07 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:21 am

Posts
2068

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Neptune/Whistler2419/Linux Mint
dont mix languages, it wont work.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS