BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 27d, 8h, 57m | CPU: 27% | MEM: 5623MB of 10759MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: windows home server install problem        Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 1:08 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
When i try to install it in a vm, it says "no hard drive capable of installing, would you like to install additional drivers?" i then choose one then it says, "txtsetup.oem not found, please refer to the windows home server documentation for more information.

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 1:13 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Try to install it VMWare with an IDE hard drive not a SCSI.
Because this version doesn't read the SCSI emulated.
And be sure you have a 80GB Hard drive, dynamicly expanding.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 1:19 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
So, i need to install it in 80GB?

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 1:29 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
A few easy steps:

1. Open VMWare and make a new virtual machine based on a windows server 2003 small business.

2. When the hardware infoscreen apears click on: EDIT VIRTUAL MACHINE SETTINGS

3. Click by HARDWARE on the HARD DISK en then on REMOVE button.
4. Click on the bottom on ADD... button
5. Add a hard disk. (default option)
6. Create a new virtual harddisk.
7. Virtual disk type: IDE
8. Size is must be 80GB otherwise the installer says is to small.
9. Leave the name.
10. Finish and exit the hardware settings and startup the virtual machine with the DVD or ISO and then you can install it with no problem.

Edit:
Also make sure you have 512MB RAM for PE and the components when installed

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Last edited by Rob Jansen on Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 1:31 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Dr Eggman wrote:
So, i need to install it in 80GB?

You need an IDE disk of at least 32GB, yes. Stupid, but true.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 1:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
@empireum:

I have read it somewhere that is must be 80GB.
But i can be wrong.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 6:45 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:28 pm

Posts
28
hi! three weeks ago i tried to install Windows Home Server RC1 on my Virtual Machine but the installation failed! Tomorrow i'm going to try with 80GB Virtual HD! Thanks


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 6:57 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:28 pm

Posts
28
ok. i installed the RC1 on VPC2007! Thanks!

But i heard that Windows Home Server should have been released in these days... but nothing happened! Why??


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:25 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
luca1988 wrote:
ok. i installed the RC1 on VPC2007! Thanks!

But i heard that Windows Home Server should have been released in these days... but nothing happened! Why??


Depending on where you are, it's already available. I know at least that it's available in Australia for A$249. A bit expensive, but totally worth it I guess. :)

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:37 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:28 pm

Posts
28
I live in Italy... No WHS right now...

thanks!


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS