BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 54d, 3h, 19m | CPU: 16% | MEM: 5815MB of 10798MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE error in whistler 2202        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:52 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
Every time i try to install in vmware, it gives me this error. How can i fix it?

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:58 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Please search the forum before you post a question.
This has been posted. (posted on 8 july)

http://www.betaarchive.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2090&highlight=whistler+2202

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:03 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
And please post in the right section.

Moved.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:21 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
I tryed that, but i get this. Note: I first boot into dos 6.00 from a floppy, then i insert the install disk to the virtual drive
Image

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:24 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Looks like you haven't partitioned nor formatted the disk. Do that before starting Setup.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:29 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
Ok, i thought it would partition during the setup. Should i use NTFS or FAT/32

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:30 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Dr Eggman wrote:
Ok, i thought it would partition during the setup. Should i use NTFS or FAT/32

FAT16. DOS 6.00 can't deal with FAT32. And how should it partition during Setup when you're actually running it off of the drive?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:54 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
I partitioned it with fdisk, but i still get the screen. I made a primary dos partition, and with all available space (8.0GB). Is there something i still have to do?

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:55 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Dr Eggman wrote:
I partitioned it with fdisk, but i still get the screen. I made a primary dos partition, and with all available space (8.0GB). Is there something i still have to do?

Which fdisk did you use? Anyway, you still have to format afterwards (that is, now).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 5:01 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
I used the fdisk on the dos disk, and 'format now'? i dont get what you mean.

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 5:03 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
After using FDISK, you have to restart and use the format command to format the drive.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 5:07 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Dr Eggman wrote:
I used the fdisk on the dos disk, and 'format now'? i dont get what you mean.

Restart with the DOS disk again, and then type "format c:".


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 5:14 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
Ok, it is working now, thx alot.

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 9:37 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
The partition manager will only come up if initially booted from the CD. However not all Whistler builds will work when bootable (see here). If your lucky enough to have a build that is boot capable, you can use a tutorial I did in another post (see here)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS